Business Basics for Dentists by
Dr. David Willis combines his experience as a practicing dentist, educator, MBA, and certified financial planner in this breakthrough text about managing a dental business. Rather than a checklist of steps for success, Business Basics for Dentists describes business, economic, marketing, and management principles and explains how to apply them to the dental practice. Dental students and new practitioners will learn how to use the core strategic and operational business philosophies to develop an effective dental practice. He provides the essential elements of a business course--management principles, economics, business finance, and financial analysis--without bogged down in too much detail. These are then related specifically to various aspects of running and managing a dental practice, including office communications, billing, inventory, and marketing the practice. All aspects of practice transition are approached: career opportunities, buying a practice, starting a new practice, multi-practitioner arrangements, practice valuation, and planning and developing a practice. Last, Willis included personal financial planning to ensure that the dentist is also planning for his own finances and retirement beyond the bounds of the practice.
Mosby's Dental Drug Reference by
No dental office should be without this quick-reference drug handbook! Ideal for chairside use by the entire dental team, Mosby's Dental Drug Reference, 13th Edition provides guidelines for safe, accurate drug administration. More than 800 drug monographs make it easy to find the information most relevant to oral healthcare practitioners, including indications and dosages, contraindications, interactions, side effects, serious reactions, and dental-specific drug data. From lead editor Arthur Jeske, a well-known researcher and author on dental pharmacology, this pocket guide provides the current, concise drug information needed at the point of care. More than 800 drug monographs include each drug's generic name, pronunciation, brand names, drug class, controlled substances schedule, mechanism of action, uses or indications, pharmacokinetics, doses and routes of administration, side effects/adverse reactions, contraindications, precautions, drug interactions of concern to dentistry, and more. Durable, pocket-sized format provides essential drug information at a glance, and makes this guide ideal for chairside use. Detailed dental considerations at the end of each monograph include an easy-to-use, bulleted list of specific dental-related information as well as general drug information, saving you time with information that is dentistry-focused and easy to use. Convenient reference information in the front of the guide includes a primer on the management of medically compromised patients, and the back of the guide includes convenient appendices on abbreviations, drugs associated with dry mouth, drugs that affect taste, oral contraceptives, preventing medication errors, and improving medication safety. Emphasis on oral health, prevention, and treatment from the dental hygienist's perspective makes it easier to use drug information for patient and family education. Coverage of oral contraceptives provides dental information on these commonly used drugs, often known to patients only by their brand names. Evolve website includes more than 100 additional monographs, including new monographs on monoclonal antibodies, images of common pathologic conditions, and information on common oral complications, alternative medicine, and drugs of abuse. NEW! More than 70 new monographs are included on the Evolve website for newly released, FDA-approved monoclonal antibody drugs, plus up-to-date content on the latest drug therapies.
Pharmacology and Therapeutics for Dentistry by
Gain a complete understanding of drugs affecting patient care! Pharmacology and Therapeutics for Dentistry, 7th Edition describes how to evaluate a patient's health and optimize dental treatment by factoring in the drugs they take. It explores the basic principles of pharmacology, the ways that drugs affect the body, and the potential for adverse drug interactions. Developed by Frank Dowd, Barton Johnson, and Angelo Mariotti, with chapters from a team of expert contributors, this is the only book written by dental pharmacologists for the dental market. Whether you're concerned about the drugs a patient is already taking or the drugs you prescribe for treatment, this book helps you reduce risk and provide effective dental care. Concise, comprehensive coverage helps you provide safe and effective dental care, exploring the fundamentals of pharmacology and clearly explaining actions of specific drug groups on systems in the human body in addition to covering special topics such as pain control, fear and anxiety, and oral complications of cancer therapy. An emphasis on the dental applications of pharmacology shows how to evaluate a patient's health and optimize dental treatment by factoring in any medications the patient may be taking. Practical appendices provide easy access to essential information, summarizing topics such as drug interactions in clinical dentistry, antiseptics and disinfectants, herbs, controlled substances, protein biopharmaceuticals, drugs used to treat glaucoma, and abbreviations. Clinical Rationale for and Significance of Prescription Writing chapter and two appendices on drug prescribing cover both the medications that a patient may already be taking and drugs that a dentist may prescribe for treatment. Nearly 50 expert contributors represent a diverse, authoritative panel of authors from many of the major dental schools. NEW! Reorganized content is more concise, more relevant, and more visual, with a stronger focus on what you need to know for clinical practice. NEW! Case studies at the beginning of chapters and case discussions at the end help you connect pharmacologic concepts and principles with clinical practice. NEW summary tables and boxes provide quick reference to vital information, and include all-new tables on drug indications and mechanisms. NEW! Full-color design and illustrations are added to this edition, enhancing realism and visual learning. NEW companion website provides references linked to PubMed. NEW! Bullet points list key information at the beginning of each chapter, highlighting need-to-know concepts.
Atlas of Cosmetic and Reconstructive Periodontal Surgery by
The third edition of the Atlas of Cosmetic and Reconstructive Periodontal Surgery is fully redesigned and expanded to reflect the state of the art and science in periodontic surgery. Each procedure is laid out in a set-by-step fashion, and is supplemented by clinical case examples now enhanced with hundreds of full-colour images and illustrations. The new edition is more hefty, with 29 chapters and as with earlier editions, Dr. Cohen succinctly outlines the advantages, disadvantages, and related challenges for each procedure. The new edition of this classic text is the most complete periodontal surgical atlas available. It is an essential resource for periodontal surgeons and students in all dental specialties.
Clinical Periodontology and Implant Dentistry, 2 Volume Set by
Now in its sixth edition, Clinical Periodontology and Implant Dentistry is the must-have resource for practitioners specialising in periodontal care and implant dentistry. The chapters have been extensively revised with 40% of the content new to this edition. Maintaining the widely praised two-volume format introduced in the previous edition, the editorial team has once again brought together the world's top international specialists to share their expertise on all aspects of periodontology, periodontal health and the use of implants in the rehabilitation of the periodontally compromised patient. Seamlessly integrating foundational science, practical clinical protocols, and recent advances in the field, Clinical Periodontology and Implant Dentistry, Sixth Edition enhances its stellar reputation as the cornerstone reference work on periodontology.
