Scholarly Concentrations
Kellie Kaneshiro
975 West Walnut St. IB 100
Indianapolis, IN 46202-5121
About this Page
This page contains resources that are intended to be helpful with the Scholarly Concentration project and product.
Please refer to the Scholarly Concentration Canvas site for the most up to date list of required readings and materials for other courses.
If you have any questions or feedback for this guide, please contact Kellie Kaneshiro, AMLS.
- https://rural.indiana.edu/news/2020-covid-resources.htmlFrom the Indiana Center for Rural Engagement. State focused Resources
- Rural Response to the Coronavirus Disease
From the Rural Health Information Hub (RHIhub) includes resources, funding & opportunities, news, events, rural innovations, state responses.
Finding Articles
Looking for scholarly articles on Rural Health? Keywords to consider in your search: rural, non-urban, nonurban, micropolitan, and non-metro. Also consider groups such as farmer, farmers if applicable, and words such as agriculture, agricultural, agrarian.
Resources needed for rural health topics span a wide range of disciplines: medicine, public health, sociology, psychology, health policy and medical anthropology.
Branching out? Looking for databases on sociology, social work, nursing, and other topics? Ask your librarian or visit the databases link on the Medical Library webpage or the IUPUI University Library webpage. Also consider the "grey literature" which includes materials such as papers, reports from professional and government entities, conference abstracts and papers, dissertations and theses. The Rural Health Information Hub would be a good resource, or start with the specific professional organization or government entity. Need statistics? Check the Organizations Section.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowIndex to articles covering all aspects of medicine. Developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). Having trouble accessing the full text of an article? Read below.
- JSTORJSTOR is a journal repository covering a wide range to subjects including: medicine, allied health, health policy, public health and the social sciences. It also includes business, law, sciences and the arts and humanities. Try advanced search or the text analyzer to narrow your search.
- Literature Searching Resources compiled by the Rural Health Information HubRecommended for browsing. If you have a specific topic in mind, try the "narrow by topic option!"
- RHIHub's RSS feeds, email newsletters, custom alertsStay updated on your state, topic, events, funding, news about rural health.
- ScienceDirectSearch Elsevier published journals and book chapters.
- Web of Science (ISI Web of Knowledge)A multidisciplinary science database, cited reference searching is also available.
- Opiate Addiction and TreatmentInterested in the Opioid crisis? Visit the Guide.
Journals
Selected List of Journals in Rural Health, to see all of the journals the library subscribes to, please use the A-Z eJournal list, Browzine or IUCat, the online catalog for the IU Libraries. Need an article from a journal that the library does not subscribe to or cannot locate fulltext? Contact Medical Library's Content Management and Delivery team.
- Rural Health QuarterlyCurrently not https 4/22/2019
Books
The Medical Library has access to thousands of eBooks. The quickest way to check to see if an eBook is available is to visit the link below and do a title search or use IUCat. IU School of Medicine users should have access to Ruth Lilly Medical Library eBooks and IUPUI University eBooks
Agricultural Medicine by ISBN: 9781118647356Publication Date: 2016Introduces specific occupational and environmental health and safety issues faced by agricultural workers and rural residents, and provides a roadmap to establishing sustainable worker and public health support in agricultural communities.
Rural Public Health by ISBN: 9780826108944Publication Date: 2014Comprehensive review of issues in rural healthcare, including both obstacles and ways to begin to overcome them. Covers specific diseases and disorders faced by rural populations, and promising community health approaches and preventive measures.
Rural Populations and Health by ISBN: 9781118004302Publication Date: 2012Overview of the critical issues surrounding rural health that offers a strong theoretical and evidence-based rationale for rectifying rural health disparities in the United States.
Rural Medical Education by ISBN: 9781611226492Publication Date: 2011Doctors continue to be poorly prepared for the challenges they face in rural and remote practice. This book offers a wide range of strategies for meeting education delivery challenges in the key areas of rural and remote workforce preparation.
The Country Doctor Revisited by ISBN: 9781606350614Publication Date: 2010Collection of essays, poems, and short stories written by rural health care professionals that explore the benefits and burdens of new technology, the dilemmas in making ethically sound decisions, and the trials of caring for patients in a broken system.
Need a book and can't find it in the Library's collection?
Request a book loan through the Ruth Lilly Medical Library's Content Management and Delivery Department (currently only print books (and not ebooks) may be requested through this ILLiad service. Not in Indianapolis? No problem, books will be sent to you.
