LibGuides: Computer Science: ebooks for topic insights, e-handbooks, Standards

Subject Librarian

Contact:

I am happy to reply by email or Canvas messages to support your classwork or research.

Or, please use the "Make an Appointment" link toward the bottom of this guide's Welcome page "Help Options". Select my name from the list of subject librarians to see available times and request a Zoom or MS Teams appointment. Sending details about your topic is very helpful.

If my listed times don't work for you, you are welcome to send 2 or 3 days/times you could meet by email. I'll respond. :~)

Subjects: Computer Science, Engineering & Technology

Standards/Codes

Browse options for FREE ACCESS to STANDARDS

Browse and view Standards Incoporated by Reference (IBR) from ANSI and More
Browse read-only resources for a wide-ranging group of "IBR Standards hosted by ANSI". IBR Standards, incorporated by reference in the U.S Code of Federal Regulations. Scroll down further to "Standards hosted by SDOS".
Standards.gov: Standards Organizations that Offer Free Access to Their Standards
Browse a wide variety of standards developing organizations such as Broadband Forum (including cloud computing); ECMA (including hardware, software, communications, consumer electronics, IoT, programming languages, media, storage..." ); IMS Global Learning Consortium, addressing digital credentials, virtual platforms, learning and data analytics, integrated assessment, etc.; ISO/IEC Joint Technical Committee 1 (JTC1) for wide-ranging standards for topics such as security, computer graphics, data exchange and analysis; The Internet Society.

SEARCH and BROWSE for STANDARDS via University Library SUBSCRIPTION ACCESS

IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Use the Browse pull-down selection Standards to search or browse. We have full-text digital library of standards and publications for engineering, computer science, and diverse applications of software and data analysis for IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) .
SAE MOBILUS This link opens in a new window
Technical papers, standards, books, periodicals, etc. in the automotive, aerospace, and commercial vehicle industries.

Request a STANDARD via the library

Request an item such as a STANDARD via interlibrary loan or as a library purchase

Find books, ebooks; cs examples

See IUCAT to search all IU campuses and all IUPUI campus ebooks

Start with simple "title keyword" or "keyword anywhere" searches; e.g.: programming AND java

For more hardcopy book choices: Log in to IUCAT to request an available book from another library or campus via "Request This".

To search for ebooks only, across our various platforms*: Under the IUCAT search box, select "Online Only" and limit results to Campus = Indianapolis.

See: E-Books: Finding and Using Electronic Books for details such as downloading to a mobile device.

See resource details via mouse-over note:

SYSTEMS TO FIND & ACCESS EBOOKS
Simple ebook search
Convenient search option, but limited to title keyword search. For BETTER browsing results, switch the pull-down menu option to "Title contains all words". For BEST search results, try IUCAT.IU.EDU.

AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
*Updated description*: Enter search keywords such as software to see subject groups such as software engineering, software architecture, software processes... The Subject Computer Science provides over 7000 ebooks and e-Handbooks. Includes instructional, faculty made videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts.
Skillport 8i This link opens in a new window
Information Technology and Business, including manuals for software such as Microsoft Office. We have access to: BusinessPro, ITPro, IT and Desktop Videos, and Leadership Channel. Note: Students must be currently enrolled in order to access
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window

EBOOK EXAMPLES: PROGRAMMING and related
O'Reilly ebooks at IUPUI
Ideas that created the future: Classic papers of computer science
Princeton companion to applied mathematics
Mathematica for bioinformatics: A Wolfram Language approach to omics
Software rights: How patent law transformed software development in America
Online resources on computer networks & security
EBOOK EXAMPLES: MACHINE LEARNING and related
Machine learning: Hands-on for developers and technical professionals
Handbook of research on emerging trends and applications of machine learning

Scientific programming, modeling

See resource details via mouse-over note. Asterisks indicate we have 2 or more ebook copies.

