High-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more. Log in via CAS popup window to start each session.
Embase is a biomedical research and literature database with over 32 million records for biomedical and pharmacological articles and conference proceedings from 1947 to the present. It covers over 8,500 journals from over 95 countries, including over 2,900 indexed journals unique to Embase.
Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is an online journal devoted to publishing scientific research in a visual format (video-based). This publication aims to solve some of the most difficult problems in contemporary life science research: low transparency and reproducibility of biological experiments, and time-consuming learning of experimental techniques. JoVE sections include Biochemistry, Bioengineering, Biology, Developmental Biology, Immunology & Infection, Medicine and Neuroscience.
PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).
Interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed Open Access journal that aims to bring together high-quality basic, translational and clinical research as well as public global health issues across biomedical fields to focus on interdisciplinary work at the forefront of medicine.
Open access, peer-reviewed journal that encompasses all fundamental and molecular aspects of basic medical sciences, emphasizing on providing the molecular studies of biomedical problems and molecular mechanisms
The Medical Library has access to thousands of eBooks. The quickest way to check to see if an eBook is available is to visit one of the links below and do a title search or use IUCat.
This text introduces students to the principles of evidence-based medicine that will help them develop and apply methods of clinical observation in order to form accurate conclusions. The updated sixth edition reflects the most current approaches to clinical epidemiology, including the latest coverage of modeling and expanded insight on applying concepts to clinical practice, with updated, clinical vignette-style end-of-chapter questions to help strengthen students' understanding and ensure a confident transition to clinical settings.
Practical guide for doctors, nurses, pharmacists, and other health professionals involved in all forms of clinical, translational, and public health research. Suggests common sense approaches to the challenging judgments involved in designing, funding, and implementing.
The text covers the entire research process from formulating a study question and selecting a study approach to collecting and analyzing data and then disseminating the findings. Chapters about methods for primary studies (collecting new data), secondary analyses (analyzing existing data), and tertiary studies (conducting literature reviews and meta-analyses) provide comprehensive coverage of the scope of health research.
This Book Introduces optimal experimental design in an accessible format. Provides guidelines for practitioners to increase the efficiency of their designs, and demonstrates how optimal designs can reduce a study's costs. Discusses the merits of optimal designs and compares them with commonly used designs.
This book presents a road map for applying the stages in conceptualization, evaluation, and testing of biomedical devices in a systematic order of approach, leading to solutions for medical problems within a well-deserved safety limit.
Research Training in the Biomedical, Behavioral, and Clinical Research Sciences discusses a number of important issues, including: the job prospects for postdocs completing their training; questions about the continued supply of international postdocs in an increasingly competitive world; the need for equal, excellent training for all graduate students who receive NIH funding; and the need to increase the diversity of trainees.
This book aims to provide useful tips for the understanding of scientific research processes and practical advice for people engaged in this field. The author emphasizes the unique traits and qualifications required for performing scientific research and also describes the different modalities which can be performed in our actual scientific environment.
Translational Biology in Medicine begins with an introduction to experimental model systems for disease, such as cell lines, primary cells, stem cells and animal models for disease, followed by a systematic description of genetic and genomic profiling and biomarker validation currently used in biomedical research.
Scholarly Projects, Research, and Publishing Resources
You can apply for internal funding or external funding. Be aware that some external agencies set a limit on the number of proposals or pre-proposals an institution may submit. In those cases, you must follow IU’s limited submission process before applying.
Some funding agencies restrict the number of proposals an institution may submit to a particular funding program. These opportunities are referred to as limited submissions. Some programs are limited by institution (i.e., X proposals allowed for the entire university), some by campus, some by school.
For new grant writers and seasoned health researchers, educators, and clinicians alike, this text illuminates the process of writing a persuasive request for funding from start to finish. Includes key information about grant mechanisms and a fresh focus for foundation and corporate grants.