History of Medicine
Resources for researching, teaching, and learning about the history of medicine.
Historical Roster of Medical Schools in Indiana
Indiana's first state constitution provided for the establishment of a state medical school in Vincennes. It was not until 1903 that a serious effort to establish a public medical school resulted in the Indiana University School of Medicine.
The following is a list of the medical schools chartered in Indiana between 1806 and 2013:
- 1833 The Christian College at New Albany, chartered by John C. Bennett and Associates
- 1837-1838 Vincennes University Medical Department
- 1841-1856 La Porte University School of Medicine. Became Indiana Medical College in 1846
- 1849-1854 Medical College of Evansville. Suspended in 1854, reorganized in 1871, extinct in 1884
- 1849-1852 Indiana Central Medical College, Indianapolis. The Medical Department of Asbury College (now DePauw University)
- 1869-1878 Indiana Medical College, Indianapolis
- 1873-1909 Physiomedical College of Indiana, Indianapolis
- 1874-1878 College of Physicians and Surgeons of Indiana, Indianapolis
- 1876-1883 The Medical College of Fort Wayne
- 1878-1905 The Medical College of Indiana, formed by union of Indiana Medical College (1869-1878, see above) and the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Indiana (1874-1878, see above), Indianapolis
- 1878-1888 Indiana College of Medicine and Midwifery, Indianapolis
- 1879-1905 Central College of Physicians and Surgeons, Indianapolis
- 1879-1905 Fort Wayne College of Medicine
- 1880-1890 Indiana Eclectic Medical College, Indianapolis
- 1881-1900 Curtis Physiomedical Institute, Marion
- 1882-1886 Hospital Medical College of Evansville
- 1883-1886 Beach Medical College, Indianapolis
- 1890-1894 Eclectic College of Physicians and Surgeons, Indianapolis
- 1894-1897 American Medical College of Indianapolis
- 1897-1898 The University of Medicine, Indianapolis
- 1900-1908 Eclectic Medical College of Indiana, Indianapolis
- 1901-1918 Valparaiso University School of Medicine. Connection with the 1920-22 Chicago College of Medicine and Surgery, Chicago, and later with the Hahnemann Medical College of Chicago
- 1903-Present Indiana University School of Medicine, Indianapolis, Bloomington, Evansville, Fort Wayne, Muncie, Northwest (Gary), South Bend, Terre Haute, West Lafayette
- 1905-1908 Indiana Medical College, The School of Medicine of Purdue University, Lafayette
- 1906-1908 State College of Physicians and Surgeons, Indianapolis
- 2013-Present Marian University College of Osteopathic Medicine, Indianapolis
Source: Burton D. Myers, The History of Medical Education in Indiana (Bloomington, Ind.: Indiana University Press, 1956).
Publications About the History of Medical Education in Indiana
- An introductory lecture to a course on surgery : in the Indiana Medical College, session 1847-8 byCall Number: W87 S557i 1848Publication Date: 1848
- Address of Dr. John S. Bobbs, delivered at the opening of the Indiana Medical College, January 15, 1870Call Number: W9 A227 1870Publication Date: 1870
- Fort Wayne College of Medicine ... annual announcementPublication Date: 1895-1906
- The Medical College of Indiana catalogue ..., announcement ...Publication Date: 1896-1905
- The Medical Student byPublication Date: 1902-1908Issued by: Medical College of Indiana, Nov. 1902-Apr. 1905; Indiana Medical College, The School of Medicine of Purdue University, Oct. 1905-1908
- Indiana Medical College, the School of Medicine of Purdue University ... annual announcementPublication Date: 1906-1907
- The development of medical education in Indiana byCall Number: W18 B827d 1929Publication Date: 1929M.A. Thesis
- A Plan for the development of medical education in Indiana byCall Number: W18 P699 1964Publication Date: 1964
- Indiana University School of Medicine bibliographyPublication Date: 1965-1997Bibliography of publications by the faculty of the Indiana University School Medicine.
