The Human Body in Health and Disease by Kevin T. Patton; Gary A. ThibodeauGet a complete introduction to A&P with the resources that makes challenging concepts easier to understand! The Human Body in Health & Disease, 6th Edition includes 25 highly visual, student-friendly chapters that cover the most important structures and functions of the human body. With detailed illustrations and the unique Clear View of the Human Body transparencies, A&P doesn't get any clearer! UNIQUE! Creative design includes more than 475 full-color photos and illustrations to simplify explanations of difficult material. UNIQUE! Clear View of the Human Body transparencies embedded within the textbook provide a graphically stunning atlas of the male and female body that can be peeled back layer by layer. Quick Check questions, active learning activities including case studies, study tips, outline summaries, and more provide helpful reviews and self-assessment opportunities. A straightforward, conversational writing style explains difficult anatomy and physiology principles. UNIQUE! Special boxes throughout each chapter help reinforce and apply what you've learned with specific guidance in: Health and Well-being Clinical Applications Research, Issues, and Trends Science Applications NEW! Art, layout, and content updates in each chapter give you the most current visual and textual information possible. NEW! Terms and pronunciations lists at the beginning of each chapter familiarize you with new terms and the meanings of individual word parts. NEW! Division of previous Cells and Tissues chapter breaks the material into two chapters (Chapter 3 Cells and Chapter 4 Tissues) to provide a much more digestible serving of the information.
Medical Emergencies in the Dental Office by Stanley F. Malamed"..very easy to read and provides a very comprehensive reference for a variety of medical emergencies." Reviewed by S.McKernon on behalf of British Dental Journal, July 2015 "It successfully fulfils its aim of stimulating all members of the dental team to improve and maintain their skills in the effective prevention, recognition and management of medical emergencies." Reviewed by L. Khamashta Ledezma on behalf of European Journal of Orthodontics, February 2015 A logical format reflects the way emergencies are encountered in a dental practice, with chapters organized by commonly seen clinical signs and symptoms, such as unconsciousness or altered consciousness, respiratory distress, seizures, drug-related emergencies, chest pain, and cardiac arrest. Step-by-step procedures include detailed, numbered instructions for stabilizing and treating victims (PCABD) in common medical emergencies. Full-color illustrations demonstrate emergency techniques in realistic clarity. Summary tables and boxes make it easy to find essential concepts and information. Quick-reference algorithms in the appendix include step-by-step diagrams showing the decision-making process in common emergency situations. A differential diagnosis chapter ends each of the book's parts on common emergencies. UPDATED content includes the most current guidelines for drug-related emergencies, unconsciousness, altered consciousness, and cardiac arrest as well as protocols for obstructed airway management. UPDATED PCABD boxes reflect the American Heart Association's new sequence of steps for stabilizing and treating victims with an easy-to-remember acronym: Positioning, Circulation, Airway, Breathing, and Definitive Management. UPDATED! Emergency drug and equipment kit instructions help you assemble emergency kits and ensure that your dental office has safe, current materials on hand.
Wheeler's Dental Anatomy, Physiology and Occlusion by Stanley J. NelsonApplying dental anatomy to the practice of dentistry, Wheeler's Dental Anatomy, Physiology, and Occlusion, 10th Edition provides illustrated coverage of dentitions, pulp formation, the sequence of eruptions, and clinical considerations. The market leader, this text is used as a reference in creating examination questions for the dental anatomy and occlusion section of the NBDE Part I. This edition expands its focus on clinical applications and includes dozens of online 360-degree and 3-D tooth animations. Written by expert educator and lecturer Dr. Stanley Nelson, Wheeler's Dental Anatomy provides a solid foundation in this core subject for the practice of dentistry. Over 900 full-color images include detailed, well-labeled anatomical illustrations as well as clinical photographs Practical appendices include Review of Tooth Morphology with a concise review of tooth development from in utero to adolescence to adulthood, and Tooth Traits of the Permanent Dentition with tables for each tooth providing detailed information such as tooth notation, dimensions, position of proximal contacts, heights, and curvatures. 360-degree virtual reality animations on the Evolve companion website demonstrate 26 tooth views from multiple directions, while 27 3-D animations demonstrate dental structure and mandibular movement, helping you refine your skills in tooth identification and examination. 64 detachable flash cards show tooth traits and many illustrations from the book, making it easy to prepare for tests as well as for the NBDE and NBDHE. Over 200 multiple-choice review questions and answers let you assess your understanding of the content. 32 labeling exercises on Evolve challenge you to identify tooth structures and facial anatomy [?] with drag-and-drop labels. NEW Clinical Applications of Dental Anatomy, Physiology and Occlusion chapter includes practical applications and case studies, including instructions on root planing and scaling, extraction techniques and forces, relationship of fillings to pulp form and enamel form, and occlusal adjustment of premature occlusal contacts and arch form in relationship to bite splint designs, all preparing you for the NBDE's new focus on clinical applications. NEW photos, illustrations, and research keep you up to date with the latest dental information. Three NEW animations on the Evolve companion website demonstrate occlusal adjustments.
