LibGuides: Nursing: Data and Assessments

Data: Health and Other

APA Datasets and Repositories
Links to datasets and repositories on psychology-related topics. Curated by American Psychological Association
CDC: National Center for Health Statistics
Includes vital records, population, provider, historical surveys and more
CDC Fast Stats
CDC data by state on births, deaths, and fertility
CDC Wonder
Public Health research data. Wide-ranging ONline Data for Epidemiologic Research
FAIRsharing Data
Both a registry and involved in a number of FAIR-enabling activities, delivering guidance, tools and services
Indiana Health Stats
Indiana's Public Health Data Utility
IPUMS International Census Data
Global census, population, health and other data. Provided in large quantities as microdata
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) data and tools
Primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations
Open Data Repositories
List of open data repositories by subject. Part of the Open Access Directory
The Prosecution Project
Data on over 3,500 criminal cases of political violence since 1990, including those from the Summer 2020 George Floyd Protests and the January 6th Capitol Siege. Includes variables like date, location, ideological affiliation, criminal method, sentencing details, gender, race, religion, veteran status, citizenship and more
re3data
Registry of Research Data Repositories
SAMHSA
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Adminstistration data
World Bank Open Data
Includes financial and related data
The YODA Project
Yale Open Data Access project
Zenodo
Open data and open science to to promote FAIR standards and peer-reviewed openly accessible research

ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window
Archive of social science, political and growing amounts of health data
Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides data on a variety of disciplines. Data points presented in multiple formats including reports, graphs, infographics, and PowerPoint slides.
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
PolicyMap is an online data and mapping tool that gives access to over 15,000 indicators related to housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs, demographics and education. Data are available at all common geographies (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, MSA) as well as unique geographies like school districts and political boundaries. You may also upload your own address level data and share your data and maps with others. Share your opinion! Short survey.

Assessments

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Information about behavioral measurement instruments (e.g., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, and organizational behavior.
PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
An international repository for psychological tests and measures, including test instruments and test items that are available for immediate download.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Information about mental health assessments validity, reliability, cost, etc.

Australian Center on Quality of Life Measures
List of quality of life (QoL) Measures for various populations and topics (older adults, psychiatry, etc.)
ETS Research Database
Over 25,000 assessments; many of which can be used for research
Questionnaire-Instrument Compendium (QIC)
List of links to social, personality, cognitive and other psychology assessments. Last updated 2018
Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences
Index of assessments in psychology, sociology, health, business, and more. Provided by Internet Archive

NIH Data Management and Sharing Policy

What? All new NIH grant applications that generate scientific data are required to submit a data management and sharing plan (DMSP) to prospectively plan for how data will be managed, preserved and shared

See the Final NIH Policy on Data Management and Sharing for details

Why? Support open science initiatives. For example, see Memorandum for Ensuring Free, Immediate, and Equitable Access to Federally Funded Research, including scientific data

Improve equity of access to research
Increase research integrity by enhancing validity, transparency and replicability

What must I do? Include a no more than 2 page DMSP for all grant proposals. The DMSP must address 6 elements

Data types
Related tools, software and/or code
Standards
Data preservation, access and timelines
Access, distribution or reuse of data
Oversight of data management and sharing

Guidance for applicants

Important guidance and resources for scientific data sharing from NIH
Brief video from NIH introducing the NIH scientific sharing data website
Research data sharing at IUPUI guidance
Checklist for researchers
NIH data sharing FAQs