Diagnosis and Treatment Planning in Dentistry by
Enhance your skills in patient assessment, oral diagnosis, and treatment planning! A full-color, all-in-one reference, Diagnosis and Treatment Planning in Dentistry, 4th Edition helps you create person-centered dental treatment plans for adolescent and adult patients. Using evidence-based research, this text shows how risk assessment, prognosis, and expected treatment outcomes factor into the planning process. Detailed coverage guides you through each phase of the treatment plan. New to this edition are chapters covering digital tools used in treatment planning and revised content in all chapters. The book renews a core section that describes how to plan and provide optimal oral health care for unique patient populations. Written by noted dentistry educators Stephen Stefanac and Samuel Nesbit, this must-have resource includes a fully searchable eBook version free with each print purchase. Clear, logical organization builds your understanding with sections on comprehensive patient evaluation, the treatment planning process, the five phases of the treatment plan, and care planning for all patients. What's the Evidence? boxes cite research articles affecting clinical decision-making and treatment planning strategies. In Clinical Practice boxes summarize information on specific clinical situations for quick and easy review. Ethics in Dentistry boxes address clinical situations where ethical decision making may be required. Review questions summarize and reinforce the important concepts in each chapter. 350 full-color illustrations depict important concepts. NEW! Updated content in all chapters. NEW! An eBook version is included with print purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud. Plus, additional videos and all-new case-based practice quizzes for each chapter. NEW! Digital Tools chapter focuses on the use of digital tools in diagnosis and treatment planning.
Dental Caries: The Disease and its Clinical Management by
First published in 2003, Dental Caries: The Disease and its Clinical Management has become the leading resource on cariology. In this highly-anticipated new edition, the editors maintain the same focus on high-level coverage of the disease aetiology and process, clinical management best-practice, and wider public health issues connected with dental caries management, including an enhanced focus on the 'caries control concept'. The aim is to link theory with clinical performance, making prevention, diagnosis and restorative procedures evidence based. The structure of the book has been completely overhauled, with the same coverage streamlined in order to distil information effectively. The book is divided into six main sections: An overview of the disease and its prevalence The caries lesion and its biological determinants Diagnosis Controlling dental caries Operative intervention Caries control in special populations With contributions from international experts in research and clinical practice, the third edition of Dental Caries is an unrivalled guide to tooth decay, and a must-have resource for undergraduate and postgraduate students in restorative dentistry as well as all practitioners looking to develop their clinical skills.
Phillips' Science of Dental Materials by
Keep current with the evolving technology of dental materials! Phillips' Science of Dental Materials, 13th Edition provides comprehensive, up-to-date information on the materials used in cosmetic and restorative procedures in dentistry. It introduces the physical and chemical properties that are related to selection and use of dental biomaterials, including their composition, mechanical properties, manipulative variables, and the performance of dental restorations and prostheses. This edition adds three new chapters and hundreds of new full-color photographs. Written by dental scientists Chiayi Shen and H. Ralph Rawls along with prosthodontist Josephine Esquivel-Upshaw, this leading text/reference helps dentists select the right materials for oral procedures and helps dental labs ensure high-quality restorations. 500 full-color photos and illustrations show concepts, dental instruments, and restorations. Key terms are defined at the beginning of each chapter, covering terminology related to dental biomaterials and science. Critical thinking questions stimulate thinking and emphasize important concepts and principles. Logical, five-part organization of chapters makes the content easier to read and understand, with units on General Classes and Properties of Dental Materials, Direct Restorative Materials, Indirect Restorative Materials, Fabrication of Prostheses, and Assessing Dental Restorations. Balance between materials science and manipulation bridges the gap of knowledge between dentists and lab technicians. Major emphasis on biocompatibility serves as a useful guide to the principles and clinical implications of restorative materials safety. Diverse and respected pool of contributors lends credibility and experience to each dental science topic. NEW! Three new chapters are added: Digital Technology in Dentistry, In Vitro Research of Dental Materials, and Clinical Research of Restorations.