- Indiana University School of Medicine senior elective program course listingCall Number: W18 I392 1969-1980Publication Date: 1969-1980
- A History of the Evolution of Health Education as a Specialized Area of Professional Education in Indiana Colleges and Universities, 1816-1973 byCall Number: QT11AI6 S318h 1974FPublication Date: 1974H.S.D. Thesis, Indiana University
- The Indiana statewide medical education system: a progress report, 1980-1981 byCall Number: W 18 I39i 1980Publication Date: 1980
- Indiana University School of Medicine senior year program and elective course listingsCall Number: W18 I393 1981-1991Publication Date: 1981-1991
- Dr. Gatch as I knew him byCall Number: WZ100 G258B 1989Publication Date: 1989The author's recollections of Dr. Willis D. Gatch, Professor Emeritus of Surgery, Indiana University School of Medicine. Dr. Gatch served as the third Dean of the Indiana University School of Medicine from 1931 to 1946. Gatch’s primary accomplishment is the Gatch bed which closely resembles the adjustable hospital beds still in use today.
- Indiana University School of Medicine program and elective course listingsCall Number: W18 I394 1991-1999Publication Date: 1991-1999
- A Brief history of the Indiana University School of Medicine 1903-1993Call Number: W19 B853 1994Publication Date: 199490th Anniversary 1903-1993 Indiana University School of Medicine. History Committee: Glenn W. Irwin, Jr., M.D., chairman; George T. Lukemeyer, M.D.; Charles A. Bonsett, M.D.; William A. Spencer.
- Indiana, the state of tomorrow's medicine: the campaign for Indiana University School of MedicineCall Number: HG177.I6 I39 1994Publication Date: 1994
- The Indiana initiative : physicians for the 21st Century: draft final report byCall Number: W18 I39i 1996Publication Date: 1996
IUSM History Resources
The Indiana University School of Medicine by ISBN: 9780253050502Publication Date: 2021-03-01The Indiana University School of Medicine: A History tells the story of the school and its faculty and students in fascinating detail. Historian William Schneider draws on historical images and documents to recount how the school began life as the Medical Department in 1903, and later became the Indiana University School of Medicine, which was established as a full four-year school after merging with two private schools in 1908.
From AIDS to Population Health: How an American University and a Kenyan Medical School Transformed Healthcare in East Africa by ISBN: 9780253062765Publication Date: 2022-11-22This book explores the thirty-year history of a unique collaboration between the medical schools of Indiana University and Moi University in Kenya, as it progressed from combating the HIV/AIDS epidemic in East Africa to the building of a national plan to provide universal healthcare to all. The Academic Model Providing Access to Healthcare (AMPATH) program focuses on the medical education of healthcare professionals who are building communities that can take care of themselves. The overwhelming success of the AMPATH program and its continuing vibrant legacy today are showcased through dozens of striking photographs, telling interviews, and revealing anecdotes and encounters.
Women at Indiana University by ISBN: 9780253062451Publication Date: 2022-07-05The first in-depth look at how women have shaped the history and legacy of Indiana University. The following chapters pertain to the School of Medicine: Chapter 8, "Learning Human Anatomy: Women and the Changing Student Body at the Indiana University School of Medicine, 1907-2007" by Angela Bowen Potter; Chapter 10, "The Sharp Sword of the New Alliance": Edna Henry and The IU School of Social Work" by Katherine Badertscher (about the Social Service Department of IUSM)- History of the Medical Campus, Indianapolis, Indiana byPublication Date: 1949Published serially January, 1947-December, 1948, inc. Monthly Bulletin [of the] Indiana State Board of Health
- "This Important Trust": A History of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Indiana University School of Medicine and Medical Center, 1909-1992 byPublication Date: 1993A history of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Indiana University School of Medicine and Medical Center 1909-1992.
- The IU Physician byPublication Date: 1978Published on the occasion of the 75th anniversary of the Indiana University School of Medicine.
- Indiana University School of Medicine History TimelineLearn about the founding and early school history of IU School of Medicine, along with major research discoveries since the schools's inception.
- School of Medicine Records [IUPUI Special Collections & Archives]The collection consists of the records from the Indiana University School of Medicine. The bulk of the collection covers the years 1915-2009, with the largest portion coming from the years 1950-1999. Although there are gaps within the collection, the records provide the best overview of the development and history of the School of Medicine. The files are generally arranged in alphabetical order. The collection is divided into four series: Administrative Records, University Records, Faculty Records, and Audio Visual.
