Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Skip to main content

History of Medicine

Resources for researching, teaching, and learning about the history of medicine.

Rare Books & Publications

The History of Medicine Collection includes rare and early print books, bulletins, reports, periodicals, and other publications on various topics and in multiple languages ranging in date from 1542 to the present.

Pepper, System of Medicine

All of the following collection statistics were current as of July 2020.

Publications By Subject (Using National Library of Medicine/Library of Congress Subject Headings)

Publications By NLM/LC Subject Headings

 

Publications By Country of Origin

Publications by Country

 

Publications By Date (Century)

Publications by Date

 

 

 

Artifacts

The History of Medicine Collection includes a significant number of medical instruments including microscopes, stethoscopes, surgical kits, and other artifacts documenting the history of medical practice from the 18th century to the present.

Surgeon's Kit

The majority of these artifacts can be found in two collections:

 

Some of these artifacts have been digitized using 3D scanning technology and can be viewed in the History of Medicine 3D Exhibit Gallery.

Archival Records and Manuscripts

The History of Medicine Collection his home to a variety of primary sources including archival records, manuscripts, and personal papers created by Indiana University School of Medicine faculty and alumni, researchers, professional organizations, advocates, and practitioners in the medical and health care professions.

The finding aids (collection guides) describing the contents of these collections can be viewed in Indiana University's Archives Online database.

Audio and Video Recordings (Digital)

The majority of audiovisual recordings in the History of Medicine Collection have been digitized and made available for online streaming. Due to copyright restrictions, some resources may require users to log in with their Indiana University credentials to view the content.

Video recordings of dissections and surgical procedures intended for medical student education from the Ruth Lilly Medical Library's History of Medicine Collection and other units within the library. Some of the videos in this collection contain material that may be harmful or traumatizing to some audiences.

Contains historical audio and video recordings from the Ruth Lilly Medical Library's History of Medicine Collection and other units within the library.

Contains recordings of lectures and other presentations on history of medicine and medical humanities topics hosted and/or sponsored by the Ruth Lilly Medical Library and its partner organizations including the John Shaw Billings History of Medicine Society, IUPUI Medical Humanities and Health Studies Program, and the Indiana University School of Medicine's History of Medicine Student Interest Group.

Contains recordings of lectures and other presentations on history of medicine and medical humanities topics hosted and/or sponsored by the Ruth Lilly Medical Library and its partner organizations including the John Shaw Billings History of Medicine Society, IUPUI Medical Humanities and Health Studies Program, and the Indiana University School of Medicine's History of Medicine Student Interest Group.

Program, and the Indiana University School of Medicine's History of Medicine Student Interest Group.

Contains Recordings of lectures and other presentations sponsored by the Indiana University School of Medicine.

History of Medicine Journals (Print & Digital)

Locating History of Medicine Materials in IUCat

To locate books, journals, artifacts, and audiovisual recordings from the History of Medicine Collection in IUCat, use the Advanced Catalog Search feature and limit the results by selecting "Ruth Lilly Medical Library (IUPUI) - History of Medicine" under Collection on the left side of the screen.

IUCat search for HOM materials

Locating History of Medicine-Related Articles in PubMed

PubMed contains citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books (1946-present). To locate articles, reviews, and other resources on history of medicine topics, include the MeSH subject heading "History of Medicine" along with your search term (e.g., "psychiatry") in the query.

PubMed search query

Alternatively, to retrieve additional results, you can include the MeSH subheading "History" along with your search term (e.g., "psychiatry") in the query.

PubMed search query