Newman and Carranza's Clinical Periodontology and Implantology by
Learn and master a range of clinical techniques and achieve therapeutic goals with Newman and Carranza's Clinical Periodontology and Implantology, 14th Edition! Unmatched for its comprehensive approach, this resource provides detailed, up-to-date information on the etiology and pathogenesis of periodontal disease. Basic and advanced evidence-based information on the various treatment modalities employed in periodontics and implantology is presented in an easy-to-read format, with callout boxes throughout the text highlighting the clinical relevance of foundational basic science information. Full-color photos and radiographic images depict periodontal conditions and procedures, and the Atlas of Periodontal Pathology is one of the most comprehensive ever compiled in a periodontal textbook. Written by a team of leading experts led by Michael G. Newman, this text not only demonstrates how to perform periodontal procedures but explains the evidence supporting each treatment and provides knowledge on how to achieve the best possible outcomes of periodontal therapy and implant treatment. An eBook version is included with print purchase, providing access to all the text, figures, and references, plus the ability to search, customize content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud. The eBook version included with print purchase also includes Periopixel 3D color illustrations, a periodontal classification calculator and interactive learning tool, review questions, case studies, videos, 3D animations, and more! This edition features new chapters on Precision Medicine, Pocket Reduction Therapy, Periodontal Referral, and Digital Implant Workflows, as well as an updated glossary of terms linked to the eBook. It also features first-of-its-kind content on the effects of COVID-19 on treatment from key opinion leaders in this area. Case studies reflect the new format of the Integrated National Board Dental Exam (INBDE). Full-color photos, illustrations, radiographs, animations, simulations, and videos demonstrate how to perform periodontal and implant procedures. Current information on clinical techniques in periodontology and the latest advances in basic science. Evidence-based treatment planning provides knowledge on how to achieve the best possible outcomes of periodontal therapy and implant treatment. Extensive color atlas of periodontal pathology Internationally known experts contribute chapters on their areas of specialty. An eBook version is included with print purchase, providing access to all the text, figures, and references, plus the ability to search, customize content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud. NEW! Chapters on Precision Medicine, Periodontal Referral, and Digital Implant Workflows provide comprehensive information for these key areas of implant dentistry. NEW! Pocket Reduction Therapy chapters discuss the use of lasers in pocket reduction therapy. NEW! Updated discussions cover the use of digital dentistry in periodontics and implant dentistry as well as new content on the effects of COVID-19 on treatment. NEW! Updated format reflects current learning principles, the integrated curriculum design used in most dental schools, and the format of the Integrated National Board Dental Examination (INBDE). NEW! Periopixel 3D color illustrations are included in the text and eBook version included with print purchase, in addition to 3D animations, author videos, clinical videos, and more. NEW! Periodontal classification calculator and interactive learning tool is available in the eBook version included with print purchase.
Periodontics - Medicine, Surgery, and Implants by
This definitive book presents the medical and surgical aspects of periodontics in full color, organized to coincide with topics in the AAP's Vision 2020 Objectives. It offers strong theory and concepts, as well as highly instructive clinical practice applications. The hallmark of this book is that it directs dental diagnosis and treatment toward controlling infection and establishing an oral environment that is conducive to the overall health and well-being of the patient. Interrelationships between oral and systemic health are emphasized throughout, and advanced technologies and techniques such as oral, plastic and reconstructive surgery, and dental implant surgery are key components. All goals and objectives of the American Academy of Periodontology's Vision 2020 program are addressed, highlighting the most up-to-date information on periodontal medicine. Content is organized to coincide with the AAP's Vision 2020 Objectives. Full color illustrations show the tissue colors and provide critical information about diagnosis of disease and assessment of the success or failure of clinical therapy. Information is provided on all forms of nonsurgical and surgical therapies, including dental implant surgery and advanced surgical techniques such as guided bone regeneration, sinus augmentation, and esthetic periodontal surgery. The chapters dealing with mucogingival surgery, resective surgery, and the basic principles of surgery essentially make up a color atlas of periodontal practice. A comprehensive chapter on conscious sedation offers excellent content as an option for patients who want to be "asleep" during involved procedures. Information on when and how to use antibiotics and antimicrobials adds a critical component to the interrelationship between oral and systemic health. No other periodontal reference includes a chapter on electronic dental health records, with highly relevant content as more and more dental practices move toward becoming "paperless" offices. A separate chapter on the role of the dental hygienist in periodontal procedures makes this the perfect reference for in-office education. Information on periodontal instrumentation provides an excellent overview of the instruments that practitioners and their support staff use every day.
Atlas of Cosmetic and Reconstructive Periodontal Surgery by
The third edition of the Atlas of Cosmetic and Reconstructive Periodontal Surgery is fully redesigned and expanded to reflect the state of the art and science in periodontic surgery. Each procedure is laid out in a set-by-step fashion, and is supplemented by clinical case examples now enhanced with hundreds of full-colour images and illustrations. The new edition is more hefty, with 29 chapters and as with earlier editions, Dr. Cohen succinctly outlines the advantages, disadvantages, and related challenges for each procedure. The new edition of this classic text is the most complete periodontal surgical atlas available. It is an essential resource for periodontal surgeons and students in all dental specialties.
