This guide will help you learn to use EndNote software for creating your own library of references and full text. EndNote will also allow you to insert references in the proper format into a paper or grant proposal.
In order to easily locate full text of articles, we recommend that EndNote users upgrade the URL in EndNote preferences.
Click on Edit (Mac users click on EndNote 21) -> Preferences -> Find Full Text.
In the OpenURL Path box paste: http://rx8kl6yf4x.search.serialssolutions.com
Click OK (Mac users click Save).
Now you can select multiple citations and use the References->Find Full Text option in the EndNote toolbar.
Enabling 360 Link
By enabling the 360 Link within EndNote, you can easily get to the full-text of an article directly from the EndNote record
From the Edit menu (for Mac look under EndNote 21), select Preferences
Click on URLS and Links
Paste http://rx8kl6yf4x.search.serialssolutions.com into the box labeled ISI Base URL. Click OK.
To use 360 Link, click on a record, then go to the References menu and select URL and then OpenURL Link. The 360 Link window should appear.
Finding/Attaching Full Text
There are three methods for adding the full text of articles to an EndNote Library:
Find Full Text Feature
Highlight the references in the library for which full text is desired.
Go to References->Find Full Text->Find Full Text again.
EndNote will then begin searching for full text matching those references.
Attach a PDF
With PDF files already saved, highlight the reference matching the article.
Go to References->File Attachments->Attach File.
Navigate to the saved PDF.
Select the PDF and click Open.
Click on a different reference in the library to save the changes (a paperclip icon will appear next to the reference).
Import PDF to Create a Reference
With PDF files already saved, go to File->Import.
Select File for one PDF or Folder for multiple PDFs stored in a folder.
Select the file or folder and make sure Import Options is set to "PDF File or Folder."
Click the Import button. EndNote will import the PDFs and attempt to match them with external full text.
Note: If a match is not found, the PDF will be imported with no reference and the title will show up as an alphanumeric string. Those records can be modified manually by opening the PDF and entering information such as author and title from the article.
Find Reference Updates
This will search the internet for more complete reference data for your existing references.
Highlight references to update.
Go to References->Find Reference Updates. If a match is found, decide whether to Update All Fields or to just Update Empty Fields and click the appropriate button.
The Ruth Lilly Medical Library’s Content Management and Delivery Department will request articles and books not owned by the Library for the IU School of Medicine faculty, staff and students using ILLiad.