Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

In-person Library services have been altered to limit COVID-19 spread. Read our Opening Guide for more information.

Translation Studies

Databases and indexes

To locate translations of specific works, search IUCAT and/or WorldCat for the author and/or the original title of the work and limit the search to the desired language. The list of results will indicate where items can be found -- either in IU Libraries or elsewhere. If we don't have a particular title in the IU collections, you can request it through interlibrary loan (infographic below is a link). The link to the request form can be found in each item record in WorldCat or here.

Websites and Guides

These resources can point you to titles and citations but may not contain the full text of the works themselves. For full text, check IUCAT, WorldCat, the databases listed here, and the next box (below).

Primary Sources in Databases

Finding Full-Text Translations on the Web

There are many sites devoted to individual authors that contain translated texts. You can find them searching for e.g. "German literature translation", "Tolstoy translation", etc. However, be cautious and look for signs that the translation has some kind of authority behind it. Who is sponsoring the site? If the text has been scanned, has it been done accurately? In a word, be critical. If in doubt, turn for help to an expert.

Romanization of Non-Roman Scripts