Skip to Main Content

Philosophy

The design and layout of this research guide is adapted from Rafia Mirza's "History" LibGuide at UT-Arlington.

Institute for American Thought

These are resources available at the Institute American Thought

Peirce Card Catalog Database

Peirce's Biography and Bibliography

Charles S. Peirce References (Filing Cabinet) 

   Located in the Manuscript Library. It includes Names, Quotations, and Bibliographies relevant to Charles S. Peirce. 

Finding Primary Resources

You can find primary sources from several different resources. Some of these resources are listed below:

Archives

The archives at the Institute for American Thought and the IUPUI Archvies may hold sources that will be useful in researching annotations. For example, the papers of Paul Weiss, a philosopher and professor here at IUPUI who research Charles S. Peirce. For the sources located at the IUPUI archives, please contact Archives Specialist Greg Mobley. His contact information can be found here: https://www.library.indianapolis.iu.edu/users/ghmobley

Newspaper Collections

Library Resources

Web Resources

Print Books

IUCAT is Indiana University's online library catalog, provides comprehensive access to millions of items held by the IU Libraries statewide, including books, journals, magazines, and newspapers, recordings, US government publications, and other types of material. You can access IUCAT from any computer connected to the Internet or at walk-up terminals located throughout the IU Library system.

IUCAT Quick Search:
Title:
Author:
Keywords Anywhere:
Match:
Library: IUPUI University Library
Herron Art Library
Online Only:

Here are some books on the history of science to get you started. All of these books are held in the IU system, most of the titles have copies here at University Library: 

History of Science

Agar, Jon. Science in the Twentieth Century and Beyond

Agassi, Joseph. Science and Its History: a reassessment of the historiography of science.

Boorstin, Daniel J. The Discoverers: an illustrated history of man's search to know his world and himself

The Norton History of the Environmental Sciences

The Norton History of the Mathematical Sciences

The Norton History of the Human Sciences

The Norton History of Chemistry 

*There are many more of editions by Norton on a wide range of science disciplines. 

The Commone Sense of Science

Landmarks of Science 

Oxford Companion to the History of Science 

Kuhn, Thomas. The Structure of Scientific Revolutions

The Cambridge History of Science

 

Classical Resources

A good place to start looking for Classics resources is the Classics subject guide.

I created a quick list of reference texts that might be helpful: 

Mackay, Christopher. Ancient Rome: a military and political history.

Shaw, Ian. The Oxford History of Ancient Egypt. 

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Ancient Rome  (digital resource and also available in print in the library).