- History of the Indiana University School of Medicine Materials [IUPUI Special Collections & Archives]Includes accreditation reports; campus, department, and center histories; and oral history interviews with IUSM faculty and alumni.
- Indiana University School of Medicine Historic Photographs [Indiana Memory]Contains thousands of historic photographs of Indiana University School of Medicine faculty, alumni, classrooms, and events.
- "Cornerstones: The Foundation and Growth of the Indiana University School of Medicine (1908-1993)" [Video]Documentary by IUSM Medical Education Resources Program commemorating the 90th anniversary of the founding of the medical school; narrated by Glen Irwin.
- "The Origins of President Bryan's Medical School" by Walter J. DalyIndiana History Magazine Volume 98, Issue 4, December 2002
- History of the Indiana University School of Medicine [Video]Grand Rounds lecture delivered by Glenn W. Irwin, Jr., MD (Dean Emeritus of Indiana University School of Medicine and Chancellor of IUPUI) in 1997. Includes a brief narrative about Indiana University-Purdue University of Indianapolis.
- History of the IU Medical School, Part I [Video]Lecture delivered by William H. Schneider, PhD (Professor Emeritus, Department of History and Program in Medical Humanities, IUPUI) on October 17, 2018.
- The "Indiana Plan" for Expanding Medical Education Statewide, 1944-1994 [Video]Lecture delivered by Kevin Grau in 2014.
- Humble Beginnings-Lasting Value: The Evolution of the Electrocardiogram, and the Role of Indiana University School of Medicine in the Development of its Clinical Utility [Video]Lectured delivered by Eric S. Williams, MD on February 28, 2011.
- The Early History of Psychiatry at Indiana University School of Medicine [Video]Lecture delivered by Alan D. Schmetzer, MD (Professor Emeritus of Psychiatry, Indiana University School of Medicine) on January 13, 2015.
- Because I was Too Young: The Memories of a Distinguished Indiana Physician, Goethe Link [Video]Recording of a 1973 interview with Dr. Goethe Link (1879-1981). Dr. Link was a noted Indianapolis surgeon who specialized in the treatment of goiter and thyroid problems, developing many innovative surgical techniques for these conditions. He was also one of the founders of the Indiana University Medical School and practiced in the Indianapolis area until well into his eighties.
- The Wisest Man in the Valley [Video]A history of medical practice and medical education in Indiana from 1821 to 1909, leading to the foundation of the Indiana University School of Medicine.
IUSM M.D. Graduates By Year & Gender
This compilation relies on the reports the Indiana University School of Medicine (IUSM) sent to the American Medical Association (AMA) for its annual statistics on medical education.
It was compiled by Margaret Holloway and Nancy Eckerman of the Ruth Lilly Medical Library, September 2003 in honor of the IUSM Centennial.
Note: Figures are not official