Requests may be made via the Content Management and Delivery Department Login to the ILLiad system using your IU School of Medicine computer account, you'll be asked to enter some profile information. Select Request Book in the upper left corner, enter in the information and submit. Once your profile is set up- requests may be made using the system OR emailing rlmlill@iu.edu. For questions please contact rlmlill@iu.edu or 317-274-7184.
Scholarly Projects, Research, and Publishing Resources
- Presentation Skills Toolkit for Medical StudentsThe Undergraduate Medical Education Section of the Group on Educational Affairs developed this toolkit as a resource for medical students and health professions trainees as you learn to create and give effective presentations in the classroom, in the clinical setting, and at academic meetings and conferences.
- Scholarly Publishing GuideThis guide is intended to assist scholars early in their publishing career.
- IUSM Research Compliance Research GuideThis guide contains information about the NIH mandate, open access, and data management policies.
- Scholarly Impact Research GuideThis guide contains information on where to publish as well as ways to determine the impact of scholarly products.
- Research Data ServicesThis guide provide resources and services for managing data during each step of the research process.
- ORCIDProvides a persistent digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher.
Writing Templates
- Generic Article templateA template for writing a typical scientific article. Created by Dr. Peter J. Kaboli. Document is public domain.
- Quality Improvement Article TemplateA writing template for a quality improvement article using SQUIRE guidelines. Created by Dr. Peter J. Kaboli. Document is public domain.
- Scientific Article template (tabular format)A template in tabular format for writing scientific clinical articles. Posted with permission from Dr. William M. Tierney.
- Writing Papers for Peer-Reviewed Journals (class recording)The Scientific Article template is from Dr. William Tierney's class for Translational Science students. View the recording here.
Organizations and Other Resources
Organizations often publish documents that are useful to their membership. Worth checking, in addition to the traditional journal and book literature. DO NOT MISS the Rural Health Information Hub and the Rural Health Research Gateway.
Indiana Rural Health Agencies, Associations, and Centers
- Indiana State (Statistics) GuideMaintained by the Rural Health Information Hub - provides statistical snapshot of the state, with links to other resources.
National
- Statistics and Data on Rural HealthA guide to finding statistics and data on rural health from the Rural Health Information Hub.
- Rural Health Information Hub (RHIhub)Your First STOP for Rural Health INFORMATION besides this guide! This is an information rich site - if you're looking to plan, develop, learn, or connect...this is a great website to check out. Start by learning about the Hub!
- Agricultural Safety (NIOSH, Centers for Disease Control) Information including publications and statistics.
Other Funding Opportunities
- Community of Science (CoS) Pivot This link opens in a new windowProvided through IUPUI Office of the Vice Chancellor of Research. Comprehensive world-wide database of funding opportunities, field experts, and collaborators. Save your search and receive alerts.
First-time users need to Access Pivot-RP using Institution's Credentials (Shibboleth) - search for "Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis" in the drop-down menu. You will then be prompted to create a Pivot-RP account using your university email address
- Federal Grants (grants.gov)Search: Quality Innovation
Limit to: Grant, Public and State controlled institutions of higher education - Funding & Proposals: Finding and Requesting FundingInformation from Indiana University's Office of the Vice President for Research.
- Indiana University Internal Funding OpportunitiesYou can use this page to search for internal funding by campus and/or category.
- Indiana University External Funding OpportunitiesYou can apply for internal funding or external funding. Be aware that some external agencies set a limit on the number of proposals or pre-proposals an institution may submit. In those cases, you must follow IU’s limited submission process before applying.
- Indiana University Limited SubmissionsSome funding agencies restrict the number of proposals an institution may submit to a particular funding program. These opportunities are referred to as limited submissions. Some programs are limited by institution (i.e., X proposals allowed for the entire university), some by campus, some by school.
Grant Writing Handbook for Nurses and Health Professionals by ISBN: 9780826141446Publication Date: 2018For new grant writers and seasoned health researchers, educators, and clinicians alike, this text illuminates the process of writing a persuasive request for funding from start to finish. Includes key information about grant mechanisms and a fresh focus for foundation and corporate grants.
Rural Funding Opportunities
- Indiana Funding OpportunitiesProvided by the Rural Health Information Hub (RHIhub)
- Funding by Topic (not limited to Indiana)Provided by the Rural Health Information Hub
- Funding and Opportunities by TypeProvided by the Rural Health Information Hub