Infection Control and Management of Hazardous Materials for the Dental Team by Chris H. MillerEmphasizing patient safety and disease prevention in the dental office, Infection Control and Management of Hazardous Materials for the Dental Team, 6th Edition, is a go-to text for all members of the dental team. With discussions ranging from microbiology concepts to protocols for clinical asepsis, this comprehensive, highly practical text features the most up-to-date regulatory recommendations, as well as new chapters on patient safety preparation and infection control breaches. Step-by-step instructions make it easy for you to perform safety procedures and use the supplies and equipment needed to prevent the spread of infectious disease, and new case scenarios present opportunities for critical thinking and application. F Comprehensive coverage?looks at infection control and prevention from the perspective of all dental team members. Easy-to-follow, step-by-step procedures?are provided for skills that dental team members must master, each presented with a goal, materials, chronological steps, and rationales for the performance of each step. Review questions?ensure your comprehension of the material and provide practice for classroom and board examinations, with 10 to 20 multiple-choice questions at the end of each chapter. Key terms?begin each chapter and are highlighted within text discussions and defined in a back-of-book glossary. Chapter quizzes on the Evolve companion website provide instant-feedback self-assessment. A highly approachable writing style makes this text a trusted educational tool, as well as a refresher on infection control. Trusted author and oral biology and infection control expert, Chris Miller, delivers the most up-to-date content needed to ensure patient safety and clinical competence within the dental office. Logically organized into three parts with brief chapters that move from foundational biology through specific areas of infection control and application to a dental office. Eight practical appendices?offer easy access to the most significant regulatory agency rules and recommendations for infection control. Chapter objectives help you set goals for what you will accomplish, and serve as checkpoints for comprehension and study tools in preparation for examinations. Summary tables and boxes?make study easier by highlighting key concepts and procedures and serve as useful review tools. NEW! Updated content based on the CDC's Summary of Infection Prevention Practices in Dental Settings, which includes additional topics and information to augment the 2003 Guidelines for Infection Control in Dental Health-Care Settings. NEW! Two new chapters cover preparing for patient safety (focusing on training for dental personnel) and infection control breaches within dental offices. NEW!?Case scenarios?added to specific chapters examine an infection control incident, along with its potential consequences, possible preventive measures, and related recommendations and regulations. NEW and EXPANDED!?Additional full-color images?focus on disease states, disease transfer, and safety culture, helping improve teaching and learning.