Primary Preventive Dentistry by
Organized for consistency, coherence, and readability, this fully updated text covers all areas of prevention in dental care. PRIMARY PREVENTIVE DENTISTRY, 8/enbsp;first describes dental diseases and conditions, helping students clearly understand the processes that can be prevented through the use of preventive modalities or ideas. Next, it presents detailed strategies to prevent these diseases and conditions. Throughout, specific target populations are defined and described based upon scientifically valid preventive strategies aimed at their needs. This edition improves student understanding with more photos, illustrations, diagrams, and tables; highlights "fun facts" about the topic; adds a new chapter on the important influence culture plays in preventive dental care; and is supported by many new web-based review questions and case studies for each chapter.nbsp;
Sturdevant's Art and Science of Operative Dentistry by
Get a better picture of operative dentistry from the most complete text on the market. Using a heavily illustrated, step-by-step approach, Sturdevant's Art and Science of Operative Dentistry, 7th Edition helps you master the fundamentals and procedures of restorative and preventive dentistry and learn to make informed decisions to solve patient needs. Drawing from both theory and practice and supported by extensive clinical and laboratory research, this new full-color edition features four new chapters and updated information in the areas of color and shade matching, light curing, periodontology, digital dentistry and more. It's the practicing dentist's complete guide to all aspects of operative dentistry. Four new chapters cover the areas of color and shade matching, light curing, periodontology, and digital dentistry. Expert Consult website with five supplemental chapters and procedure videos. Evidence-based approach is supported by extensive clinical and laboratory research. Comprehensive coverage provides a thorough understanding of caries and an authoritative approach to its treatment and prevention. Illustrated step-by-step approach offers a better picture of conservative restorative and preventive dentistry. Full color design clearly demonstrates techniques and details. NEW! Four new chapters cover the areas of color and shade matching, light curing, periodontology, and digital dentistry. NEW! Expert Consult website includes five additional online-only chapters, procedure videos, and references linked to PubMed. NEW! Updated content throughout integrates new knowledge that has emerged since publication of the previous edition.
Summitt’s Fundamentals of Operative Dentistry: A Contemporary Approach
McCracken's Removable Partial Prosthodontics by
The standard in prosthodontics for nearly 50 years, McCracken's Removable Partial Prosthodontics, 13th Edition walks readers through all the principles and concepts surrounding removable partial denture treatment planning and design that today's practitioners need to know. Using an evidence-based approach, this full-color text incorporates the latest information on new techniques, procedures, and equipment, including expanded information on dynamic communication and the use of implants with removable partial dentures. From initial contact with the patient to post-treatment care, McCracken's is the complete foundation today's dentists need to successfully practice prosthodontic care. A variety of philosophies and techniques are featured throughout the text, so readers can select and incorporate applicable techniques on a case-by-case basis. Full-color drawings and photographs give readers a detailed view of techniques, materials, and anatomic detail. Evidence-based approach uses current research to help readers diagnose, design, develop, and sequence a treatment plan. Expert guidance from both authors walks readers through the latest techniques as well as technological advances specific to removable partial dentures. NEW! Standardized removable partial denture designs offered for application to the major categories of patients seen in practice. NEW! Expanded information on the use of implants with removable partial dentures highlights considerations in treatment planning including the selection of implants and provision of care utilizing dental implants. NEW! More information on dynamic communication which incorporates the progress being made in shared decision making with patients, especially regarding decisions made in light of patient values and 'trade-off' considerations.
