LibGuides: Nursing: Further Health Resources

Librarian

Anna Liss Jacobsen

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

IUPUI University Library
UL 2140C
755 W. Michigan St.
Indianapolis, IN 46202

317.278.3525

Subjects: Medical Humanities, Music Therapy, Nursing, Physician Assistant Program

Clinical Practice

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Point of care tools allow clinicians to quickly access evidence-based information while with the patient. Provides information for diagnosis, treatment, etc. Includes drug calculators, images and more

Background resources

R2 Digital Library (Rittenhouse) This link opens in a new window
Health science ebooks featuring medical, nursing, and allied health sources.
Ovid Databases This link opens in a new window
Use to search MEDLINE, Embase, JBI EBP, and books using Ovid aggregator
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Experience the world's first Clinical Insight Engine. ClinicalKey is the next generation, online search tool that provides physicians with smarter, faster clinical answers
Elsevier requires that you have an account in order to export from this database. If you do not have an account, you can create a free Elsevier account by going to https://www.mendeley.com and clicking on “Create Account.” Once you have created this account, it will work for other Elsevier product as well.
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
Collection of over 60 medical and human biology texts, including Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Hurst's the Heart, the Current Diagnosis & Treatment in Series, and tools like Diagnosaurus, a differential diagnosis tool, and a case study for students.

Guidelines and Critically Appraised resources

USPSTF: US Preventive Services Task Force
High quality preventive services guidelines. Includes evidences grades
AHRQ EPC Evidence Based Reports
Evidence based research for clinical practice

Pediatric Care Online This link opens in a new window
From the American Academy of Pediatrics, combines clinical information with point-of-care resources. Features include Red Book Online..

American College of Physicians (ACP)
Clinical recommendations based on best evidence
World Health Organization (WHO) Guidelines
Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Guidelines

TRIP This link opens in a new window
Clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Also contains other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.

National Guideline Clearinghouse
The National Guideline Clearinghouse is a free, public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. Not updated after July 2018
ECRI Trust
Provides guidance for evidence-based decision making

ACP Journal Club This link opens in a new window
The American College of Physicians editorial staff’s review of articles from internal medicine journals. Starting May 2008, published as a monthly feature of Annals of Internal Medicine.

To access ACP Journal Club archive January 1991 – April 2008, Click here

Nursing Administration and Leadership

Health Business FullTEXT (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Explore the business of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management with Health Business FullTEXT.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier is a full text business database, covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business.
ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 700 trade publications covering every major industry, including finance, insurance, transportation, construction, and health.

Drug Guides and Pharmacology

Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Drug, disease and toxicology information for health care professionals. Databases included are DISEASEDEX, DRUGDEX, POISINDEX and REPRORISK. Also includes NeoFax and Pediatrics, evidence-based drug information for neonatal and pediatric health professionals.
Lexicomp Online This link opens in a new window
Point-of-care drug information, including dosing, administration, warnings and precautions, as well as clinical content, such as clinical practice guidelines, IV compatibility, and other tools.
Natural Medicines: The Authority on Integrative Medicine This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. Validated rating scales are used to evaluate the quality of available evidence. Monographs undergo blinded editorial and peer review prior to inclusion.

Drugs @ FDA (Open Web)
Includes info on FDA approved drugs, including HISTORY OF A DRUG. (Free resource from the U.S. Food and Drug Administration)
LactMed
Includes information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed as well as levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant

Mind and Behavior, Systems, Society

PsycINFO 1887-current (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Premier resource for psychology and related disciplines
DSM-V (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th Edition) This link opens in a new window
Diagnostic manual for psychiatric disorders
Social Work Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Social Work Abstracts Plus provides two unique databases in one subscription: Social Work Abstracts and The Register of Clinical Social Workers. Social Work Abstracts contains information on the fields of social work and human services from 1977 to present.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Family & Society Studies Worldwide database provides the most comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare.

Education

ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of education and related resources
Education Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Index of education journals, books, conference papers, book reviews, etc. from early childhood to higher education.
Education Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Educational publications covering primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education - 1988-present.

Anatomy and Physiology

Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination by Lippincott Williams and Wilkins Staff; Lynn S. Bickley
ISBN: 9781469855127
Publication Date: 2013-12-18
The site presents a step-by-step approach to patient, current examination techniques, and normal and abnormal findings. Video footage features standardized patients that represent various age groups, backgrounds, and conditions. Includes keyword search for quick access, ability to email a clip, and PDF transcripts.
Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking by Lynn S. Bickley
ISBN: 9781469893419
Publication Date: 2016-09-09
Includes fully illustrated, step-by-step techniques that outline the correct performance of the physical examination and an easy-to-follow two-column format featuring examination techniques and abnormalities.

Anatomy.TV This link opens in a new window
Multi-layer graphics of the human body. Includes animated graphical simulations of common muscle movements, information for patients with explanatory text. Movies/animations can be played using Windows Media player, QuickTime, or RealPlayer.
NetAnatomy This link opens in a new window
An interactive human anatomy resource using images, labels and descriptions, to teach human anatomy to students and as a place to review anatomy for students beginning clinical rotations, USMLE preparation, etc.
Thieme Teaching Assistant Anatomy This link opens in a new window
Thieme Teaching Assistant Anatomy is a collection of illustrations and clinical images from textbooks such as Gilroy’s Atlas of Anatomy and Thieme Atlas of Anatomy.