The National Resource Center for The First-Year Experience and Students in Transition has as its mission to support and advance efforts to improve student learning and transitions into and through higher education
The mission of the National Education Policy Center is to produce and disseminate high-quality, peer-reviewed research to inform education policy discussions. We are guided by the belief that the democratic governance of public education is strengthened when policies are based on sound evidence.
Includes data on: Enrollment, Progression, Completion Indicators, Learning Outcome Data (PISA, TIMSS, etc.), Data on Education Inequities, Education Projections to 2025 & 2050, World Bank Education Project Information, and Expenditures on Education
The Education Counts database contains more than 250 state-level K-12 education indicators, many spanning multiple years. Included are data collected for Education Week's annual reports, Quality Counts and Technology Counts.
This is an independent, non-partisan, and not-for-profit organization established in 1998. The mission of the organization is to encourage and support the use of more effective state-level education policies to improve student learning in grades p-12, and to continue to enhance opportunities for citizens of all ages.
An international consortium of about 700 academic institutions and research organizations, ICPSR provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community.
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
Measuring Up 2008 consists of the national report card for higher education and fifty state report cards. Its purpose is to provide the public and policymakers with information to assess and improve post-secondary education in each state. Measuring Up 2006 is the fourth in a series of biennial report cards. Users can also view report cards from
The National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) is the only nationally representative and continuing assessment of what America's students know and can do in various subject areas. Assessments are conducted periodically in mathematics, reading, and science
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), located within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences, is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
This site allows the user to make state-by-state comparisons in the area of preparation, participation, affordability, student learning, completion, benefits, employment, finance and crosscutting information such as poverty rates, minority participation, transition from secondary to higher education.
NSSE annually collects information at hundreds of four-year colleges and universities about student participation in programs and activities that institutions provide for their learning and personal development. The results provide an estimate of how undergraduates spend their time and what they gain from attending college.
Based on the both the 1990 and 2000 censuses, the School District Demographics web site from the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) provides access to school district geographic and demographic data useful for describing and analyzing characteristics of school districts, children, and K-12 education.
Contains international information on educational issues such as defining students with disabilities, new approaches to career guidance, and lifelong learning. It also includes a “summary of major education policy changes across a wide range of fields” in its 30 member countries
The United Nations Organization for Education, Science & Culture's Institute for Statistics provides global and internationally comparable statistics on education, science, technology, culture and communication