Removable Partial Denture Design: Outline Syllabus by 
Contemporary Fixed Prosthodontics by
Contemporary Fixed Prosthodontics, 4th Edition is a comprehensive, user-friendly text that offers dental students and practitioners an excellent opportunity to understand the basic principles of fixed prosthodontics. This text provides a strong foundation in basic science, followed by practical step-by-step clinical applications. Procedures are presented in an organized, systematic format, and are illustrated by over 3,000 clear, high-quality drawings and photographs, now in full-color. The material is logically divided into sections that cover planning and preparation, clinical procedures, and laboratory procedures. The text also includes two invaluable appendices that provide an updated list of dental materials and equipment, as well as a guide to manufacturers. Illustrated, full-color step-by-step procedures walk you through all the steps of treatment from the beginning to the final treatment result. Summary charts provide a quick, at-glance review of specific procedures (such as Class II inlay preparation and all-ceramic crown preparation), highlighting the indications, contraindications, advantages, disadvantages, preparation steps, recommended armamentarium, and criteria. Prosthodontic Diagnostic Index helps you determine the appropriate treatments for completely edentulous, partially edentulous, and dentate patients, using guidelines and illustrations from the American College of Prosthodontists. Text boxes accompany selected illustrations, presenting quick facts and tips relating to techniques or concepts. Study questions offer an opportunity to test your knowledge and comprehension at the end of each chapter. Useful appendices list dental materials, equipment, and manufacturers. NEW full-color photos and drawings enhance your understanding and comprehension of each topic, and show the newest instruments and equipment. NEW Periodontal Considerations chapter offers a new approach to comprehensive fixed prosthodontics treatment, covering the concepts and clinical modes of periodontal therapy available prior to the development of an appropriate diagnosis and treatment plan. NEW section on digital impression techniques describes how to create a virtual, computer-generated replica of the hard and soft tissues in the mouth using lasers and other optical scanning devices. NEW section on virtual articulators addresses the new software tool providing dynamic visualization of the occlusal surface, eliminating the need for a mechanical articulator, with modules discussing the contact of the occlusal surface of the maxilla and mandible and the relation to the condylar movement. NEW section on cone beam imaging allows clear visualization of osseous contours and bone volume, facilitating better decisions about the size of implant fixtures that realistically can be accommodated. NEW section on digital interim fixed restorations covers the fabrication of large multi-unit composite or polymethyl methacrylate external surface forms in advance for use with indirect/direct restorative techniques.
Fundamentals of Fixed Prosthodontics by
This edition has been updated to reflect new research, materials, and techniques in fixed prosthodontics. It is designed to serve as an introduction to restorative dentistry techniques using fixed partial dentures and cast metal, metal-ceramic, and all-ceramic restorations, providing the background knowledge needed by the novice and serving as a refresher for the practitioner or graduate student.
Management of Temporomandibular Disorders and Occlusion by
Covering both emerging and proven techniques in this dynamic area of oral health, Management of Temporomandibular Disorders and Occlusion, 8th Edition is the only textbook that guides you from basic anatomy and function to providing solutions to many common occlusal and TMD problems. Clear descriptions and a new full-color design promote a complete understanding of normal, abnormal, and dysfunctional occlusal relationships and masticatory function and dysfunction. A recognized industry-standard, this book's conservative, cost-effective approach, helps you learn how to achieve treatment goals while keeping the best interests of your patients in mind. Globally recognize TMD expert author Jeff Okeson details the most current and effective solutions around. Evidence-Based Practice focushelps you to put the information and techniques in this book into practice to better the lives and relieve the suffering of your patients. ? Logical organization of content includes functional anatomy, etiology and identification of disturbances, treatment of disturbances, and occlusal therapy. Full-color design provides more vivid clinical photos and illustrations. Robust Art Program allows you to fully understand normal occlusion and masticatory function and learn to recognize and help manage abnormalities in these areas. Clinical Comment boxes give you critical thinking points and instructions on how to apply these to everyday clinical practice. NEW! Updated content includes enhanced research evidence. NEW! Clinical Photo Updates in Examination Chapter differentiate and strengthen images from the current edition. NEW! Addition of Expert Consult Site furthers your understanding of treatment goals and outcomes.
Phillips' Science of Dental Materials by
Keep current with the evolving technology of dental materials! Phillips' Science of Dental Materials, 13th Edition provides comprehensive, up-to-date information on the materials used in cosmetic and restorative procedures in dentistry. It introduces the physical and chemical properties that are related to selection and use of dental biomaterials, including their composition, mechanical properties, manipulative variables, and the performance of dental restorations and prostheses. This edition adds three new chapters and hundreds of new full-color photographs. Written by dental scientists Chiayi Shen and H. Ralph Rawls along with prosthodontist Josephine Esquivel-Upshaw, this leading text/reference helps dentists select the right materials for oral procedures and helps dental labs ensure high-quality restorations. 500 full-color photos and illustrations show concepts, dental instruments, and restorations. Key terms are defined at the beginning of each chapter, covering terminology related to dental biomaterials and science. Critical thinking questions stimulate thinking and emphasize important concepts and principles. Logical, five-part organization of chapters makes the content easier to read and understand, with units on General Classes and Properties of Dental Materials, Direct Restorative Materials, Indirect Restorative Materials, Fabrication of Prostheses, and Assessing Dental Restorations. Balance between materials science and manipulation bridges the gap of knowledge between dentists and lab technicians. Major emphasis on biocompatibility serves as a useful guide to the principles and clinical implications of restorative materials safety. Diverse and respected pool of contributors lends credibility and experience to each dental science topic. NEW! Three new chapters are added: Digital Technology in Dentistry, In Vitro Research of Dental Materials, and Clinical Research of Restorations.
