LibGuides: Scholarly Publishing Guide: Where to Publish/Present

Where to Present

Identify potential conferences and events for presentation.

Find out where colleagues and active researchers in your field are presenting.
Look at conferences put on by societies/associations in your field.
Don't forget campus and local/regional conferences in your field.
Make sure the host organization is authentic (not predatory).

June 2016 "How to choose a conference then write an abstract that gets you noticed"
The above list is from The Research Companion website by Petra, www.theresearchcompanion.com

Search for potential conferences and events:

Medical associations based in the United States (Wikipedia)
1. Find your related association(s). 2. Look on the website(s) for annual meeting or conference information. 3. Dig for abstract submission information.
Conference Listings (COMS)
1. Click on: Healthcare/Medicine. 2. Click on specific subject (on left side). 3. Select a location (near top). [Not all conferences will provide opportunities to present.]

Where to Publish

The resources below are commonly used to locate reputable places to publish.

Library Liaisons
At IUSM, each department has a personal librarian (aka liaison). You can make an appointment to meet with your librarian and talk about whatever questions you may have.
SPI-Hub: Scholarly Publishing Information Hub
Search keywords to find relevant journals and compare up to five titles in several categories.
Journal/Author Name Estimator (JANE)
JANE matches your title, abstract, or keywords to millions of documents in MEDLINE to help determine the best journals for your research.
EndNote Manuscript Matcher
Log in to your EndNote Basic account and click on the Match tab on the top of the screen.

Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory This link opens in a new window
Information on periodicals (active and ceased) including subjects and publication information. Tells you if a journal is peer-reviewed.

Article on where to publish from Annals of Neurology

Saper CB. Academic publishing, part II: Where to publish your work. Annals of neurology. 2014 Jul;76(1):1-4.

Publishers' Tools

Elsevier Journal Finder
"Every year, we accept and publish more than 250,000 journal articles. Publishing in an Elsevier journal starts with finding the right journal for your paper. If you already know which journal, you can enter the title directly in the Find a journal search box. Alternatively, you can match the abstract of your article to a journal."
Springer Journal Selector
The Springer Journal Suggester uses semantic technology to help you quickly choose the Springer journal that is right for your paper. Enter your abstract, description of your research, or a sample text and the Springer Journal Selector provides a list of relevant journals. You can refine the results based on requirements for Impact Factor or publishing model, including an option to match to journals that are fully open access or have open access options.

Subsidized Publishing Charges

IUPUI authors (including the IU School of Medicine) have access to a growing number of subsidized publishing charges. Sometimes these opportunities reflect agreements made by the Big Ten Academic Alliance (BTAA) on behalf of Indiana University. Currently, the IUPUI libraries (Ruth Lilly Medical Library, Ruth Lilly Law Library, IU School of Dentistry Library, and University Library) have not purchased OA publishing memberships or “transformative” publishing deals independent of the BTAA.

BMJ Case Reports

Submit to BMJ Case Reports
Our agreement covers the submission fee only. It DOES NOT cover Article Processing Charges (APCs) for open access. Click on the link above for guidance on how to use our subscription to submit your case report for free.

PLoS Medicine & PLoS Biology

PLOS Institutional Partnerships - "My institution is a member, how do I make sure I get my benefits?"
Be sure to list Indiana University in the institutional affiliation on the submission system, Editorial Manager. If your work is accepted for publication, PLOS will check this field and ensure that your benefits are applied to any publication fees.
PLOS - Submitting in Editorial Manager for APC-free publishing
6:21 mins. how-to video by PLOS

Wiley

Wiley - Open access agreement for authors at participating Big Ten Academic Alliance institutions
Corresponding authors affiliated with participating Big Ten Academic Alliance (BTAA) member universities may publish open access in any of Wiley's hybrid journals (subscription-based journals that offer an open access option) or Wiley or Hindawi fully open access journals without having to pay Article Processing Charges (APCs). Click link above for more information.

MDPI

MDPI - Institutional Open Access Program (IOAP)
Authors affiliated with participating universities receive up to one IOAP discount on the APC for any paper published in an MDPI journal which may be combined with reviewer vouchers. Click link above for more information.

Other Paths to Open Access

Open access publishing does not always depend on publishing fees. In fact, most open access journals are subsidized by universities and scholarly societies with no fees levied on authors or readers. Nearly 70% of the more than 17,000 journals in a broad range of disciplines indexed by the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) charge no fees to authors.

If you can not find a suitable, no-fee journal in the DOAJ, the IUPUI Open Access policy gives you the rights to make the accepted manuscript of any article that you (co)authored while employed as a faculty member at IUPUI open access in the institutional repository, IUPUI ScholarWorks. The IUPUI Open Access policy applies to all scholarly articles authored by IUPUI faculty since 2015 and does not require the payment of article processing charges.

However, if the journal that best suits your article is a for-fee, open access journal that is indexed in the DOAJ, and you do not have access to funds to cover the fee, before pulling the submission, you might try the following:

Ask the publisher for a fee waiver or discount.
Ask your scholarly society if they have membership programs or related discounts with the publisher.
Consult with your coauthors to see if their schools or universities have access to funds or other deals to support the cost of publication

Where not to Publish

Think. Check. Submit.
A guide to help researchers identify trusted journals. This guide was created with support from several well-known publishing groups.
Jocalyn Clark: How to avoid predatory journals—a five point plan
A post from the BMJ Opinion Blog.
Be iNFORMEd
Checklist designed to help researchers determine whether or not to publish in a journal. Created by the Duke University Medical Center Library & Archives.

Evaluating Open Access Titles/Publishers

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
A community-curated directory of peer-reviewed journals.
Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE)
Check the members list or COPE publishers, who have agreed to follow COPE Code of Conduct for Journal Editors.
Directory of Open Access Books
A peer-reviewed directory of open access books.