Museum Studies

IUPUI University Library provides access to electronic journals through a number of sources.  In addition to IUCAT, the E-Journal Home Page provides access to our e-journal subscriptions.  If you do a keyword search in this list for the term "museum" you'll see a long list of museum-related titles.  Or, you can search by individual title or subject categories.

Also check for journal holdings by journal title in IUCAT.

Curator:  The Museum Journal  (1997 – present)

Written by museum professionals for museum professionals, Curator: The Museum Journal provides a forum for exploration and debate of the latest issues, practices, and policies in museum administration, research, exhibition development, visitor studies, conservation, education, collection management and other subjects of current concern to the community.

Journal of Conservation and Museum Studies (May 1, 1996 – present)

The Journal of Conservation and Museum Studies is fully peer reviewed and Open Access. It contains research on conservation science, artefact studies, restoration, museum studies, environment studies, collection management and curation.

Journal of Museum Education (1997 – present)

Journal of Museum Education is the premier publication promoting and reporting on theory, training, and practice in the museum education field. Each issue focuses on a specific theme of interest to museum educators, informal educators, museum administrators, researchers, and other education and museum practitioners.

Museum & Society  (2003 – present)

              NOTE:  Current issue will be featured.  Archives may be searched at this link:

                             Museum & Society Issues Archive

Museum and Society is an independent peer-reviewed journal which brings together new writing by academics and museum professionals on the subject of museums.

Museum International (1997 – 2018)

Museum International (2019 – present)

Museum International is an important information resource for curators, managers, educators, documentalists, volunteers and museum professionals in a variety of fields.

Museum Management and Curatorship (1997 – present)

Museum Management and Curatorship (MMC) is a peer-reviewed, international journal for museum professionals, scholars, students, educators and consultants that examines current issues in depth, and provides up-to-date research, analysis and commentary on developments in museum practice.

Museums and Social Issues (April 1, 2006 – present)

Museums & Social Issues focuses on the interaction between compelling social issues and the way that museums respond to, influence, or become engaged with them. The journal responds to dynamic and contemporary topics such as race, immigration, health care, democratic process, and representation by featuring theoretical, philosophical, and practical pieces that discuss museums in relation to a range of contemporary issues.

EZProxy Bookmarklet

When not on the IU Network or using a computer on campus, you can use the library website or the IUPUI EZProxy bookmarklet to check for a library subscription to specific content. Learn more about the EZProxy service.

Use the IUPUI EZProxy bookmarklet when you are on a website where there is a paywall and you are being asked to pay to access full text. After selecting the bookmarklet and logging in through IU Login, you will gain full text access if IUPUI has a subscription. But if IUPUI does not subscribe to the resource, the page will refresh without any changes or it may take you to an error page. Explore interlibrary loan services to get access to articles, books, and other items IUPUI does not have.

Bookmarklet Installation

The bookmarklet needs to be added as a bookmark to your browser. Follow the installation steps below based on the browser you're using. Once added, the next time you find yourself being asked to purchase an article, select the bookmark in your browser's bookmark toolbar to see if IUPUI provides full text access. The video shows bookmarklet installation steps for Firefox and suggests best practices for accessing subscription based content.

Google Chrome

1. Right-click on the following link, then select "Copy Link Address": IUPUI Library EZProxy link.
2. Go to "Bookmark Manager" under the Bookmarks menu.
3. Navigate to the place you want to create this bookmark (the Bookmarks Bar, or elsewhere).
4. Click the vertical three dot icon to the right of the Bookmark search box (normally on a blue background) and select "Add New Bookmark"
5. Give the Bookmark a name (for example, "IUPUI EZProxy") and paste in the URL you copied in the first step in the URL field.
6. Click "Save".

Safari

Drag this link to your Favorites toolbar: IUPUI Library EZProxy link

Note: In the latest versions of the Mac OS, the Favorites bar is hidden by default. If you do not see the Favorites bar just below the URL, above the web page content, go to the View menu in Safari and select "Show Favorites Bar."

Firefox

Right-click on the following link, then select the "Bookmark This Link" option: IUPUI Library Proxy Bookmarklet

Internet Explorer

Right-click on this link: IUPUI Library Proxy Bookmarklet

Select the "Add to Favorites..." option. You may be warned that you are adding a link which may be unsafe. While some links like this may be unsafe, we believe this one is safe. You can click whichever option is required to continue.

Edge

Although Edge does not allow you to drag-and-drop a bookmarklet as do Chrome or Safari, if you have the bookmarklet in a different browser, you can import your bookmarks into Edge. You may need to delete duplicate or unwanted bookmarks after you have done so.

iPhone or iPad

1. Copy the following: javascript:void(location.href='https://proxy.ulib.uits.iu.edu/login?url=' + location.href);
2. Tap the share icon (iOS action button) at the bottom center of the screen (iPhone, iPod Touch) or to the right of the location bar (iPad) and then tap Add Bookmark. Save the bookmark to your iPad or iPhone's Bookmarks folder (or wherever you would like it to be).
3. Tap the bookmarks button (it looks like an open book) at the bottom of the screen (iPhone) or top of the screen (iPad). Make sure that you have selected the Bookmarks tab at the top, then tap "Edit". Find the bookmark you just saved. You now need to change the link to the text you copied in step #1. Tap the link field (it begins with "https://"), then delete everything in it and paste the text you copied: javascript:void(location.href='https://proxyiub.uits.iu.edu/login?url=' + location.href);
4. Tap "Done".

Android

1. Copy the following: javascript:void(location.href='https://proxyiub.uits.iu.edu/login?url=' + location.href);
2. Open the browser of your choice. Create a new bookmark of any page, then tap Edit. Replace the name of the bookmark and replace the bookmarks link with the copied link from step #1.

*** this is hidden text to get proper spacing***

Common Bookmarklet Errors

The bookmarklet will attempt to proxy any website, whether we license that content or not. If you receive a “Remote Access Error” when you use the bookmarklet on a URL, the most common reasons are:

1. The content is freely available and hence not proxied for off-campus use. Don’t use the bookmarklet for this content. If you are unsure, check the library website Database List, E-Journals List, and Open Access Journals. Or complete the University Library Help Request Form noting the title of the resource you need, and a staff member will let you know if IUPUI has access to the content.
2. The content is not directly provided by IUPUI Libraries. It could be that we have the journal in question, but from a different vendor. For example, IUPUI Libraries do not license anything at the site apa.org. However, all of our American Psychological Association content is provided through the PsycINFO (EBSCO) database.
3. (Least common) The content is licensed to IUPUI Libraries, but URL has recently changed or otherwise is not proxied correctly. Report this using the University Library Help Request Form noting what resource you are trying to access.