White and Pharoah's Oral Radiology: Principles and Interpretation by
Written specifically for dentists, White and Pharoah's Oral Radiology: Principles and Interpretation 8th Edition incorporates over 1,500 high-quality radiographic images and illustrations to demonstrate core concepts and essential principles and techniques of oral and maxillofacial radiology. The new edition of this bestselling book delivers with state-of-the-art information on oral radiology principles and techniques, and image interpretation. Dental student will gain a solid foundation in radiation physics, radiation biology, and radiation safety and protection before introducing including specialized techniques such as MRI and CT. As well, students will learn how to recognize the key radiographic features of pathologic conditions and interpret radiographs accurately. The 8th edition also includes new chapters on Radiologic Anatomy, Beyond 3D Imaging, and Diseases Affecting the Structure of Bone. A practical guide to using today's technology, this unique text helps your students provide state-of-the-art care! Over 1,500 high quality dental radiographs, full color photos, and illustrations clearly demonstrate core concepts and reinforce the essential principles and techniques of oral and maxillofacial radiology. Updated Extensive coverage of all aspects of oral and maxillofacial radiology includes the entire predoctoral curriculum. A wide array of radiographic images including advanced imaging such as MRI and CT. An easy-to-follow format simplifies the key radiographic features of each pathologic condition, including location, periphery, shape, internal structure, and effects on surrounding structures - placed in context with clinical features, differential diagnosis, and management. Expert contributors include many authors with worldwide reputations. Case studies apply imaging concepts to real-world scenarios. NEW! New editors Sanjay Mallya and Ernest Lam along with new contributors bring a fresh perspective on oral radiology. NEW! Chapter! Beyond 3D Imaging introduces applications of 3D imaging such as stereolithic models. NEW! Chapter Radiological Anatomy includes all radiological anatomy content allowing you to better visualize and understand normal appearances of structures on conventional and contemporary imaging, side-by-side. NEW! Coverage of Diseases Affecting the Structure of Bone consolidated into one chapter to simplify foundational basic science information and its applications to radiologic interpretation.
Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology by
See how to identify and effectively manage oral diseases! Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology, 4th Edition provides state-of-the-art information on the wide variety of diseases that may affect the oral and maxillofacial region. Over 1,400 radiographs and full-color clinical photos - that's more than any other reference - bring pathologies and conditions to life. New to this edition is coverage of the latest advances in diagnosis and disease management, plus topics such as hereditary dental anomalies and oral lesions associated with cosmetic fillers. Written by well-known oral pathology educators Brad Neville, Douglas Damm, Carl Allen, and Angela Chi, this market leader is your go-to reference for the care of patients with oral disease! Comprehensive contemporary overview of oral and maxillofacial pathology includes a brief description of each individual lesion or pathologic condition and the kind of pathologic process that it represents, followed by a discussion of its clinical and/or radiographic presentation, histopathologic features, and its treatment and prognosis. Over 1,400 radiographs and full-color clinical photos facilitate the identification and classification of lesions and disease states. Up-to-date concepts of pathogenesis and disease management help you understand the diseases that affect oral and maxillofacial structures, formulate an accurate diagnosis, and institute proper treatment. Logical organization by body system or disease process makes it easy to look up specific conditions. Comprehensive appendix on differential diagnosis organizes disease entities according to their most prominent or identifiable clinical features, helping you find and formulate differential diagnoses. Information on forensic dentistry, methamphetamine, and gene mutations addresses some of today's leading topics in oral pathology research. Differential diagnosis case studies on the Evolve companion website include correct answers and rationales, offering more opportunities to improve your identification skills and diagnostic competency. NEW cutting-edge content includes pathologies and conditions such as localized juvenile spongiotic gingival hyperplasia, oral lesions associated with cosmetic fillers, oropharyngeal carcinomas related to human papillomavirus (HPV), IgG4-related disease and mammary analogue secretory carcinomas, Globodontia, Lobodontia, Leishmaniasis, and Xanthelasma. Over 130 NEW full-color photos and over 40 NEW radiographs bring common and uncommon disease states more clearly to life.
