Note: IUPUI does NOT collect any patents. However, the Indianapolis-Marion County Public Library has a collection of U.S. Patents from the early 1970's to the present. For more information, call 317-275-4100.
Search hint: When available, using classification category browsing* may provide more comprehensive results than keyword searching.
Global Patent Index (GPI) - European Patent Office (EPO) "... More than 500 000 patent documents are added every month." Site claims "We provide access to the largest single source of technical information in the world: our databases containing millions of patent documents."
Google Patents - "Search and read the full text of patents from around the world. "
The Lens "... over 268+ million scholarly works, 153+ million global patent records... drawn from diverse data sources." Started in 1998 to "render the global patent system more transparent", it is increasingly recommended by users of patent resources. Provides discovery and analytics tools and "cited by" information, and promises privacy. Short videos demonstrateToolset features such as "Explore which articles influence what patents and who is building products".
PATENTSCOPE, from World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO). Scroll down to the FAQs, including "Where can I find the drawings accompanying a patent application?"
United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) - The government's free, searchable database of United States patents, patent applications, and trademarks. It provides coverage of patent materials from 1790 to the present.
The search interface is available in 10 languages (Arabic, Chinese, English, French, German, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish).Where can I find the drawings accompanying a patent applicati
"HOW TO" resources:
Please complete the library session evaluation linked below (requires IUPUI login).
Your participation is greatly appreciated and will help us improve our instruction!
End-of-Class Evaluation QR Code