Newman and Carranza's Clinical Periodontology and Implantology by
Learn and master a range of clinical techniques and achieve therapeutic goals with Newman and Carranza's Clinical Periodontology and Implantology, 14th Edition! Unmatched for its comprehensive approach, this resource provides detailed, up-to-date information on the etiology and pathogenesis of periodontal disease. Basic and advanced evidence-based information on the various treatment modalities employed in periodontics and implantology is presented in an easy-to-read format, with callout boxes throughout the text highlighting the clinical relevance of foundational basic science information. Full-color photos and radiographic images depict periodontal conditions and procedures, and the Atlas of Periodontal Pathology is one of the most comprehensive ever compiled in a periodontal textbook. Written by a team of leading experts led by Michael G. Newman, this text not only demonstrates how to perform periodontal procedures but explains the evidence supporting each treatment and provides knowledge on how to achieve the best possible outcomes of periodontal therapy and implant treatment. An eBook version is included with print purchase, providing access to all the text, figures, and references, plus the ability to search, customize content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud. The eBook version included with print purchase also includes Periopixel 3D color illustrations, a periodontal classification calculator and interactive learning tool, review questions, case studies, videos, 3D animations, and more! This edition features new chapters on Precision Medicine, Pocket Reduction Therapy, Periodontal Referral, and Digital Implant Workflows, as well as an updated glossary of terms linked to the eBook. It also features first-of-its-kind content on the effects of COVID-19 on treatment from key opinion leaders in this area. Case studies reflect the new format of the Integrated National Board Dental Exam (INBDE). Full-color photos, illustrations, radiographs, animations, simulations, and videos demonstrate how to perform periodontal and implant procedures. Current information on clinical techniques in periodontology and the latest advances in basic science. Evidence-based treatment planning provides knowledge on how to achieve the best possible outcomes of periodontal therapy and implant treatment. Extensive color atlas of periodontal pathology Internationally known experts contribute chapters on their areas of specialty. An eBook version is included with print purchase, providing access to all the text, figures, and references, plus the ability to search, customize content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud. NEW! Chapters on Precision Medicine, Periodontal Referral, and Digital Implant Workflows provide comprehensive information for these key areas of implant dentistry. NEW! Pocket Reduction Therapy chapters discuss the use of lasers in pocket reduction therapy. NEW! Updated discussions cover the use of digital dentistry in periodontics and implant dentistry as well as new content on the effects of COVID-19 on treatment. NEW! Updated format reflects current learning principles, the integrated curriculum design used in most dental schools, and the format of the Integrated National Board Dental Examination (INBDE). NEW! Periopixel 3D color illustrations are included in the text and eBook version included with print purchase, in addition to 3D animations, author videos, clinical videos, and more. NEW! Periodontal classification calculator and interactive learning tool is available in the eBook version included with print purchase.
Clinical Periodontology and Implant Dentistry, 2 Volume Set by
Now in its sixth edition, Clinical Periodontology and Implant Dentistry is the must-have resource for practitioners specialising in periodontal care and implant dentistry. The chapters have been extensively revised with 40% of the content new to this edition. Maintaining the widely praised two-volume format introduced in the previous edition, the editorial team has once again brought together the world's top international specialists to share their expertise on all aspects of periodontology, periodontal health and the use of implants in the rehabilitation of the periodontally compromised patient. Seamlessly integrating foundational science, practical clinical protocols, and recent advances in the field, Clinical Periodontology and Implant Dentistry, Sixth Edition enhances its stellar reputation as the cornerstone reference work on periodontology.
Periodontics - Medicine, Surgery, and Implants by
This definitive book presents the medical and surgical aspects of periodontics in full color, organized to coincide with topics in the AAP's Vision 2020 Objectives. It offers strong theory and concepts, as well as highly instructive clinical practice applications. The hallmark of this book is that it directs dental diagnosis and treatment toward controlling infection and establishing an oral environment that is conducive to the overall health and well-being of the patient. Interrelationships between oral and systemic health are emphasized throughout, and advanced technologies and techniques such as oral, plastic and reconstructive surgery, and dental implant surgery are key components. All goals and objectives of the American Academy of Periodontology's Vision 2020 program are addressed, highlighting the most up-to-date information on periodontal medicine. Content is organized to coincide with the AAP's Vision 2020 Objectives. Full color illustrations show the tissue colors and provide critical information about diagnosis of disease and assessment of the success or failure of clinical therapy. Information is provided on all forms of nonsurgical and surgical therapies, including dental implant surgery and advanced surgical techniques such as guided bone regeneration, sinus augmentation, and esthetic periodontal surgery. The chapters dealing with mucogingival surgery, resective surgery, and the basic principles of surgery essentially make up a color atlas of periodontal practice. A comprehensive chapter on conscious sedation offers excellent content as an option for patients who want to be "asleep" during involved procedures. Information on when and how to use antibiotics and antimicrobials adds a critical component to the interrelationship between oral and systemic health. No other periodontal reference includes a chapter on electronic dental health records, with highly relevant content as more and more dental practices move toward becoming "paperless" offices. A separate chapter on the role of the dental hygienist in periodontal procedures makes this the perfect reference for in-office education. Information on periodontal instrumentation provides an excellent overview of the instruments that practitioners and their support staff use every day.
Phillips' Science of Dental Materials by
Keep current with the evolving technology of dental materials! Phillips' Science of Dental Materials, 13th Edition provides comprehensive, up-to-date information on the materials used in cosmetic and restorative procedures in dentistry. It introduces the physical and chemical properties that are related to selection and use of dental biomaterials, including their composition, mechanical properties, manipulative variables, and the performance of dental restorations and prostheses. This edition adds three new chapters and hundreds of new full-color photographs. Written by dental scientists Chiayi Shen and H. Ralph Rawls along with prosthodontist Josephine Esquivel-Upshaw, this leading text/reference helps dentists select the right materials for oral procedures and helps dental labs ensure high-quality restorations. 500 full-color photos and illustrations show concepts, dental instruments, and restorations. Key terms are defined at the beginning of each chapter, covering terminology related to dental biomaterials and science. Critical thinking questions stimulate thinking and emphasize important concepts and principles. Logical, five-part organization of chapters makes the content easier to read and understand, with units on General Classes and Properties of Dental Materials, Direct Restorative Materials, Indirect Restorative Materials, Fabrication of Prostheses, and Assessing Dental Restorations. Balance between materials science and manipulation bridges the gap of knowledge between dentists and lab technicians. Major emphasis on biocompatibility serves as a useful guide to the principles and clinical implications of restorative materials safety. Diverse and respected pool of contributors lends credibility and experience to each dental science topic. NEW! Three new chapters are added: Digital Technology in Dentistry, In Vitro Research of Dental Materials, and Clinical Research of Restorations.