Contemporary Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery by
One of the most respected dental surgery books in the world, Contemporary Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, 7th Edition helps you develop skills in evaluation, diagnosis, and patient management. This comprehensive text on oral surgery procedures features full-color photographs and drawings that show how to perform basic surgical techniques, including an overview of more advanced surgical procedures and the latest developments in dental implants, instrumentation, and current technology. A detailed patient evaluation section includes guidelines on when to refer patients to specialists and how to provide supportive postoperative care. New to this edition is a chapter focusing on anesthesia in greater depth than any of the previous editions. Written by well-known OMS educators James R. Hupp, and Edward Ellis III, and Myron R. Tucker, this book is a valuable reference for dentistry and dental hygiene students alike! UPDATED! Chapter, Contemporary Implant Dentistry, includes new and updated implant surgical techniques and virtual planning. UPDATED! Chapter, Treatment of Complex Implant Cases, features new and updated cases requiring more complex treatment, including bone augmentation surgery in combination with implants. UPDATED! Coverage of Management of Sinus Disease updated outline of the fundamental principles for evaluation and treatment of the patient with sinus disease, including endoscopic therapy. UPDATED! Coverage of Management of Medication-related Osteonecrosis of the Jaw outlines the fundamental principles for evaluation and treatment of the patient. UPDATED! Facial Cosmetic Surgery chapter is organized by nonsurgical and surgical procedures, covering popular procedures such as dermal fillers, botox, facial resurfacing, browlift and forehead procedures, blepharoplasty, rhinoplasty, and rhytidectomy. UPDATED! Content on implants, new instruments, and the latest technology help you treat your patients more effectively. Basic techniques of evaluation, diagnosis, and medical management described in enough detail to facilitate immediate clinical application. Excellent instrumentation chapter covers a wide variety of instruments and tray set-ups that OMS surgeons use. Complex Exodontia chapter describes techniques for surgical tooth extraction, including the principles of flap design, development, management, and suturing, as well as open extraction of single- and multi-rooted teeth, multiple extractions, and concomitant alveoloplasty. Hundreds of detailed, close-up photographs of intraoperative sites clarify textual descriptions Coverage of complex OMS procedures give you a basic understanding of what you will face later in advanced OMS cases. NEW! Chapter, Anesthesia in Dentistry focuses on anesthesia in greater depth than any of the previous editions including local anesthesia and nitrous oxide sedation. NEW! Expert Consult TM eBook version included with purchase allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
The Suture Book: the Definitive Guide to Dental Suturing and Surgical Flap Closure by 
The ADA Practical Guide to Patients with Medical Conditions by
With new medications, medical therapies, and increasing numbers of older and medically complex patients seeking dental care, all dentists, hygienists, and students must understand the intersection of common diseases, medical management, and dental management to coordinate and deliver safe care. This new second edition updates all of the protocols and guidelines for treatment and medications and adds more information to aid with patient medical assessments, and clearly organizes individual conditions under three headings: background, medical management, and dental management. Written by more than 25 expert academics and clinicians, this evidence-based guide takes a patient-focused approach to help you deliver safe, coordinated oral health care for patients with medical conditions. Other sections contain disease descriptions, pathogenesis, coordination of care between the dentist and physician, and key questions to ask the patient and physician.
Little and Falace's Dental Management of the Medically Compromised Patient by
Learn how to provide dental care to any patient, regardless of existing medical conditions. Little and Falace's Dental Management of the Medically Compromised Patient, 9th Edition, has been thoroughly revised to give you the information you need to assess common problems, and make safe and healthy dental management decisions. The new addition includes expanded coverage of women's health issues and introduces a process for developing a medical-risk source. Also, each chapter features vivid illustrations and well-organized tables to give you in-depth details and overall summaries to help you get to the root of your future patients' needs. Logical organization of conditions makes it easy for you to understand and follow the material as you prepare to treat patients. Standardized assessment process helps you to ascertain the severity and stability of common medical disorders. Dental management summary table summarizes important factors for consideration in the dental management of medically compromised patients. Over 400 color images provide a visual guide and highlight key information. Dental management box in each chapter allows you to locate key information for evaluating a medically compromised patient. NEW! Thoroughly revised content provides you with the most current, evidence-based information you need to make dental management decisions. NEW! Evidence-based process for creating a medical-risk score enables you to determine whether the benefit of treatment outweighs the risk of a complication. NEW! Expanded coverage of women's health issues addresses issues specific to women that can impact dental management.
