Dental Ethics at Chairside by 
Teeth: the story of beauty, inequality, and the struggle for oral health in America by
'Show me your teeth', the great naturalist George Cuvier is credited with saying, 'and I will tell you who you are'. In this shattering new work, veteran health journalist Mary Otto looks inside America's mouth, revealing unsettling truths about our unequal society. Teeth takes readers on a disturbing journey into the role teeth play in our health and our social mobility. Muckraking and paradigm-shifting, Teeth exposes for the first time the extent and meaning of our oral health crisis.
Anatomy for Dental Medicine by
A full color, text-atlas, providing all the anatomy a dental student must learn! Anatomy for Dental Medicine, Second Edition combines award-winning, full-color illustrations, explanatory text, and summary tables to guide the reader through the complex anatomy of the head and neck. Each region is arranged in a user-friendly format beginning with the skeletal framework. The musculature is then added, followed by the neurovasculature, and finally, topographic anatomy shows all structures in situ. Key features of the second edition: More than 1200 clear, detailed, full-color illustrations (over 400 new to this edition) Expanded captions elucidate key concepts and contain relevant clinical correlations Over 150 tables for quick access to key information New in the second edition: Chapters on embryology and rest of body anatomy that dental students must know Expanded neuroanatomy chapter Sectional anatomy chapter that includes radiographic images to facilitate clinical understanding Appendix covering the anatomy for local anesthesia Appendices with review questions and answers, both factual and clinical-vignette style Anatomy for Dental Medicine, Second Edition includes access to WinkingSkull.com PLUS, the interactive online study aid, with all full-color illustrations and radiographs from this volume and the review questions and answers in an interactive format. Review or test your anatomy knowledge with timed self-tests using the labels on-and-off function on the illustrations, with access to instant results.
Atlas of Anatomy by
For the student just starting on their medical journey or for a neurosurgeon looking to replace an outdated atlas in his or her library, this is a wonderful option. -- YNC Newsletter (Young Neurosurgeons News) Highly recommended to students and surgeons....Of very high technical quality -- Pediatric Endocrinology Reviews With unmatched accuracy, quality, and clarity, the Atlas of Anatomy is now fully revised and updated. Atlas of Anatomy, Third Edition, is the highest quality anatomy atlas available today. With over 1,900 exquisitely detailed and accurate illustrations, the Atlas helps you master the details of human anatomy. Key Features: NEW! Sectional and Radiographic Anatomy chapter for each body region NEW! Radiologic images help you connect the anatomy lab to clinical knowledge and practice NEW! Pelvis and Perineum section enhanced and improved making it easier to comprehend one of the most complex anatomic regions NEW! Section on Brain and Nervous System focuses on gross anatomy of the peripheral and autonomic nervous systems as well as the brain and central nervous system Also included in this new edition: More than 170 tables summarize key details making them easier to reference and retain Muscle Fact spreads provide essential information, including origin, insertion, innervation, and action An innovative, user-friendly format: every topic covered in two side by side pages Access to WinkingSkull.com PLUS, with all images from the book for labels-on and labels-off review and timed self-tests for exam preparation What students say about the Atlas of Anatomy: "Thieme is the best anatomy atlas by far, hands down. Clearer pictures, more pictures, more realistic pictures, structures broken up in ways that make sense and shown from every angle...includes clinical correlations...That's about all there is to it. Just buy it. Thank you Thieme!" "...this book surpasses them all. It's the artwork. The artist has found the perfect balance of detail and clarity. Some of these illustrations have to be seen to be believed.... The pearls of clinical information are very good and these add significance to the information and make it easier to remember."
