Foundations of Periodontics for the Dental Hygienist by 
Applied Pharmacology for the Dental Hygienist by
With a focus on the most commonly used drugs in dentistry, Applied Pharmacology for the Dental Hygienist, 8th Editionprovides you with an in-depth understanding of the pharmacologic principles needed for safe and effective dental treatment and oral health care. It discusses drug properties and mechanisms of action, dosages, intended effects, interactions, and adverse reactions - both for the medications a patient may already be taking and for the drugs prescribed by the dentist. This new edition has been updated throughout to give you a firm foundation in pharmacology in order to assess and educate patients so they can maintain optimal oral health! IMPROVED! Test Bank with cognitive leveling based on Bloom's Taxonomy mapped to the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination (NBDHE) blueprint. Comprehensive coverage with a dental focus provides you with an in-depth understanding of the most commonly used drugs, how they work, and how they affect patients' oral health and dental treatment options. Multiple opportunities for classroom and board exam prep offers summaries and review questions at the end of each chapter, helping you to assess your knowledge of the material. Key terms are bolded and in color within each chapter and defined in a handy glossary. Full-color design engages the reader and includes additional illustrations showing basic principles and internal processes, along with photographs of oral conditions and side effects. Separate drug index provides easy look-up of specific drugs and types of drugs. Quick-reference appendixes include resources such as the top 200 drugs, medical acronyms, and information on herbal and dietary supplements. NEW! Updated drug content throughout, including new side effects and warnings for many commonly seen drugs. NEW! Elsevier Animation Collection clips on Evolve includes systemic anatomy and physiology.
Handbook of Local Anesthesia by
Learn to prevent, recognize, and manage complications of local anesthesia administration. Written by Dr. Stanley Malamed, the leading expert on anesthesia in dentistry, the Handbook of Local Anesthesia, 7th Edition covers all the latest advances in science, instrumentation, and pain control techniques. From basic concepts to specific injection techniques, from dosage charts to the proper care and handling of equipment, this how-to guide provides in-depth, full-color coverage of key anesthesia topics, including specific hazards and errors in technique that may result in complications. Recognized as THE local anesthesia textbook in dentistry for over 30 years, the seventh edition has been thoroughly updated with the latest in safe anesthesia practices in dentistry. Written by Dr. Stanley Malamed, one of the most in-demand and globally recognized experts on dental anesthesia and sedation. Full-color photographs and line drawings enhance important points throughout book. Step-by-step procedures cover the techniques for administering intraoral anesthesia. Detailed descriptions of routes of anesthesia administration included throughout text. Logical Organization of content divides book into four parts including -Drugs, The Armamentarium, Techniques of Regional Anesthesia in Dentistry, and Complications, Legal Considerations, Questions, and the Future NEW! Updated and enhanced content throughout reflects latest research evidence. NEW! Two added chapters cover problems in achieving pain control and their solutions; and recent advances in local anesthesia. NEW! Addition of an Expert Consult Site allows you to search the entire book electronically.
Fundamentals of Periodontal Instrumentation and Advanced Root Instrumentation by
Walking dental hygiene students step-by-step through the "how to"--not just the "what" and "why"--of using periodontal and root instruments, this 8th Edition of Jill Gehrig's definitive resource features new chapters, new online technique videos, updated coverage of the latest evidence-based techniques and equipment, and an expanded array of online teaching and learning resources.
Dental Radiography: Principles and Techniques by
Master the skills required for safe, effective dental imaging! Dental Radiography: Principles and Techniques, 6th Edition provides a solid foundation in the radiation and technique basics that dental assistants and dental hygienists need to know. Clear, comprehensive coverage includes detailed, step-by-step procedures, illustrations of oral anatomy and photos of new equipment, digital and three-dimensional imaging, a guide to image interpretation, and National Board Dental Hygiene Examination-style case scenarios. Written by noted educators Joen M. Iannucci and Laura Jansen Howerton, Elsevier's bestselling text on dental radiography prepares you for success in the classroom, on your CDA or NBDHE exam, and in clinical practice. Comprehensive coverage provides a solid foundation for the safe, effective use of radiation in the dental office. Step-by-step procedures support clear instructions with anatomical drawings, positioning photos, and radiographs, helping you confidently and accurately perform specific techniques and minimize radiation exposure to the patient. Application to Practice and Helpful Hint features highlight common clinical encounters and provide a checklist with the dos and don'ts of imaging procedures. Summary tables and boxes recap the key points of text discussions and serve as useful review and study tools. End-of-chapter quiz questions assess your understanding of important content. Evolve companion website supplements the print book with case studies, interactive exercises, review questions, and more. NEW! Expanded content addresses the areas of digital imaging, radiographic interpretation, dental materials, and dental X-ray equipment. NEW! Updated illustrations include detailed equipment photos and new photos of techniques. NEW! Procedure videos on the Evolve website demonstrate techniques used for intraoral exposures, and include an interactive Q&A on the video material. NEW! Canadian Content Corner on Evolve provides information specific to dental radiography in Canada.
Dental Public Health and Research by
Designed for community dental/public health courses, Dental Public Health and Research also serves as an ideal resource for board exam preparation or for dental hygiene practitioners. Dental Public Health and Research explores the ever-changing world of dental public health-a dynamic career pathway for dental hygienists-and provides readers with the key tools needed to effectively practice and conduct dental hygiene in the public health setting. The Fourth Edition features an increased emphasis on the dental hygienist's understanding of research principles, and an expanded discussion of public health science. Readers are guided through dental hygiene fundamentals, programs, research, and practical strategies to give them a true understanding of what it takes to be a successful, contemporary dental hygiene practitioner.
IUPUI