Summitt’s Fundamentals of Operative Dentistry: A Contemporary Approach
Sturdevant's Art and Science of Operative Dentistry by
Get a better picture of operative dentistry from the most complete text on the market. Using a heavily illustrated, step-by-step approach, Sturdevant's Art and Science of Operative Dentistry, 7th Edition helps you master the fundamentals and procedures of restorative and preventive dentistry and learn to make informed decisions to solve patient needs. Drawing from both theory and practice and supported by extensive clinical and laboratory research, this new full-color edition features four new chapters and updated information in the areas of color and shade matching, light curing, periodontology, digital dentistry and more. It's the practicing dentist's complete guide to all aspects of operative dentistry. Four new chapters cover the areas of color and shade matching, light curing, periodontology, and digital dentistry. Expert Consult website with five supplemental chapters and procedure videos. Evidence-based approach is supported by extensive clinical and laboratory research. Comprehensive coverage provides a thorough understanding of caries and an authoritative approach to its treatment and prevention. Illustrated step-by-step approach offers a better picture of conservative restorative and preventive dentistry. Full color design clearly demonstrates techniques and details. NEW! Four new chapters cover the areas of color and shade matching, light curing, periodontology, and digital dentistry. NEW! Expert Consult website includes five additional online-only chapters, procedure videos, and references linked to PubMed. NEW! Updated content throughout integrates new knowledge that has emerged since publication of the previous edition.
Dental Caries: The Disease and its Clinical Management by
First published in 2003, Dental Caries: The Disease and its Clinical Management has become the leading resource on cariology. In this highly-anticipated new edition, the editors maintain the same focus on high-level coverage of the disease aetiology and process, clinical management best-practice, and wider public health issues connected with dental caries management, including an enhanced focus on the 'caries control concept'. The aim is to link theory with clinical performance, making prevention, diagnosis and restorative procedures evidence based. The structure of the book has been completely overhauled, with the same coverage streamlined in order to distil information effectively. The book is divided into six main sections: An overview of the disease and its prevalence The caries lesion and its biological determinants Diagnosis Controlling dental caries Operative intervention Caries control in special populations With contributions from international experts in research and clinical practice, the third edition of Dental Caries is an unrivalled guide to tooth decay, and a must-have resource for undergraduate and postgraduate students in restorative dentistry as well as all practitioners looking to develop their clinical skills.
Dental Caries: The Disease and its Clinical Management by
First published in 2003, Dental Caries: The Disease and its Clinical Management has become the leading resource on cariology. In this highly-anticipated new edition, the editors maintain the same focus on high-level coverage of the disease aetiology and process, clinical management best-practice, and wider public health issues connected with dental caries management, including an enhanced focus on the 'caries control concept'. The aim is to link theory with clinical performance, making prevention, diagnosis and restorative procedures evidence based. The structure of the book has been completely overhauled, with the same coverage streamlined in order to distil information effectively. The book is divided into six main sections: An overview of the disease and its prevalence The caries lesion and its biological determinants Diagnosis Controlling dental caries Operative intervention Caries control in special populations With contributions from international experts in research and clinical practice, the third edition of Dental Caries is an unrivalled guide to tooth decay, and a must-have resource for undergraduate and postgraduate students in restorative dentistry as well as all practitioners looking to develop their clinical skills.
Sturdevant's Art and Science of Operative Dentistry by
Get a better picture of operative dentistry from the most complete text on the market. Using a heavily illustrated, step-by-step approach, Sturdevant's Art and Science of Operative Dentistry, 7th Edition helps you master the fundamentals and procedures of restorative and preventive dentistry and learn to make informed decisions to solve patient needs. Drawing from both theory and practice and supported by extensive clinical and laboratory research, this new full-color edition features four new chapters and updated information in the areas of color and shade matching, light curing, periodontology, digital dentistry and more. It's the practicing dentist's complete guide to all aspects of operative dentistry. Four new chapters cover the areas of color and shade matching, light curing, periodontology, and digital dentistry. Expert Consult website with five supplemental chapters and procedure videos. Evidence-based approach is supported by extensive clinical and laboratory research. Comprehensive coverage provides a thorough understanding of caries and an authoritative approach to its treatment and prevention. Illustrated step-by-step approach offers a better picture of conservative restorative and preventive dentistry. Full color design clearly demonstrates techniques and details. NEW! Four new chapters cover the areas of color and shade matching, light curing, periodontology, and digital dentistry. NEW! Expert Consult website includes five additional online-only chapters, procedure videos, and references linked to PubMed. NEW! Updated content throughout integrates new knowledge that has emerged since publication of the previous edition.
Summitt’s Fundamentals of Operative Dentistry: A Contemporary Approach
Burt and Eklund's dentistry, dental practice, and the community by
Learn about the challenges, current trends, and the positive role that you can play in improving the dental health of the community. Completely revised and updated by members of the American Association of Public Health Dentistry, Burt and Eklund's Dentistry, Dental Practice, and the Community, 7th Edition presents dentistry and dental practice against the ever-changing backdrop of economic, technological, and demographic trends, as well as the distribution of the oral diseases that dental professionals treat and prevent. Readers will learn the latest techniques of research and measurement, and how oral disease may be limited through control and prevention. This updated text also addresses the new educational competencies for predoctoral/ post-doctoral dental students and dental hygiene students with updated and new content on cultural competency, oral health literacy, social responsibility, motivational interviewing, and oral systemic associations. All in all, this text takes a comprehensive look at the social context of dental care and the difference you can make in improving the health of the community you serve. Logical four-part organization divides content into dentistry and the community; dental care delivery; methods and measurement of oral diseases and conditions; and health promotion and prevention of oral diseases. A focus on need-to-know content emphasizes the important core information while providing comprehensive coverage of dental public health. Comprehensive analysis of dentistry's social and professional role examines issues such as epidemiology of oral diseases, prevention, and the provision of care. Evidence-based recommendations reflect the latest literature on today's public health issues. Illustrations, tables, and graphics illustrate the key material and visually enhance discussions. NEW! Completely revised and updated content looks at populations oral health and dental care as well as how it fits into a changing world. NEW! Coverage of new educational competencies provides predoctoral/ post-doctoral dental students and dental hygiene students with updated and new content on cultural competency, oral health literacy, social responsibility, motivational interviewing, and oral systemic associations. NEW! New chapters cover the applications of epidemiology and biostatistics in dental public health, oral health as it related to quality of life, oral health education, health literacy, social determinants of health and health disparities, and delivery of oral healthcare in Canada. NEW! Newly revised competencies for the Dental Public Health specialty are incorporated throughout the book.
Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down by
Now with a new Afterword from the author Winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award for Nonfiction The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Downexplores the clash between a small county hospital in California and a refugee family from Laos over the care of Lia Lee, a Hmong child diagnosed with severe epilepsy. Lia's parents and her doctors both wanted what was best for Lia, but the lack of understanding between them led to tragedy. Winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award for Nonfiction, the Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Current Interest, and the Salon Book Award, Anne Fadiman's compassionate account of this cultural impasse is literary journalism at its finest. ______ Lia Lee 1982-2012 Lia Lee died on August 31, 2012. She was thirty years old and had been in a vegetative state since the age of four. Until the day of her death, her family cared for her lovingly at home.
Misch's Contemporary Implant Dentistry by
Dental implant surgery is an artform. To help you advance your skills and become a master of implant prosthetics, Misch's Contemporary Implant Dentistry, 4th Edition uses a multidisciplinary approach to cover the industry's most current processes and surgical procedures. The new edition of this text continues to provide comprehensive, state-of-the-art information on the science and discipline of contemporary implant dentistry. Covering the breadth of dental implant surgery, it includes full-color, in-depth coverage of both simple and complicated clinical cases, with practical guidance on how to apply the latest research, diagnostic tools, treatment planning, implant designs, and materials. New author Randolph R. Resnik, is an internationally known educator, clinician, and researcher in the field of Oral Implantology and Prosthodontics who will continue Dr. Misch's legacy and teachings. Content reflects original author's philosophy and surgical protocols for dental implants giving you a system for achieving predictable outcomes. Evidence-based approach to dental implant procedures features state-of-the-art guidance supported by the best available research evidence. Rich art program throughout text highlights and clarifies key clinical concepts and techniques with over 2,500 images, radiographs, full-color clinical photographs, line art, and diagrams. Definitive resource in implant dentistry provides you with authoritative state-of-the art guidance by recognized leader in the field. Internationally known author, Randolph R. Resnik, DMD, MDS is a leading educator, clinician, author and researcher in the field of Oral Implantology and Prosthodontics. Surgical protocols provide the latest, most up-to-date literature and techniques that provide a proven system for comprehensive surgical treatment of dental implant patients. Thoroughly revised content includes current diagnostic pharmacologic and medical evaluation recommendations to furnish the reader with the latest literature-based information. Proven strategies and fundamentals for predictable implant outcomes Latest implant surgical techniques for socket grafting and ridge augmentation procedures Proven, evidence-based solutions for the treatment of peri-implant disease Includes the use of dermal fillers and botox in oral implantology Up-to-date information on advances in the field reflects the state-of-the-art dental implantology. Addition of an ExpertConsult site allows you to search the entire book electronically.
The SAC Classification in Implant Dentistry by 
Contemporary Fixed Prosthodontics by
Contemporary Fixed Prosthodontics, 4th Edition is a comprehensive, user-friendly text that offers dental students and practitioners an excellent opportunity to understand the basic principles of fixed prosthodontics. This text provides a strong foundation in basic science, followed by practical step-by-step clinical applications. Procedures are presented in an organized, systematic format, and are illustrated by over 3,000 clear, high-quality drawings and photographs, now in full-color. The material is logically divided into sections that cover planning and preparation, clinical procedures, and laboratory procedures. The text also includes two invaluable appendices that provide an updated list of dental materials and equipment, as well as a guide to manufacturers. Illustrated, full-color step-by-step procedures walk you through all the steps of treatment from the beginning to the final treatment result. Summary charts provide a quick, at-glance review of specific procedures (such as Class II inlay preparation and all-ceramic crown preparation), highlighting the indications, contraindications, advantages, disadvantages, preparation steps, recommended armamentarium, and criteria. Prosthodontic Diagnostic Index helps you determine the appropriate treatments for completely edentulous, partially edentulous, and dentate patients, using guidelines and illustrations from the American College of Prosthodontists. Text boxes accompany selected illustrations, presenting quick facts and tips relating to techniques or concepts. Study questions offer an opportunity to test your knowledge and comprehension at the end of each chapter. Useful appendices list dental materials, equipment, and manufacturers. NEW full-color photos and drawings enhance your understanding and comprehension of each topic, and show the newest instruments and equipment. NEW Periodontal Considerations chapter offers a new approach to comprehensive fixed prosthodontics treatment, covering the concepts and clinical modes of periodontal therapy available prior to the development of an appropriate diagnosis and treatment plan. NEW section on digital impression techniques describes how to create a virtual, computer-generated replica of the hard and soft tissues in the mouth using lasers and other optical scanning devices. NEW section on virtual articulators addresses the new software tool providing dynamic visualization of the occlusal surface, eliminating the need for a mechanical articulator, with modules discussing the contact of the occlusal surface of the maxilla and mandible and the relation to the condylar movement. NEW section on cone beam imaging allows clear visualization of osseous contours and bone volume, facilitating better decisions about the size of implant fixtures that realistically can be accommodated. NEW section on digital interim fixed restorations covers the fabrication of large multi-unit composite or polymethyl methacrylate external surface forms in advance for use with indirect/direct restorative techniques.
Dental Laboratory Procedures by 
Fundamentals of Fixed Prosthodontics by
This edition has been updated to reflect new research, materials, and techniques in fixed prosthodontics. It is designed to serve as an introduction to restorative dentistry techniques using fixed partial dentures and cast metal, metal-ceramic, and all-ceramic restorations, providing the background knowledge needed by the novice and serving as a refresher for the practitioner or graduate student.
Management of Temporomandibular Disorders and Occlusion by
Covering both emerging and proven techniques in this dynamic area of oral health, Management of Temporomandibular Disorders and Occlusion, 8th Edition is the only textbook that guides you from basic anatomy and function to providing solutions to many common occlusal and TMD problems. Clear descriptions and a new full-color design promote a complete understanding of normal, abnormal, and dysfunctional occlusal relationships and masticatory function and dysfunction. A recognized industry-standard, this book's conservative, cost-effective approach, helps you learn how to achieve treatment goals while keeping the best interests of your patients in mind. Globally recognize TMD expert author Jeff Okeson details the most current and effective solutions around. Evidence-Based Practice focushelps you to put the information and techniques in this book into practice to better the lives and relieve the suffering of your patients. ? Logical organization of content includes functional anatomy, etiology and identification of disturbances, treatment of disturbances, and occlusal therapy. Full-color design provides more vivid clinical photos and illustrations. Robust Art Program allows you to fully understand normal occlusion and masticatory function and learn to recognize and help manage abnormalities in these areas. Clinical Comment boxes give you critical thinking points and instructions on how to apply these to everyday clinical practice. NEW! Updated content includes enhanced research evidence. NEW! Clinical Photo Updates in Examination Chapter differentiate and strengthen images from the current edition. NEW! Addition of Expert Consult Site furthers your understanding of treatment goals and outcomes.