Netter Atlas of Human Anatomy: Classic Regional Approach by
For students and clinical professionals who are learning anatomy, participating in a dissection lab, sharing anatomy knowledge with patients, or refreshing their anatomy knowledge, the Netter Atlas of Human Anatomy illustrates the body, region by region, in clear, brilliant detail from a clinician's perspective. Unique among anatomy atlases, it contains illustrations that emphasize anatomic relationships that are most important to the clinician in training and practice. Illustrated by clinicians, for clinicians, it contains more than 550 exquisite plates plus dozens of carefully selected radiologic images for common views. Presents world-renowned, superbly clear views of the human body from a clinical perspective, with paintings by Dr. Frank Netter as well as Dr. Carlos A. G. Machado, one of today's foremost medical illustrators. Content guided by expert anatomists and educators: R. Shane Tubbs, Paul E. Neumann, Jennifer K. Brueckner-Collins, Martha Johnson Gdowski, Virginia T. Lyons, Peter J. Ward, Todd M. Hoagland, Brion Benninger, and an international Advisory Board. Offers region-by-region coverage, including muscle table appendices at the end of each section and quick reference notes on structures with high clinical significance in common clinical scenarios. Contains new illustrations by Dr. Machado including clinically important areas such as the pelvic cavity, temporal and infratemporal fossae, nasal turbinates, and more. Features new nerve tables devoted to the cranial nerves and the nerves of the cervical, brachial, and lumbosacral plexuses. Uses updated terminology based on the second edition of the international anatomic standard, Terminologia Anatomica, and includes common clinically used eponyms. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Provides access to extensive digital content: every plate in the Atlas?and over 100 bonus plates including illustrations from previous editions?is enhanced with an interactive label quiz option and supplemented with "Plate Pearls" that provide quick key points of the major themes of each plate. Digital content also includes over 300 multiple choice questions and other learning tools. Also available, alternative versions of the 8th Edition: . Netter Atlas of Human Anatomy: A Systems Approach-Same content as the classic regional approach, but organized by organ systems. . Netter Atlas of Human Anatomy: Classic Regional Approach-hardback Professional Edition with downloadable image bank for personal use. . Netter Atlas of Human Anatomy: Classic Regional Approach with Latin terminology
Basic Concepts in Embryology by
This Basic Concepts title sheds light on the most elusive concepts in embryology and does so in a concise, lively manner. The level of detail is geared directly to that which is required by students in a way which esily accesses the most relevant information. The book utilizes jargon-free language and innovative teaching techniques to promote an understanding of concepts--not just the rote memorization of facts. To further enhance comprehension, text and illustrations accompany each other on the same or facing pages.
Dental Anatomy Coloring Book by
Bring the complex structures of the head and neck to life! Dental Anatomy Coloring Book, 3rd Edition is an easy-to-use introduction to foundational embryology and anatomy along with the basic body systems affecting dentistry. Chapters include images that you will color and connect with corresponding labels, and each image includes questions for self-testing and comprehension. Coverage includesthe body systems, orofacial anatomy, dentition, skeletal system, muscles, veins, glands, nerves, lymph nodes, and fasciae and spaces. Plus, for study on-the-go, you can access textbook study materials. Developed by a nationally renowned authority in dental education, this coloring book is the perfect way to help you identify anatomical landmarks and understand the complex interrelationships involved in dental anatomy and physiology. Robust art program features detailed anatomic illustrations with corresponding labels for easy identification. Easy-to-follow organization maps to core text beginning with an overview of body systems and then breaks down dental anatomy in the following chapters. Review questions included with each illustration feature 5-10 fill-in-the-blank questions based on the content in two related titles: Illustrated Dental Embryology, Histology, and Anatomy and Illustrated Anatomy of the Head and Neck. Answers are provided upside-down at the bottom of each page for self-testing. Perforated pages allow for easy removal so that students can study pages while on the go or submit them to instructors. Access to online student resources for the two companion textbooks referenced. NEW! Additional and revised images include more cross-sectional views. REVISED! Questions with each image provide additional. NEW! Back-of-book multiple-choice test includes answers and rationales to help students prepare for classroom and board exams.
Essential Clinical Anatomy by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from 3rd Party sellers are not guaranteed by the Publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Essential Clinical Anatomy, Fifth Edition presents core anatomical concepts in a concise, student-friendly format. The text includes the hallmark blue Clinical Boxes, as well as surface anatomy and medical imaging features. It is an ideal text for shorter medical courses and health professions courses with a condensed coverage of anatomy. Essential Clinical Anatomy, like the authors' more comprehensive text, Clinically Oriented Anatomy, receives global acclaim for the relevance of its clinical correlations. The book emphasizes anatomy that is important in physical diagnosis for primary care, interpretation of diagnostic imaging, and understanding the anatomical basis of emergency medicine and general surgery. The 5th Edition features: A NEW AND IMPROVED ART PROGRAM: Illustrations have been redrawn in a modern, updated style that enhances student understanding of key concepts CLINICAL BOXES: Renowned "blue boxes" highlight information on pathology, anatomical variation, trauma, the life cycle, surgical procedures, and diagnostic procedures SURFACE ANATOMY AND MEDICAL IMAGING: Chapters include surface anatomy and imaging sections to enhance clinical and diagnostic knowledge INTERACTIVE REVIEW QUESTIONS: Prepare for board and class exams with online review questions at thePoint.lww.com
Grant's Atlas of Anatomy by
