Scholarly Publishing Guide

The EQUATOR (Enhancing the QUAlity and Transparency Of health Research) Network is an international initiative that seeks to improve the reliability and value of published health research literature by promoting transparent and accurate reporting and wider use of robust reporting guidelines. Click on individual publication types in the right-hand column.

This article discusses the essential components of a case report, with the aim of providing guidelines and tips to novice authors to improve their writing skills.

Covers "important considerations in writing quality improvement manuscripts with a focus on how it differs from writing traditional clinical research reports."

An attempt "to define the best practice recommendations for the preparation of a narrative review in clinical research".

The aim of this review is to analyze the main steps in writing a narrative biomedical review and to consider points that may increase the chances of success.

A general description of the process of moving a research project from completion to publication; we are describing the process of assigning authors, the drafting of the manuscript, the review process, and how to respond to comments received from reviewers and editors.

The goal of this commentary is to offer insights to review authors for improving the likelihood of publication success.

You want to tell a story by framing your scientific study as an irresistible mystery. Authored by IUSM's own Bill Sullivan.

Here we provide an overview of existing reporting guidelines for journal and conference abstracts, with the aim of raising awareness of their existence and potential benefits.

As meeting abstract reviewers, here we are writing to give you insights into the abstract review process and insiders' tips to help increase your chances of landing on that podium.

This article is based on a workshop the Academic Medicine editorial staff developed. The terminology and examples used are from Academic Medicine. However, you can apply these strategies to articles you’re writing for other journals, other scholarly publications, grant applications, conference abstracts, and more.

This brief for healthcare practitioners, junior faculty, and students provides general comments, details, nuances and tips and explains the various uses of the abstract for publications and presentations in the healthcare field.

Includes 6 modules: What makes a great paper? Elements of writing style, Titles and abstracts, From introduction to conclusion, Data management, and Data presentation [ACCESS: 1. Click on link, 2. Click on: Access through your institution, 3. Click on: Select your institution, 4. Click on: Indiana University - School of Medicine, 5. Authenticate with Duo, 6. Click on: Login]

Includes 5 modules: Understanding the elements of an effective research paper, Applying narrative tools to your research paper, Using the principles of scientific writing style for your research paper, Writing your research paper section by section, Finalising your research paper for submission [ACCESS: 1. Click on link, 2. Click on: Access through your institution, 3. Click on: Select your institution, 4. Click on: Indiana University - School of Medicine, 5. Authenticate with Duo, 6. Click on: Login]

Includes one module with 16 lessons with insights of five Nature Reviews journal editors. [ACCESS: 1. Click on link, 2. Click on: Access through your institution, 3. Click on: Select your institution, 4. Click on: Indiana University - School of Medicine, 5. Authenticate with Duo, 6. Click on: Login]

Authored by writing professor, George Gopen, and biochemist, Judith Swan, "some of the materials presented here were discussed and developed in faculty writing workshops held at the Duke University Medical School."

Ten simple rules to help you communicate the main idea of your paper. These rules are designed to make your paper more influential and the process of writing more efficient and pleasurable.

This essay is not about the mechanics of composing a paper, much of which has been covered elsewhere. Rather, it is about the principles and attitude that can help guide the process of writing in particular and research in general.

These articles cover: case reports, research proposals, posters, scientific articles, types of studies, etc.

The Scientific Article template is from Dr. William Tierney's class for Translational Science students. View the recording here.

Make a conscious effort to mitigate citation bias by citing diverse and intersectional perspectives in your work. See more at this guide from Dalhousie University Libraries.

This page on the University Library's Library DIY Guide has helpful hints for avoiding plagiarism.

TurnItIn provides a web-based plagiarism detection service, which can be used as a deterrent and as a tool to teach students how to work with sources.

IMPORTANT: if you use TurnItIn, remember to select "No Repository" (in Settings) when submitting your paper to Turnitin. This prevents the paper from being included in TurniItIn's repository, where it will then be used as part of the corpus to evaluate future submissions to Turnitin.