Phillips' Science of Dental Materials by
Keep current with the evolving technology of dental materials! Phillips' Science of Dental Materials, 13th Edition provides comprehensive, up-to-date information on the materials used in cosmetic and restorative procedures in dentistry. It introduces the physical and chemical properties that are related to selection and use of dental biomaterials, including their composition, mechanical properties, manipulative variables, and the performance of dental restorations and prostheses. This edition adds three new chapters and hundreds of new full-color photographs. Written by dental scientists Chiayi Shen and H. Ralph Rawls along with prosthodontist Josephine Esquivel-Upshaw, this leading text/reference helps dentists select the right materials for oral procedures and helps dental labs ensure high-quality restorations. 500 full-color photos and illustrations show concepts, dental instruments, and restorations. Key terms are defined at the beginning of each chapter, covering terminology related to dental biomaterials and science. Critical thinking questions stimulate thinking and emphasize important concepts and principles. Logical, five-part organization of chapters makes the content easier to read and understand, with units on General Classes and Properties of Dental Materials, Direct Restorative Materials, Indirect Restorative Materials, Fabrication of Prostheses, and Assessing Dental Restorations. Balance between materials science and manipulation bridges the gap of knowledge between dentists and lab technicians. Major emphasis on biocompatibility serves as a useful guide to the principles and clinical implications of restorative materials safety. Diverse and respected pool of contributors lends credibility and experience to each dental science topic. NEW! Three new chapters are added: Digital Technology in Dentistry, In Vitro Research of Dental Materials, and Clinical Research of Restorations.
Prosthodontic Treatment for Edentulous Patients by
Covering the functional and esthetic needs of edentulous patients, Prosthodontic Treatment for Edentulous Patients: Complete Dentures and Implant-Supported Prostheses, 13th Edition helps you provide complete dentures, with and without dental implant support. It addresses both the behavioral and clinical aspects of diagnosis and treatment and covers treatment modalities including osseointegration, overdentures, implant-supported fixed prosthesis, and the current and future directions of implant prosthodontics. New to this edition are full-color photographs and coverage of immediately loaded complete dental prostheses. From lead editor and respected educator George Zarb, Prosthodontic Treatment for Edentulous Patients provides an atlas of clinical procedures and emphasizes the importance of evidence-based treatment. Short, easy-to-read chapters cover the essentials of care for both short- and long-term patients, stressing the importance of evidence-based treatment. Expanded coverage of implant prosthodontics addresses the clinical protocols for implant-retained and implant-supported prosthodontic management. Specific chapters address the three surfaces of the complete denture: (1) an impression or intaglio surface, (2) a polished surface, and (3) an occlusal surface, the integration of which is crucial to creating a stable, functional, and esthetic result. Chapter on health and nutrition examines a number of systemic conditions (vesciculoerosive conditions, systemic lupus erythematosus, burning mouth syndrome, salivary dysfunction, Sjögren''s syndrome, hyper/hyposalivation, diabetes) that affect the oral cavity and specifically influence the prognosis for wearing complete dentures or for accepting osseointegrated prostheses. Chapter on the time-dependent changes which occur in the oral cavity focuses on both time-related direct (ulcer/cheek biting, irritation hyperplasia, denture stomatitis, flabby ridge and pendulous maxillary tuberosities, hyperkeratosis and oral cancer, residual ridge reduction) and indirect (atrophy of masticatory muscles, nutritional status and masticatory function, control of sequelae)nbsp;changes in the oral environment, and provides strategies to minimize the risk of such changes. Chapter on the techniques used to prolong the life of complete dentures focuses on the two techniques used to extend the life of dentures: relining and rebasing, also touching on denture duplication. Well-respected editors and contributors are the leaders in their field, lending credibility and experience to each topic. NEW! Over 800 full-color photos and illustrations highlight key clinical and esthetic details. NEW Immediately Loaded Complete Dental Prostheses chapter describes the rationale for the popular approach to immediately loading full arch implant supported/retained prostheses, allowing both enhanced functional outcomes and an accelerated time frame for completion of treatment. NEW The Impact of Socioeconomic, Cultural and Technological Changes and the Notion of Standards of Care and Alternative Protocols chapter addresses the "appropriatech" concept of providing cost-effective, appropriate care and describes techniques that make complete dentures accessible to those who do not have access to alternative care, including discussions of alternative protocols such as Complete Dentures in Four Clinical Sessions (CD4). Completely revised Materials Used in the Management of Edentulous Patients chapter includes expanded information on the properties, behaviors, and limitations of dental materials used in the rehabilitation of the edentulous patient, including impression materials (such as zinc oxide-eugenol impression paste, hydrocolloids, agar, and silicones), polymeric denture base materials (including rapid-cure type resins, biocompatibility of acrylic-based resins, residual monomer content, and radio-opacity of denture bases), denture cleansers (microwave radiation), and denture adhesives (such as adjunctive retention, indications/contraindications, application, and adverse reactions).