Real-world guidance for today,,s anatomy lab. Illustrations drawn from real specimens, presented in surface-to-deep dissection sequence, set Grant,,s Atlas of Anatomy apart as the most accurate reference available for learning human anatomy. These realistic representations provide students with the ultimate lab resource. For more than seventy years, Grant,,s Atlas of Anatomy has continually adapted to meet the needs of each generation of students, while maintaining the Grant,,s tradition of excellence. The meticulously updated fourteenth edition is a visually stunning reference that delivers the accuracy, pedagogy, and clinical relevance expected of this classic atlas, with new features that make it even more practical and user-friendly: - Recolorization of the original Grant,,s Atlas images from high-resolution scans add a new level of organ luminosity and tissue transparency, and enable the formation of 3D constructs for each body region. This lavish visual enhancement ensures a vastly improved experience in learning the structure and function of the human body. - Schematic illustrations now feature a uniform style and consistent coloring, clearly showing the relationships of structures and clarifying anatomical concepts. - Newly revised legends with highlighted clinical applications describe the anatomic features and provide context for health care practice. - Enhanced medical imaging includes more than 100 clinically significant MRIs, CT images, ultrasound scans, and corresponding orientation drawings. - Updated and improved tables help organize muscles, vessels, and other anatomic information in an easy-to-use format ideal for review and study. Features: - NEW Additional clinical images (CTs, MRIs) help students apply the laboratory experience to clinical rotations - NEW Updated/additional clinical comments now appear in blue text for quick identification - NEW Grant's classic illustrations have been updated/replaced or feature enhanced colorization - NEW Schematic and orientation drawings have been updated or replaced to better facilitate understanding of structures and relationships - NEW Streamlined interior design and layout facilitate comprehension of complex, detailed information - Color surface anatomy photographs combine with hallmark anatomical illustrations for the most complete atlas available - Concise, interpretive legends present important observations and comments - Diagnostic images, with sections at the end of each chapter, feature clinically relevant MRIs, CT scans, and ultrasounds - Tables provide an overview of muscles, nerves, and arteries - Terminology conforms with Terminologica Anatomica, the standard for anatomical nomenclature
McMinn's Colour Atlas of Head and Neck Anatomy by
Originally published as part of the McMinn anatomy atlas family, McMinn's Color Atlas of Head and Neck Anatomy remains the only large format photographic atlas of the human head and neck, incorporating outstanding dissections, osteology, radiographic and surface anatomy images. It is the ideal study aid or trusted reference for the range of students and practitioners who require a detailed understanding of the head and neck, including those in dentistry, radiology and surgery. Dissections are accompanied by concise notes and commentaries, as well as orientational artworks to help readers locate the structure on the body. Dental anaesthesia information and important quick reference lists are also incorporated in appendices at the back of the book. This updated fifth edition offers increased clinical relevance and features an entirely new chapter on Imaging of the Head and Neck, reflecting the very latest modalities and techniques. It also comes with the complete, enhanced eBook for the first time. Increased clinical relevance - helps translate traditional anatomy into current clinical practice All new state-of-the-art clinical imaging - including: 3T MRI of the brain with tractography Cone-beam CT assessment of the jaws and middle ear Concise notes and commentaries for every dissection Dedicated dental section
Netter's Head and Neck Anatomy for Dentistry by
A concise and visual guide to clinically relevant anatomy for dentistry, Netter's Head and Neck Anatomy for Dentistry is an effective text for class and exam preparation, as well as a quick review in professional practice. Concise text, high-yield tables, clinical correlations, and review questions combine to make this new edition a perfect choice for learning and remembering the need-to-know structures, relationships, and concepts, while beautiful illustrations created in the Netter tradition enhance your visual mastery of the material. You may also be interested in: A companion set of flash cards, Netter's Advanced Head & Neck Anatomy Flash Cards, 3rd Edition. Over 100 multiple-choice questions complete with explanations help you assess your knowledge of the material and prepare for exams. Identify clinically relevant anatomy with Netter illustrations and new art created in the Netter tradition. Concise text and high-yield tables offer fast access to important facts. Procedures coverage gives context and clinical meaning to the anatomy. Expanded, up-to-date coverage on dental implants, cone beam imaging, and mandible osteology. Beautiful new illustrations by Carlos Machado, MD, of the TMJ, articular disc pathology, infratemporal fossa, pterygopalatine fossa, and maxillary artery. Interactive eBook included with print purchase, which includes access to the full text, interactive images, case studies, additional assessment questions, video clips from cone beam CTs, and a rotatable 3D skull.
Business Basics for Dentists by
Dr. David Willis combines his experience as a practicing dentist, educator, MBA, and certified financial planner in this breakthrough text about managing a dental business. Rather than a checklist of steps for success, Business Basics for Dentists describes business, economic, marketing, and management principles and explains how to apply them to the dental practice. Dental students and new practitioners will learn how to use the core strategic and operational business philosophies to develop an effective dental practice. He provides the essential elements of a business course--management principles, economics, business finance, and financial analysis--without bogged down in too much detail. These are then related specifically to various aspects of running and managing a dental practice, including office communications, billing, inventory, and marketing the practice. All aspects of practice transition are approached: career opportunities, buying a practice, starting a new practice, multi-practitioner arrangements, practice valuation, and planning and developing a practice. Last, Willis included personal financial planning to ensure that the dentist is also planning for his own finances and retirement beyond the bounds of the practice.
IUPUI