MATLAB Applications in Engineering
Directory of Open Access Books; 2022.
*MATLAB: A practical introduction to programming and problem solving*
Attaway; 5nd ed. 2019. You can also request that the library purchase the 2023 6th ed. in hardcopy.
*MATLAB for dummies*
2014. You can also request that the library purchase the 2021 2nd edition as ebook or hardcopy.
Graphical Programming Using LabVIEW(tm) : Fundamentals and Advanced Techniques
2022
LabVIEW : A Flexible Environment for Modeling and Daily Laboratory Use
Directory of Open Access Books; 2021.
LabVIEW graphical programming
5th ed. 2020. Unlimited ebook access to download or use online.
Beginning Mathematica and Wolfram for Data Science : Applications in Data Analysis, Machine Learning, and Neural Networks
Apress, 2021. If the link doesn't work, go to the library's Skillport interface and search for the ebook.
*R for data science: Import, tidy, transform, visualize, and model data*
Wickham; 2017. You can also request that the library purchase the 2023 2nd ed. when published. Use IUCAT or OneSearch to find other books by the author, including Advanced R, 2nd ed. 2019.
R cookbook Proven recipes for data analysis, statistics, and graphics
O'Reilly Media, 2nd ed. 2019.
*Simulation*
Ross; 5th ed. 2012. Unlimited ebook access to download or use online.
IT-related short-term checkout Hardcopy "STEM Reserves" books

More resources for e-Handbooks, books

Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
FirstSearch (OCLC) This link opens in a new window
ACM Computing Reviews This link opens in a new window
Browse book reviews by date and topic.

Open Access Texts (OER)

Sample open access resources (OER) are linked at the Open Textbook Library or at the OER Commons. Resources are textbooks unless otherwise noted.

Also see:

https://open.umn.edu/opentextbooks/subjects
https://www.oercommons.org/ The OER Commons Advanced Search provides License Types options at lower right; limit by Unrestricted Use, Conditional Remix and Share... etc.
More options: OER Repositories list at UL's Open Educational Resources for Online Learning
Open Educational Resources IUB guide pages: Finding, Evaluating, Creating

Applied Bioinformatics
Provider: Oregon State University
Added to OER Commons: 2021
Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning
Material Type: Lesson
Provider: CUNY Academic Works
Added to OER commons: 2020
Bio-Inspired Sensory Systems
Publisher: Florida State University
Copyright Year: 2021
Blueprints: Creating, Describing, and Implementing Designs for Larger-Scale Software Projects - version 2.3
Publisher: University of Mary Washington
Copyright Year: 2019
Last Update: 2021
A Cool Brisk Walk Through Discrete Mathematics
Publisher: University of Mary Washington
Last Update: 2020
Review(s) provided.
The Crystal Ball Instruction Manual - version 1.1 Volume One: Introduction to Data Science
Publisher: University of Mary Washington
Copyright Year: 2020
Review(s) provided.
High Performance Computing
Provider: Rice University
Added to OER Commons: 2019
Joy of cryptography
Publisher: Oregon State University
Last Update: 2020
Multiresolution Signal and Geometry Processing: Filter Banks, Wavelets, and Subdivision
Material Type: Lecture Notes, Textbook
Provider: University of Victoria
Added to OER Commons: 2020
Relational Databases and Microsoft Access
Added to OER Commons: 2019
Research Data MANTRA
Material Type: Full Course
Author: Research Data Service of the University of Edinburgh
Added to OER Commons: 2020
Signal Computing: Digital Signals in the Software Domain
Last Update: 2020
Review(s) provided.
Simulation Modeling and Arena
Provider: University of Arkansas Fayetteville
Added to OER Commons: 2021
Think Data Structures: Algorithms and Information Retrieval in Java
Copyright Year: 2016
Think Python 2nd ed.
Added to OER Commons: 2017
Think Raku: How to Think Like a Computer Scientist - 2nd edition
Copyright Year: 2017