Removable Partial Denture Design: Outline Syllabus by 
Goodman and Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 14th Edition by
The go-to pharmacology reference that medical and health science professionals have relied upon for more than 50 years! For more than 50 years, Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, has been the comprehensive, go-to reference that medical and health science professionals have relied upon as the pinnacle of authority and accuracy in describing the actions and uses of therapeutic agents in relation to physiology and pathophysiology. Goodman & Gilman's balance of basic science and clinical applications has guided thousands of health care practitioners and students to a clear understanding of the drugs essential to preventing, diagnosing and treating disease. The fourteenth edition features more than 600 color illustrations, including 50 new figures on mechanism of drug actions which emphasizes the link between basic mechanisms of action of drug action, pathophysiology of disease, and therapeutic use of drugs. Features: * Five NEW chapters:  Pharmacovigilance  Gastrointestinal Microbiome and Drug Response  The Blood-Brain Barrier  Cannabis  Antibodies, Immune Checkpoint Inhibitors, CAR-T cells, and other Biological Agents * 600+ color illustrations * 50 NEW figures on mechanism of drug actions * All chapters have been revised and generally expanded with new material * Throughout: Expanded coverage of the need to consider genetic polymorphisms in designing appropriate therapies * A greatly revised and expanded chapter on Pharmacodynamics and the Molecular Mechanisms of Drug Action * 53 NEW contributors * NEW online updates
Pharmacology and Therapeutics for Dentistry by
Gain a complete understanding of drugs affecting patient care! Pharmacology and Therapeutics for Dentistry, 7th Edition describes how to evaluate a patient's health and optimize dental treatment by factoring in the drugs they take. It explores the basic principles of pharmacology, the ways that drugs affect the body, and the potential for adverse drug interactions. Developed by Frank Dowd, Barton Johnson, and Angelo Mariotti, with chapters from a team of expert contributors, this is the only book written by dental pharmacologists for the dental market. Whether you're concerned about the drugs a patient is already taking or the drugs you prescribe for treatment, this book helps you reduce risk and provide effective dental care. Concise, comprehensive coverage helps you provide safe and effective dental care, exploring the fundamentals of pharmacology and clearly explaining actions of specific drug groups on systems in the human body in addition to covering special topics such as pain control, fear and anxiety, and oral complications of cancer therapy. An emphasis on the dental applications of pharmacology shows how to evaluate a patient's health and optimize dental treatment by factoring in any medications the patient may be taking. Practical appendices provide easy access to essential information, summarizing topics such as drug interactions in clinical dentistry, antiseptics and disinfectants, herbs, controlled substances, protein biopharmaceuticals, drugs used to treat glaucoma, and abbreviations. Clinical Rationale for and Significance of Prescription Writing chapter and two appendices on drug prescribing cover both the medications that a patient may already be taking and drugs that a dentist may prescribe for treatment. Nearly 50 expert contributors represent a diverse, authoritative panel of authors from many of the major dental schools. NEW! Reorganized content is more concise, more relevant, and more visual, with a stronger focus on what you need to know for clinical practice. NEW! Case studies at the beginning of chapters and case discussions at the end help you connect pharmacologic concepts and principles with clinical practice. NEW summary tables and boxes provide quick reference to vital information, and include all-new tables on drug indications and mechanisms. NEW! Full-color design and illustrations are added to this edition, enhancing realism and visual learning. NEW companion website provides references linked to PubMed. NEW! Bullet points list key information at the beginning of each chapter, highlighting need-to-know concepts.
Sedation: a guide to patient management by
Learn how to safely sedate your dental patients and help control their anxiety with Sedation: A Guide to Patient Management, 6th Edition. Written by sedation expert Stanley Malamed, DDS, this concise guide combines essential theory with "how-to" technical instruction to help you master basic techniques in dental sedation and anxiety control. This new sixth edition also incorporates the latest guidelines from the ADA and the American Society of Anesthesiologists, along with vivid images of the most current equipment and procedures used in dental practice today. There is also detailed discussion on how to modify typical treatment protocol to successfully treat different patient populations - including pediatric, geriatric, physically compromised, and medically compromised patients. In all, this is a must-have guide for keeping up to date on the latest techniques in dental sedation and anxiety. The latest practice guidelines established by the ADA and the American Society of Anesthesiologists for sedation by non-anesthesiologists are included throughout the text. Comprehensive coverage combines all aspects of sedation with essential theory and instruction to cover all the information needed to provide safe and effective dental care. Expert authorship from Stanley Malamed, DDS, provides readers with experienced guidance across all areas of sedation dentistry and local anesthesia. Summary tables and boxes support visual learners and serve as useful review and study tools. Coverage of all potential patient groups details how to manage the pain and anxiety of pediatric, geriatric, physically compromised, and medically compromised patients in addition to the subtle changes that may be needed in normal treatment protocol. NEW! Extensive content revisions incorporate the most up-to-date information on the advances in sedation dentistry including the latest research, clinical experience, and literature. NEW! Updated photos and art reflect the latest equipment and procedures used in dental practice today.
Contemporary Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery by
One of the most respected dental surgery books in the world, Contemporary Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, 7th Edition helps you develop skills in evaluation, diagnosis, and patient management. This comprehensive text on oral surgery procedures features full-color photographs and drawings that show how to perform basic surgical techniques, including an overview of more advanced surgical procedures and the latest developments in dental implants, instrumentation, and current technology. A detailed patient evaluation section includes guidelines on when to refer patients to specialists and how to provide supportive postoperative care. New to this edition is a chapter focusing on anesthesia in greater depth than any of the previous editions. Written by well-known OMS educators James R. Hupp, and Edward Ellis III, and Myron R. Tucker, this book is a valuable reference for dentistry and dental hygiene students alike! UPDATED! Chapter, Contemporary Implant Dentistry, includes new and updated implant surgical techniques and virtual planning. UPDATED! Chapter, Treatment of Complex Implant Cases, features new and updated cases requiring more complex treatment, including bone augmentation surgery in combination with implants. UPDATED! Coverage of Management of Sinus Disease updated outline of the fundamental principles for evaluation and treatment of the patient with sinus disease, including endoscopic therapy. UPDATED! Coverage of Management of Medication-related Osteonecrosis of the Jaw outlines the fundamental principles for evaluation and treatment of the patient. UPDATED! Facial Cosmetic Surgery chapter is organized by nonsurgical and surgical procedures, covering popular procedures such as dermal fillers, botox, facial resurfacing, browlift and forehead procedures, blepharoplasty, rhinoplasty, and rhytidectomy. UPDATED! Content on implants, new instruments, and the latest technology help you treat your patients more effectively. Basic techniques of evaluation, diagnosis, and medical management described in enough detail to facilitate immediate clinical application. Excellent instrumentation chapter covers a wide variety of instruments and tray set-ups that OMS surgeons use. Complex Exodontia chapter describes techniques for surgical tooth extraction, including the principles of flap design, development, management, and suturing, as well as open extraction of single- and multi-rooted teeth, multiple extractions, and concomitant alveoloplasty. Hundreds of detailed, close-up photographs of intraoperative sites clarify textual descriptions Coverage of complex OMS procedures give you a basic understanding of what you will face later in advanced OMS cases. NEW! Chapter, Anesthesia in Dentistry focuses on anesthesia in greater depth than any of the previous editions including local anesthesia and nitrous oxide sedation. NEW! Expert Consult TM eBook version included with purchase allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
