Skip to main content

The IUPUI University Library building will be closed until further notice. Library services will continue virtually.

Find up-to-date information on new and ongoing virtual library services.

Africana Studies

Resources for doing research in Africana Studies

Electronic Reference Sources

Electronic Reference Sources

Having trouble finding a topic for a paper? Need help researching a topic? Try These!

Below is a selected list of general electronic reference sources that University Library has to offer. All of these sources and others can be located on the IUPUI University Library homepage under the alphabetically listed Resources by Title section.

Print Reference Materials

Below is a selected list of some of the more useful African-American Studies reference sources. Check IUCAT for more options. Keep in mind that you can search for a topic and add the terms Handbooks, manuals, etc.; Dictionaries; Encyclopedias; or Bibliography to your search. If you need to find an e-book, you can also add the keywords electronic resource. For help with searching IUCAT, please see Books/DVDs/CDs/Videos or Reference Help.

Print Reference Materials

These sources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, bibliographies, indexes, handbooks, etc.) were chosen because they are usually excellent starting points for further research, rather than being quick-reference titles. All contain either bibliographies and or bibliographic notes. Some contain primary sources and most are indexed. These references are well-designed and easy-to-use.

Note: All materials listed are found in the Reference Room and are listed in order by Library of Congress call number.

Print Reference Materials

African American Religious Cultures / Anthony B. Pinn
BL2500 .A37 2009

The Malcolm X Encyclopedia / Robert L. Jenkins
BP223 .Z8 L573 2002

Africana / Kwame Anthony Appiah and Henry Louis Gates, Jr.
DT14 .A37435 2005 v.1-v.5

African-American Culture and History: A Student's Guide / Jack Salzman
E185 .A2527 2001 v.1-v.4

The New York Public Library African-American Desk Reference / Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
E185 .A2528 1999

The African-American Encyclopedia
E185 .A253 2001 v.1-v.10

Atlas of African-American History / James Ciment
E185 .C55 2007

The Routledge Atlas of African-American History / Jonathan Earle
E185 .E125 2000

Encyclopedia of African-American History: 1619-1895 / Paul Finkelman
E185 .E545 2006 v.1-v.3

Encyclopedia of Black Studies / Molefi Kete Asante and Ama Mazama
E185 .E554 2005

The Harvard Guide to African-American History / Evelyn Brooks Higginbotham
E185 .H326 2001

Historical Statistics of Black America / Jessie Carney Smith and Carrell Peterson Horton
H543 1995 v.1-v.2

The African-American Years: Chronologies of American History and Experience / Gabriel Burns Stepto
E185 .S797 2003

G.K. Hall Index to Black Periodicals 2004 / G.K. Hall
E185.5 .I52 2004

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Civil Rights / Charles D. Lowery and John F. Marszalek
E185.61 .E54 2003 v.1-v.2

Historical Dictionary of the Civil Rights Movement / Ralph E. Luker
E185.61 L84 1997

Black Women in America / Darlene Clark Hine
E185.86 .B542 2005 v.1-v.3

Notable Black American Men / Jessie Carney Smith
E185.86 .N68 1999

Who's Who Among African Americans / Allan Hornsby, Jr.
E185.96 .W52 2004

African-American National Biography / Henry Louis Gates, Jr. and Evelyn Brooks-Higgenbotham
E185.96 .A4466 2008
 
Encyclopedia of Slave Resistance and Rebellion / Junius P. Rodriguez
E447 .E53 2007
 
Encyclopedia of African American Education / Kofi Lomotey
LC2771 .E63 2010
 
International Dictionary of Black Composers / Samuel A Floyd, Jr.
ML105 .I5 1999 v.1-v.2
 
Historical Dictionary of African American Cinema / S. Torriano Berry and Venise T. Berry
PN1995.9 .N4 B433 2007

African-American Films through 1959: A Comprehensive, Illustrated Filmography / Larry Richards
PN1995.9 .N4 R54 1998

African-American Newspapers and Periodicals: A National Bibliography / James P. Danky and Maureen E. Hady
PN4882.5 .A37 1998

Afro-American Publications and Editors 1827-1946 / Vilma Raskin Potter
PN4882.5 .P677 1993

Encyclopedia of the Harlem Renaissance / Aberjhani and Sandra L. West
PS153 .N5 A24 2003

African American Writers / Valerie Smith
PS153 .N5 A344 2001 v.1-v.2

African American Writers: A Dictionary / Sherri Dorantes Hatch and Michael R. Strickland
PS153 .N5 A3444 2000

Encyclopedia of African-American Literature / Wilfred Samuels
PS153 .N5 E48 2007

African American Literature / Hans Ostrom and J. David Macey, Jr.
PS153 .N5 G73 2005 v.1-v.5

Harlem Renaissance: A Gale Critical Companion / Janet Witalec
PS153 .N5 H245 2003 v.1-v.3

Oxford Companion to African American Literature / William L. Andrews, Frances Smith Foster, and Trudier Harris
PS153 .N5 O96 1997

Contemporary Black American Playwrights and Their Plays: A Biographical Directory and Dramatic Index / Bernard L. Peterson, Jr.
PS153 .N5 P34 1988

Early Black American Playwrights and Dramatic Writers: A Biographical Directory and Catalog of Plays, Films, and Broadcasting Scripts / Bernard L. Peterson, Jr.
PS153 .N5 P44 1990

Harlem Renaissance and Beyond / Lorraine Elena Ross and Ruth Elizabeth Randolph
PS153 .N5 R65 1990b

Writing African American Women Literature: An Encyclopedia of Literature by and about Women of Color / Elizabeth Ann Beaulieu
PS153 .N5 W756 2006 v.1-v.2

African Americans in the Military / Catherine Reef
U52 .R42 2010
 
African Americans in Science: An Encyclopedia of People and Progress / Charles W. Carey
Q141 .C2138 2008