LibGuides: INFO-B 531 36445 Seminar in Health Informatics: 3. Finding Health Data and Statistics

Demographics, Consumer, and Lifestyle Databases

DemographicsNow (Gale) This link opens in a new window
U.S. Demographic data and reports from the national to local level. Useful for market analysis and segmentation. Create interactive maps, and radius based maps and reports. Current year estimates and five-year projections of key demographics. Includes access to Mosaic Segmentation.
Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA) This link opens in a new window
Consumer and business information including market information. Search by company name, type of business, geography, business size, and more.
Known issues with Google Chrome Browser: a latest update to Chrome may interfere with this resource; you may wish to try a different browser.
MRI SImmons This link opens in a new window
Survey data on U.S. consumers including adults, kids, and teens providing demographics, attitudes, behavior, media use, use of digital and mobile technologies, and buying habits. Includes consumer segmentation analysis. Limit to 10 concurrent users. Tutorial videos are available at their Youtube channel.

How to find consumer demographics for brands and products using Simmons Oneview
Tutorial on how to use Simmons Oneview to find demographic as well as lifestyle data on brands and products. Created by Chad Boeninger at Ohio University.
STATS Indiana
Collection of statistics on Indiana, including demographic, business and labor information.

United States Census Bureau This link opens in a new window
Search, browse, retrieve, view, map, print, and download Census data (formerly American FactFinder).

Guides to Finding Health Data

National Library of Medicine Guide to Health Statistics
The Health Statistics and Numerical Data subject guide includes some of the major sources of health and general statistics in the United States and a brief list of international resources. This subject guide is not meant to be comprehensive but to serve as a pointer to major information sources.
Find & Cite Data guide
This is a guide for locating Data and Statistical information. We use the term data to describe numeric, textual, photographic, audio, visual formats that have been produced as a result of or to support research.
Health Related Statistics Guide from IUPUI Ruth Lilly Medical Library

General Health Data & Statistics Sources

ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window
Archive of social science data for research and instruction.

CDC: Data & Statistics by Topic
Data and statistics by topic.
CDC: FastStats
The FastStats site provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically.
CDC: National Hospital Discharge Survey
The National Hospital Discharge Survey (NHDS), which was conducted annually from 1965-2010, was a national probability survey designed to meet the need for information on characteristics of inpatients discharged from non-Federal short-stay hospitals in the United States. Data from the NHDS are available annually and are used to examine important topics of interest in public health and for a variety of activities by governmental, scientific, academic, and commercial institutions.
CDC National Center for Health Statistics: Health Data Interactive
Health Data Interactive presents tables with national health statistics for infants, children, adolescents, adults, and older adults. Tables can be customized by age, gender, race/ethnicity, and geographic location to explore different trends and patterns.
ChildStats.gov
The official website of the Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics
Community Health Status Indicators
The goal of Community Health Status Indicators (CHSI) is to provide an overview of key health indicators for local communities and to encourage dialogue about actions that can be taken to improve a community’s health.
HealthData.gov
Data from HHS agencies
National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey
The National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES) is a program of studies designed to assess the health and nutritional status of adults and children in the United States. The survey is unique in that it combines interviews and physical examinations. NHANES is a major program of the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS).
National Survey of Children’s Health
The National Survey of Children’s Health (NSCH) touches on multiple, intersecting aspects of children’s lives. The survey includes physical and mental health status, access to quality health care, as well as information on the child’s family, neighborhood and social context.
more...less...
The Data Resource Center takes the results from the NSCH and makes them easily accessible to parents, researchers, community health providers and anyone interested in maternal and child health. Data on this site are for the nation and for each state plus the District of Columbia. State and national data can be further refined to assess differences by race/ethnicity, income, special health care needs status and a variety of other important demographic and health status characteristics.
NLM TOXNET
Your resource for searching databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.
SEER Program: Surveillance, Epidemiology and End Results
From the National Cancer Institute. Information on cancer incidence and survival in the United States. Statistical data, publications, and monographs available online.