Dental Materials by John M. Powers; John C. WatahaFocusing on the dental materials most commonly used, Dental Materials: Properties and Manipulation, 10th Edition covers the tasks that dental assistants and dental hygienists typically perform. It shows the most current materials, how to mix and apply them in a clinical setting, and how to educate patients about them. Now in full color, this edition adds more photographs of materials actually being mixed, used, and applied, and includes detailed coverage of ceramics, metals, and implant and impression materials. Written by well-known experts on restorative dentistry and materials, John Powers and John Wataha, Dental Materials is a trusted text that keeps you on top of the rapidly developing field of dental materials. Comprehensive, focused coverage includes all the materials and tasks relevant to day-to-day practice of dental assistants and dental hygienists. Cutting-edge content describes the latest materials commonly used in dental practice, including those in esthetics, ceramics, dental implants, and impressions. More than 400 illustrations and photographs make it easier to understand properties and recognize differences in materials in general and specific types of products. Discussions of materials begin with a study of their properties and uses before moving into specific manipulations and applications in dentistry. Note boxes highlight key points and important terminology throughout the text. Summary tables and boxes summarize key concepts and procedures. Quick Review boxes summarize the material in each chapter. A logical format sets up a solid foundation before progressing into discussions of specific materials, moving from the more common and simple applications such as composites to more specialized areas such as polymers and dental implants. Review questions provide an excellent study tool with 20 to 30 self-test questions in each chapter. Key terms are listed at the outset of each chapter, bolded at their initial mention in the text, and defined in the glossary. Learning objectives in each chapter focus your attention on essential information. Supplemental readings in each chapter cite texts and journal articles for further research and study. Conversion Factors on the inside back cover provides a list of common metric conversions. Expert authors are well recognized in the fields of dental materials, oral biomaterials, and restorative dentistry. New and updated discussions address advances in areas such as esthetics, ceramics, and materials for dental impressions and dental implants. Full-color illustrations improve clarity and realism, including for example, color photos of esthetics and bleaching showing the differences in shades of color. More than 100 new illustrations and photographs include images showing the materials being used and applied.
Dental Instruments: A Pocket Guide by Linda Bartolomucci BoydLearn to confidently recognize and manage more than 300 dental instruments with Dental Instruments: A Pocket Guide, 5th Edition. A unique flashcard-style format pairs descriptions with high-quality photographs and illustrations. A pocket-sized, spiral-bound format makes for quick reference. This edition also features content a new chapter on patient monitoring equipment and new content on facebow equipment, dental imaging devices, nitrous oxide equipment, and more to support expanded duties in dental assisting. With its portable and highly visual nature, Dental Instruments is ideal for both studying and for chairside reference. More than 450 high-quality photographs and illustrations include both full and close-up views to enhance your ability to quickly and accurately identify dental instruments. UNIQUE! Flashcard format makes it easy to assess your knowledge of dental instruments. Practice Notes and Sterilization boxes help you ensure compliance with common practice standards and state regulations. Well-organized format includes a text description of each instrument along with its name, functions, and characteristics. Chapters move from basic instruments into those used within specialty areas of dentistry. Pocket-sized, spiral-bound design provides easy, at-a-glance access to key information. NEW! Chapter on Patient Monitoring Equipment covers electrocardiography, capnography, and more. NEW! Artwork features images of the latest equipment models along with a significant increase in the number of "in-use" photos. UPDATED! New content on facebow transfers, dental imaging devices, nitrous oxide equipment, and more.
Modern Dental Assisting by Doni L. Bird; Debbie S. RobinsonPrepare for a successful career as a dental assistant with Modern Dental Assisting, 11th Edition! Using an easy-to-understand approach, this book provides a complete foundation in the basic and advanced skills you must master to achieve clinical competence. Full-color photographs and clear, step-by-step instructions make it easy to learn dental assisting procedures. This edition includes content on the electronic health record, impact of the new health care law, and the new hazard communication standard. And as a complete learning package, it also includes an Evolve companion website with new videos demonstrating key procedures, practice quizzes, interactive games and exercises, and flashcards. Written by the expert dental assisting team of Doni Bird and Debbie Robinson, this is the leading text in dental assisting - the most trusted, the most comprehensive, and the most current. Comprehensive coverage makes this your single, start-to-finish source for dental assisting training. A highly approachable writing style presents the latest information and procedures in a way that makes it easy to understand and apply the material. Concise chapters presented within short parts move from profession basics and sciences to infection control, safety, clinical dentistry, radiography, materials, specialty dental practice, and dental office administration. Superb, full-color illustrations