Little and Falace's Dental Management of the Medically Compromised Patient by
Little and Falace's Dental Management of the Medically Compromised Patient, 10th Edition, is thoroughly revised to provide the information needed to assess common problems and make safe dental management decisions. This new edition contains revised content on Cancer and Women's Health and includes an enhanced ebook plus patient-based practice questions with print purchase. Also, each chapter features informative illustrations and well-organized tables to provide you with in-depth details and overall summaries required for understanding and applying medical concepts in dentistry. NEW! Thoroughly revised content provides the most current, evidence-based information you need to make dental management decisions. UPDATED! Information correlating to the revised INBDE exam prepares you for the boards. NEW! An ebook version is included with print purchase. The ebook allows you to access all the text, figures, and references, with the ability to search, customize content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud. Plus, patient-based questions are included. UPDATED! Revised coverage of Women's Health addresses issues specific to women that can impact dental management. NEW! Completely revised chapter on Cancer discusses essential considerations for the oral care of these patients. NEW! Key Points at the beginning of each chapter highlight important content to guide study efforts.
Medical Emergencies in the Dental Office by
Be prepared to prevent, recognize, and manage life-threatening medical emergencies! Medical Emergencies in the Dental Office, 8th Edition helps you learn the skills needed to manage health issues in the dental office or clinic. The text describes how to recognize and manage medical emergencies promptly and proactively and details the resources that must be on hand to effectively deal with these situations. Written by noted dentistry educator Dr. Stanley Malamed, this expert text includes the latest guidelines for drug-related emergencies, cardiac arrest, and more. An enhanced eBook is included with each new print purchase, featuring a complete, fully searchable version of the text, a test bank of 300 questions and answers, and much more - available on a variety of devices. Logical format reflects the way emergencies are encountered in a dental practice, with chapters organized by commonly seen clinical signs and symptoms, such as unconsciousness or altered consciousness, respiratory distress, seizures, allergic reactions, chest pain, and cardiac arrest. Step-by-step procedures include detailed, sequential instructions for stabilizing and treating patients (PCABD) in common medical emergencies. Full-color illustrations demonstrate emergency techniques with realistic clarity. Summary tables and boxes make it easy to find essential concepts and information. Quick-reference algorithms in the appendix include step-by-step diagrams showing the decision-making process in common emergency situations. A differential diagnosis chapter ends each of the book's parts on common emergencies. An enhanced eBook version is included with each new print purchase, featuring a fully searchable version of the text, an image collection, a test bank of 300 questions and answers, and more! UPDATED content includes the most current guidelines for drug-related emergencies, unconsciousness, altered consciousness, and cardiac arrest as well as protocols for obstructed airway management. UPDATED PCABD boxes reflect the American Heart Association's algorithm for stabilizing and treating victims with an easy-to-remember acronym (PCABD): Positioning, Circulation, Airway, Breathing, and Definitive Management. UPDATED! Emergency drug and equipment kit instructions help you assemble emergency kits and ensure that your dental office has safe, current materials on hand.
Endodontics by
From renowned endodontics experts Mahmoud Torabinejad, Ashraf Fouad, and Shahrokh Shabahang comes Endodontics: Principles and Practice, 6th Edition. This focused and extensively revised new edition contains all the clinically-relevant information needed to incorporate endodontics into general dentistry practice. Illustrated step-by-step guidelines and vivid online videos address the ins and outs of diagnosis, treatment planning, managing pulpal and periapical diseases, and performing basic root canal treatments. Updated evidence-based coverage also includes topics such as the etiology of disease, local anesthesia, emergency treatment, obturation, and temporization. It's the perfect endodontics guide for both entry-level dental students and general dentists alike. Well-known, international contributors share guidelines, expertise, and their clinical experience with contemporary technologies and procedures. Authoritative, visually detailed coverage provides a practical understanding of basic endodontic principles and procedures, including pulpal and periapical diseases and their management. Clinically-relevant organization reflects the order in which procedures are performed in clinical settings, enhancing your understanding of the etiology and treatment of teeth with pulpal and periapical diseases. Over 1,000 full-color illustrations ensure a clear, accurate understanding of procedures, and include radiographs and clinical photographs. Learning objectives help you meet the theoretical and procedural expectations for each chapter. More than 67 video clips located on the companion website demonstrate essential procedures. NEW! Sharper focus on the most clinically relevant content eliminates much of the basic science that you have already studied and focuses on the information and skills that are most-needed during clinical practice. NEW! Fully updated, evidence-based content integrates the best clinical evidence with the practitioner's clinical expertise and the patient's treatment needs and preferences. NEW! Expert Consult access is included via a unique pin-code to make the text relevant for both practitioners and students alike. NEW! Mid-chapter questions check your understanding of the concept before moving onto the next topic.