|
Year of
Graduation |
Men
|
Women
|
Total Number of
M.D. Graduates |
|
1903
|
0
|
0
|
0
|
|
1904
|
0
|
0
|
0
|
|
1905
|
0
|
0
|
0
|
|
1906
|
0
|
0
|
0
|
|
1907
|
25
|
0
|
25
|
|
1908
|
73
|
1
|
74
|
|
1909
|
63
|
1
|
64
|
|
1910
|
56
|
3
|
59
|
|
1911
|
50
|
2
|
52
|
|
1912
|
43
|
2
|
45
|
|
1913
|
46
|
1
|
47
|
|
1914
|
20
|
2
|
22
|
|
1915
|
26
|
2
|
28
|
|
1916
|
34
|
0
|
34
|
|
1917
|
37
|
0
|
37
|
|
1918
|
35
|
0
|
35
|
|
1919
|
32
|
0
|
32
|
|
1920
|
46
|
2
|
48
|
|
1921
|
57
|
3
|
60
|
|
1922
|
33
|
0
|
33
|
|
1923
|
55
|
3
|
58
|
|
1924
|
67
|
3
|
70
|
|
1925
|
80
|
8
|
88
|
|
1926
|
79
|
1
|
80
|
|
1927
|
84
|
1
|
85
|
|
1928
|
89
|
3
|
92
|
|
1929
|
94
|
6
|
100
|
|
1930
|
103
|
0
|
103
|
|
1931
|
97
|
5
|
102
|
|
1932
|
88
|
6
|
94
|
|
1933
|
96
|
6
|
102
|
|
1934
|
110
|
6
|
116
|
|
1935
|
89
|
4
|
93
|
|
1936
|
107
|
1
|
108
|
|
1937
|
94
|
3
|
97
|
|
1938
|
86
|
1
|
87
|
|
1939
|
95
|
9
|
104
|
|
1940
|
83
|
10
|
93
|
|
1941
|
95
|
3
|
98
|
|
1942
|
98
|
10
|
108
|
|
Dec-42
|
112
|
2
|
114
|
|
Aug-43
|
102
|
4
|
106
|
|
Apr-44
|
118
|
6
|
124
|
|
Dec-44
|
109
|
1
|
110
|
|
1945
|
97
|
2
|
99
|
|
1946
|
177
|
6
|
183
|
|
1947
|
94
|
4
|
98
|
|
Jun-48
|
78
|
6
|
84
|
|
1949
|
74
|
7
|
81
|
|
1950
|
86
|
7
|
93
|
|
1951
|
102
|
4
|
106
|
|
1952
|
128
|
9
|
137
|
|
1953
|
127
|
7
|
134
|
|
1954
|
135
|
4
|
139
|
|
1955
|
129
|
2
|
131
|
|
1956
|
135
|
2
|
137
|
|
1957
|
132
|
7
|
139
|
|
1958
|
133
|
2
|
135
|
|
1959
|
136
|
4
|
140
|
|
1960
|
128
|
4
|
132
|
|
1961
|
130
|
5
|
135
|
|
1962
|
178
|
12
|
190
|
|
1963
|
148
|
5
|
153
|
|
1964
|
153
|
9
|
162
|
|
1965
|
155
|
8
|
163
|
|
1966
|
159
|
12
|
171
|
|
1967
|
172
|
10
|
182
|
|
1968
|
193
|
16
|
209
|
|
1969
|
167
|
17
|
184
|
|
1970
|
176
|
17
|
214
|
|
1971
|
197
|
17
|
214
|
|
1972
|
200
|
14
|
214
|
|
1973
|
205
|
17
|
222
|
|
1974
|
226
|
18
|
244
|
|
1975
|
224
|
36
|
260
|
|
1976
|
238
|
34
|
262
|
|
1977
|
234
|
52
|
286
|
|
1978
|
253
|
56
|
309
|
|
1979
|
243
|
47
|
290
|
|
1980
|
222
|
66
|
288
|
|
1981
|
229
|
72
|
301
|
|
1982
|
240
|
59
|
299
|
|
1983
|
200
|
75
|
275
|
|
1984
|
222
|
82
|
304
|
|
1985
|
209
|
86
|
295
|
|
1986
|
187
|
93
|
280
|
|
1987
|
186
|
89
|
275
|
|
1988
|
163
|
85
|
248
|
|
1989
|
181
|
79
|
259
|
|
1990
|
164
|
79
|
243
|
|
1991
|
177
|
69
|
246
|
|
1992
|
174
|
68
|
242
|
|
1993
|
163
|
84
|
247
|
|
1994
|
170
|
89
|
259
|
|
1995
|
162
|
96
|
258
|
|
1996
|
155
|
97
|
252
|
|
1997
|
158
|
103
|
261
|
|
1998
|
171
|
108
|
279
|
|
1999
|
172
|
89
|
261
|
|
2000
|
154
|
110
|
264
|
|
2001
|
163
|
98
|
261
|
|
2002
|
167
|
106
|
273
|
|
2003
|
157
|
106
|
263
|
|
2004
|
149
|
106
|
255
|
|
2005
|
147
|
115
|
262
|
|
2006
|
130
|
131
|
261
|
|
2007
|
179
|
129
|
308
|
| 2008 | 173 | 135 | 308 |
| 2009 | 181 | 141 | 322 |
| 2010 | 181 | 141 | 322 |
| 2011 | 180 | 148 | 328 |
| 2012 | 179 | 156 | 335 |
| 2013 | 191 | 153 | 344 |
| 2014 | 191 | 161 | 352 |
| 2015 | 218 | 159 | 377 |
|
Totals
|
14893
|
4363
|
19266
|
