LibGuides: Nursing: Clinical Practice

Clinical Practice

Point-of-Care tool

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Point of care tools allow clinicians to quickly access evidence-based information while with the patient. Provides information for diagnosis, treatment, etc. Includes drug calculators, images and more

PubMed PICO tool

Clinical databases and background resources

R2 Digital Library (Rittenhouse) This link opens in a new window
Health science ebooks featuring medical, nursing, and allied health sources.
Ovid Databases This link opens in a new window
Use to search MEDLINE, Embase, JBI EBP, and books using Ovid aggregator
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Experience the world's first Clinical Insight Engine. ClinicalKey is the next generation, online search tool that provides physicians with smarter, faster clinical answers
Elsevier requires that you have an account in order to export from this database. If you do not have an account, you can create a free Elsevier account by going to https://www.mendeley.com and clicking on “Create Account.” Once you have created this account, it will work for other Elsevier product as well.
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
Collection of over 60 medical and human biology texts, including Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Hurst's the Heart, the Current Diagnosis & Treatment in Series, and tools like Diagnosaurus, a differential diagnosis tool, and a case study for students.
ACP Journal Club This link opens in a new window
The American College of Physicians editorial staff’s review of articles from internal medicine journals. Starting May 2008, published as a monthly feature of Annals of Internal Medicine.

To access ACP Journal Club archive January 1991 – April 2008, Click here
JAMAevidence This link opens in a new window
Integrates available evidence with clinical experience.

Guidelines and critically appraised resources

USPSTF: US Preventive Services Task Force
High quality preventive services guidelines. Includes evidences grades
AHRQ EPC Evidence Based Reports
Evidence based research for clinical practice

Pediatric Care Online This link opens in a new window
From the American Academy of Pediatrics, combines clinical information with point-of-care resources. Features include Red Book Online..

American College of Physicians (ACP)
Clinical recommendations based on best evidence
World Health Organization (WHO) Guidelines
Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Guidelines

TRIP This link opens in a new window
Clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Also contains other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.

National Guideline Clearinghouse
The National Guideline Clearinghouse is a free, public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. Not updated after July 2018
ECRI Trust
Provides guidance for evidence-based decision making

Diagnostic manuals and tools

Visual DX This link opens in a new window
VisualDx is a clinical decision support system that helps clinicians recognize and diagnose visually presenting conditions.
DSM-V (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th Edition) This link opens in a new window
Used by health professionals, social workers, and forensic and legal specialists to diagnose and classify mental disorders.

ICD-11
International Classification of Diseases, 11th revision. In effect by World Health Organization January 1, 2022

Clinical skills videos

Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) This link opens in a new window
Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a peer-reviewed journal of STEM protocols in video format.

Clinical Skills from JoVE
Includes physical examination technique videos, and a collection of emergency medicine and clinical care procedures.

Counseling and Therapy in Video: Volume I-V This link opens in a new window
Counseling and Therapy in Video provides faculty and students with a first-hand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice. These collections provide a thorough grounding in dozens of therapeutic methods and diagnoses, insight into the human condition, and training in skills such as reflection and empathy while working with specific populations such as veterans and teens.