and photographs show procedures, equipment, and instruments. Illustrated, step-by-step procedures show the skills that dental assistants must master, detailing for each the goal, equipment and supplies needed, chronological steps, and rationales. Expanded Functions procedures boxes describe special dental assisting procedures allowed only in certain states. Procedure icons alert you to issues relating to core procedures, e.g., that you should make notes in the patient''s record, don personal protective equipment, or watch for moisture contamination. Key terms are accompanied by phonetic pronunciations, highlighted within the text, and defined in boxes on the same or facing page. Critical thinking questions end each chapter with mini-case scenarios and application-style questions. Learning and performance outcomes in each chapter set goals for what you will accomplish and also serve as checkpoints for comprehension, skills mastery, and study tools for exam preparation. Summary tables and boxes make it easy to review key concepts and procedures. Recall boxes appear after sections of text and include questions to ensure that you understand the material. CDC boxes cite the latest recommendations for infection control and summarize regulations. Eye to the Future boxes introduce cutting-edge research, future trends, and topics. Legal and Ethical Implications boxes focus on the behaviors that you will need to practice to protect yourself, your patients, and the practice for which you work. Patient Education boxes summarize content within the context of patient education take-away points. A glossary provides a quick and handy way to look up terminology, with chapter references indicating where terms are introduced and discussed within chapters. Interactive Dental Office program on the companion Evolve website provides 25 case studies with integrated radiographic mounting and dental charting exercises to help you problem-solve your way through a wide variety of dental conditions and procedures; games help you review and study in the areas of pathology, radiation safety, business office activities, workplace safety, oral anatomy, and dental instruments. Canadian Content Corner on the Evolve site highlights Canadian-specific dental information. A student workbook corresponds to the textbook and offers review and practice of essential tasks that dental assistants perform every day, plus competency skill sheets and detachable flashcards for on-the-go review. Sold separately. NEW content addresses the electronic patient record, impact of the new health care law, preventive techniques, and the new hazard communication standard. NEW, full-color photos show the latest technology, instruments, and procedures. NEW video on the companion Evolve website includes 10 new and 20 reshot video clips of dental assisting procedures, focusing on prevention, dental materials, and imaging; the Evolve website also includes review questions and answers to test your readiness for clinical experiences. EXPANDED! Online chapter quizzes on the Evolve companion website provide additional opportunities to assess your comprehension, along with rationales to reinforce concepts.
Professionalism in Health Care: A Primer for Career Success by Sherry MakelyNow in full color, this engaging, conversational text helps students understand the common professional standards that all healthcare workers need to provide excellent care and service. PROFESSIONALISM IN HEALTHCARE: A PRIMER FOR CAREER SUCCESS, 4/e brings together complete coverage of these and other crucial "soft skills": work ethic, character, relationships, teamwork, communication and etiquette, honesty, cultural competence, personal image, personal health and wellness, and more. Revised and improved throughout, this edition gives students a clearer understanding of where they fit in the changing healthcare system, why patient satisfaction is more important than ever, how to behave with the professionalism that both employers and patients demand, and how to move forward in their own careers more rapidly. This edition also contains many new pedagogical features, including an extensive new website.
Dental Radiography: Principles and Techniques by Joen Iannucci; Laura Jansen HowertonSet yourself up for success with this must-have oral radiography text. Dental Radiography: Principles and Techniques gives you a comprehensive foundation for the safe, effective use of radiation in the modern dental office. This combination textbook and training manual features easy-to-understand content combined with step-by-step techniques and a stellar art program to help you apply what you've learned to practice. Plus, new content focuses on pediatrics and the latest in digital and three-dimensional technology! Comprehensive coverage offers all the information you need to know to prepare for board exams. Step-by-step procedures help ensure technique mastery and serve as a valuable reference tool. Technique Tips help you to recognize and prevent the most common performance pitfalls. Quiz questions provide valuable self-assessment of important concepts. Key terminology is highlighted in chapter discussions and defined in a back-of-book glossary. Learning objectives and chapter summaries serve as goal-setting study tools. EXPANDED! Content on pediatrics/adolescents, digital imaging, and three-dimensional radiography ensures that you're prepared to practice in the modern dental office. UPDATED! Art program depicts the newest technology and equipment and includes new illustrations of anatomy and technique. UNIQUE! Helpful Hint boxes isolate challenging material and offer tips to aid your understanding. NEW! Laboratory Manual provides workbook-style questions and activities to reinforce concepts and step-by-step instructions for in-clinic experiences. UNIQUE! Chapter on three-dimensional imaging helps you to prepare to enter private practice. UNIQUE! Full-color presentation helps you comprehend complex content.