The Suture Book: the Definitive Guide to Dental Suturing and Surgical Flap Closure by Contemporary Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery by
One of the most respected dental surgery books in the world, Contemporary Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, 7th Edition helps you develop skills in evaluation, diagnosis, and patient management. This comprehensive text on oral surgery procedures features full-color photographs and drawings that show how to perform basic surgical techniques, including an overview of more advanced surgical procedures and the latest developments in dental implants, instrumentation, and current technology. A detailed patient evaluation section includes guidelines on when to refer patients to specialists and how to provide supportive postoperative care. New to this edition is a chapter focusing on anesthesia in greater depth than any of the previous editions. Written by well-known OMS educators James R. Hupp, and Edward Ellis III, and Myron R. Tucker, this book is a valuable reference for dentistry and dental hygiene students alike! UPDATED! Chapter, Contemporary Implant Dentistry, includes new and updated implant surgical techniques and virtual planning. UPDATED! Chapter, Treatment of Complex Implant Cases, features new and updated cases requiring more complex treatment, including bone augmentation surgery in combination with implants. UPDATED! Coverage of Management of Sinus Disease updated outline of the fundamental principles for evaluation and treatment of the patient with sinus disease, including endoscopic therapy. UPDATED! Coverage of Management of Medication-related Osteonecrosis of the Jaw outlines the fundamental principles for evaluation and treatment of the patient. UPDATED! Facial Cosmetic Surgery chapter is organized by nonsurgical and surgical procedures, covering popular procedures such as dermal fillers, botox, facial resurfacing, browlift and forehead procedures, blepharoplasty, rhinoplasty, and rhytidectomy. UPDATED! Content on implants, new instruments, and the latest technology help you treat your patients more effectively. Basic techniques of evaluation, diagnosis, and medical management described in enough detail to facilitate immediate clinical application. Excellent instrumentation chapter covers a wide variety of instruments and tray set-ups that OMS surgeons use. Complex Exodontia chapter describes techniques for surgical tooth extraction, including the principles of flap design, development, management, and suturing, as well as open extraction of single- and multi-rooted teeth, multiple extractions, and concomitant alveoloplasty. Hundreds of detailed, close-up photographs of intraoperative sites clarify textual descriptions Coverage of complex OMS procedures give you a basic understanding of what you will face later in advanced OMS cases. NEW! Chapter, Anesthesia in Dentistry focuses on anesthesia in greater depth than any of the previous editions including local anesthesia and nitrous oxide sedation. NEW! Expert Consult TM eBook version included with purchase allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
The Suture Book: the Definitive Guide to Dental Suturing and Surgical Flap Closure by 
McDonald and Avery's Dentistry for the Child and Adolescent by
Get the expert knowledge you need to provide quality oral care to pediatric patients! Trusted for more than 50 years, McDonald and Avery's Dentistry for the Child and Adolescent, 11th Edition provides the latest diagnostic and treatment recommendations for infants, children, and adolescents. It covers topics ranging from pediatric examination and radiographic techniques to development and morphology of the primary teeth, dental caries, dental materials, and local anesthesia. Another point of emphasis is the management of patients with special medical issues. On the Expert Consult website, you'll find a fully searchable version of the entire text along with case studies and step-by-step procedure videos. From internationally known educator Jeffrey A. Dean, this resource provides everything you need to prepare for board certification and succeed in clinical practice. Comprehensive coverage of pediatric dentistry includes the treatment of deep caries, prosthodontics, occlusion, trauma, gingivitis and periodontal disease, cleft lip and palate, facial esthetics, and medically compromised patients. More than 1,000 illustrations show oral structures and conditions along with dental procedures. Five major areas of focus help you organize your thinking and practice around key clinical concepts: diagnoses, caries and periodontology, pain control, oral growth and development, and management of special medical issues. Expert Consult website includes fully searchable access to the text, plus videos and case studies. Diverse and respected team of authors contribute chapters on their areas of expertise. Global readership includes translations of the text into seven different languages. NEW! Updated content includes a new section on sleep apnea, plus COVID-19 in children, pain management, dental bleaching, a minimalist approach to restorative dentistry, the latest dental materials, new pulp recommendations, community dentistry, patient-centered care, preventive orthodontic treatment, the use of silver diamine fluoride, and vaping with its oral implications. NEW! Additional patient cases and questions are included in the book and website. NEW! Procedure videos plus updates of existing videos are added to the Expert Consult website. NEW authors contribute updated and unique chapters throughout the book.
Pediatric Dentistry by
Provide superior oral and dental care to children of all ages! Pediatric Dentistry: Infancy through Adolescence Expert Consult, 6th Edition provides comprehensive coverage of oral care for infants, children, teenagers, and medically compromised pediatric patients. Organized by age group, the text covers examination, diagnosis, and treatment planning, as well as topics such as the prevention of dental disease, traumatic injuries, orthodontics, and restorative dentistry. From a team of accomplished authors and contributors led by Arthur J. Nowak, this edition includes a new Expert Consult website featuring case studies and procedural videos along with a fully searchable version of the text. UNIQUE! Age-specific organization separates sections and chapters by age group to cover specific changes the child experiences physically, cognitively, emotionally, and socially. Fundamentals of Pediatric Dentistry section covers basic information on children of all ages, including topics such as local and systemic diseases, pediatric physiology, cariology, pain control, and medical emergencies. Coverage of current trends and challenges emphasizes the prevention of dental diseases and reflects pediatric dentistry as it is practiced today. UPDATED coverage of caries risk assessment in children reflects the evolution of evidence-based oral health care. More than 1,000 full-color photos and illustrations show dental conditions and treatments. NEW and UNIQUE! Expert Consult platform offers additional content and includes case studies along with procedural videos for practical, real-world application. NEW chapters cover cariology, pain control, and cleft lip and palate; other updates include infant oral health, pit and fissure sealants, regenerative endodontics, and the risk factors surrounding the transition from adolescence to adulthood. NEW! Greater diversity of contributors includes expert perspectives from all over the world. NEW! Expert Consult case studies are included in 33 chapters. NEW! Video clips of procedures are included in the Expert Consult case studies. NEW! Review questions and answers are included in the Expert Consult case studies, with three questions per case study.
IUPUI