LibGuides: Nursing: Grey Literature

Government and Organization Repositories

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
Lead federal agency charged with improving the safety and quality of healthcare. Develops knowledge, tools and data needed to help consumers, healthcare professionals and policymakers make informed health decisions
Grey Guide
Includes multiple repositories including OpenGrey, OpenAIRE, DANS Published Datasets and more
Grey Source: Resources in Grey literature (RGL)
Repositories of grey literature by category
Harvard Think Tank Search - Government Resources
Searches for public policy research, analysis, and activity in universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, and non-governmental organizations websites
Kaiser Family Foundation
Nonprofit. Includes national health issues, health policy analysis including U.S. role in global health policy and more
The King's Fund
Independent organization providing research on health and social care
Mednar
Deep web engine search focused on medicine and health websites
OECD iLibrary
Policies on social and economic well-being
OpenDOAR
Directory of Open Access Repositories - curated collection of open repositories
Policy Archive
PolicyArchive is a comprehensive digital library of public policy research containing more than 30,000 documents
Science.gov
Searches over 60 databases, 2,200 scientific websites to provide more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results
World Health Organization (WHO)
WHO plays an essential role improving country's health systems, coordinating the global response to health threat and more

Google Search for Grey Literature

Google search strategies to find grey literature

Search by Domain

site:gov
site:org
site:iu.edu

Database Search for Grey Literature

Limit databases by Study Type or Publication Type to find grey literature

CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Limit Publication type to proceedings, doctoral dissertation and more
EMBASE (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Find biomedical and health conference proceedings, theses, preprints and more
Elsevier requires that you have an account in order to export from this database. If you do not have an account, you can create a free Elsevier account by going to https://www.mendeley.com and clicking on “Create Account.” Once you have created this account, it will work for other Elsevier products as well.
PAIS Index (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Articles, grey literature, and government reports in public affairs, public and social policy, international relations, and world politics; 1972-present.
PsycINFO 1887-current (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Find psychology dissertations or conference proceedings
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Limit by document type: Meetings

Clinical Trials Registries

Center Watch
Clinical trials information for researchers and patients
ClinicalTrials.gov
Large collection of clinical studies from around the world. Search for clinical studies by condition, disease name, drug name, etc. Narrow search using fields like participation criteria or study results
European Union Clinical Trials Register
Search for protocols and results on intervention trials in EU and EEA; search for clinical trials conducted outside the EU / EEA linked to European pediatric-medicine development
ISRCTN Registry
Primary clinical trial registry recognized by WHO and ICMJE that accepts all clinical research studies (proposed, ongoing or completed)
WHO ICTRP Search Portal
International clinical trials searchable registry

Preprints

Preprints are reports that have not been certified by peer review. They should not be relied on to guide clinical practice or health-related behavior and should not be reported in news media as established information. (medRxiv)

Medical / Allied Health Sciences

medRxiv
Medical, clinical and related health sciences preprints
Authorea
Preprints in STEM, medicine, health and more
Research Square
Author services for preprints in medical and allied health sciences
PsyArXiv
Preprints in psychology and related disciplines

Multidisciplinary

OSF Repository
Large transdisciplinary preprint repository and more
F1000Research
Includes all forms of research in the medicine and health, sciences and social sciences, humanities, etc. Includes articles, software tool articles, posters and lecture slides
Figshare
Preprints in multiple disciplines
Semantic Scholar
Over 206 million papers from all fields of science, includes data
SocArXiv
Preprints in social sciences and law

Awarded Grants

NIH RePORTER
Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tools (RePORT) website provides access to reports, data, and analyses of NIH research activities
NSF Award Search
Search National Science Foundation awarded grants

Nursing

About Grey Literature

What?

How?

Your Librarian