McDonald and Avery's Dentistry for the Child and Adolescent by
Get the expert knowledge you need to provide quality oral care to pediatric patients! Trusted for more than 50 years, McDonald and Avery's Dentistry for the Child and Adolescent, 11th Edition provides the latest diagnostic and treatment recommendations for infants, children, and adolescents. It covers topics ranging from pediatric examination and radiographic techniques to development and morphology of the primary teeth, dental caries, dental materials, and local anesthesia. Another point of emphasis is the management of patients with special medical issues. On the Expert Consult website, you'll find a fully searchable version of the entire text along with case studies and step-by-step procedure videos. From internationally known educator Jeffrey A. Dean, this resource provides everything you need to prepare for board certification and succeed in clinical practice. Comprehensive coverage of pediatric dentistry includes the treatment of deep caries, prosthodontics, occlusion, trauma, gingivitis and periodontal disease, cleft lip and palate, facial esthetics, and medically compromised patients. More than 1,000 illustrations show oral structures and conditions along with dental procedures. Five major areas of focus help you organize your thinking and practice around key clinical concepts: diagnoses, caries and periodontology, pain control, oral growth and development, and management of special medical issues. Expert Consult website includes fully searchable access to the text, plus videos and case studies. Diverse and respected team of authors contribute chapters on their areas of expertise. Global readership includes translations of the text into seven different languages. NEW! Updated content includes a new section on sleep apnea, plus COVID-19 in children, pain management, dental bleaching, a minimalist approach to restorative dentistry, the latest dental materials, new pulp recommendations, community dentistry, patient-centered care, preventive orthodontic treatment, the use of silver diamine fluoride, and vaping with its oral implications. NEW! Additional patient cases and questions are included in the book and website. NEW! Procedure videos plus updates of existing videos are added to the Expert Consult website. NEW authors contribute updated and unique chapters throughout the book.
Pediatric Dentistry by
Provide superior oral and dental care to children of all ages! Pediatric Dentistry: Infancy through Adolescence Expert Consult, 6th Edition provides comprehensive coverage of oral care for infants, children, teenagers, and medically compromised pediatric patients. Organized by age group, the text covers examination, diagnosis, and treatment planning, as well as topics such as the prevention of dental disease, traumatic injuries, orthodontics, and restorative dentistry. From a team of accomplished authors and contributors led by Arthur J. Nowak, this edition includes a new Expert Consult website featuring case studies and procedural videos along with a fully searchable version of the text. UNIQUE! Age-specific organization separates sections and chapters by age group to cover specific changes the child experiences physically, cognitively, emotionally, and socially. Fundamentals of Pediatric Dentistry section covers basic information on children of all ages, including topics such as local and systemic diseases, pediatric physiology, cariology, pain control, and medical emergencies. Coverage of current trends and challenges emphasizes the prevention of dental diseases and reflects pediatric dentistry as it is practiced today. UPDATED coverage of caries risk assessment in children reflects the evolution of evidence-based oral health care. More than 1,000 full-color photos and illustrations show dental conditions and treatments. NEW and UNIQUE! Expert Consult platform offers additional content and includes case studies along with procedural videos for practical, real-world application. NEW chapters cover cariology, pain control, and cleft lip and palate; other updates include infant oral health, pit and fissure sealants, regenerative endodontics, and the risk factors surrounding the transition from adolescence to adulthood. NEW! Greater diversity of contributors includes expert perspectives from all over the world. NEW! Expert Consult case studies are included in 33 chapters. NEW! Video clips of procedures are included in the Expert Consult case studies. NEW! Review questions and answers are included in the Expert Consult case studies, with three questions per case study.
IUPUI