Geology

This leading dictionary - now in its fourth edition - offers wide-ranging and authoritative coverage of the earth sciences and related topics in over 7,500 clear and accessible entries. Coverage includes geology, planetary science, oceanography, palaeontology, mineralogy, and volcanology, aswell as climatology, geochemistry, and petrology.This new edition has been fully updated and 150 new entries added, with expanded coverage of geology and planetary geology terms. Over 130 line drawings accompany the definitions.The Dictionary also provides recommended web links which are listed and regularly updated on a dedicated companion website. Appendices include a revised geological time scale, an updated bibliography, stratigraphic units, lunar and Martian time scales, wind-strength scales, and SI units. Thisdictionary is essential for students of geography, geology, and earth sciences, and for those in in related disciplines.

The Encyclopedia of Soil Science provides a comprehensive, alphabetical treatment of basic soil science in a single volume. It constitutes a wide ranging and authorative collection of some 160 academic articles covering the salient aspects of soil physics, chemistry, biology, fertility, technology, genesis, morphology, classification and geomorphology. With increased usage of soil for world food production, building materials, and waste repositories, demand has grown for a better global understanding of soil and its processes. longer articles by leading authorities from around the world are supplemented by some 430 definitions of common terms in soil sciences.

This new Encyclopedia of Coastal Science stands as the latest authoritative source in the field of coastal studies, making it the standard reference work for specialists and the interested lay person. Unique in its interdisciplinary approach. This Encyclopedia features contributions by 245 well-known international specialists in their respective fields and is abundantly illustrated with line-drawings and photographs. Not only does this volume offer an extensive number of entries, it also includes various appendices, an illustrated glossary of coastal morphology and extensive bibliographic listings.

This comprehensive, one-volume encyclopedia covers the sedimentological aspects of sediments and sedimentary rocks. It features more than 250 entries by some 180 eminent contributors from all over the world, excellent indices, cross references, and extensive bibliographies.

This reference encompasses the fields of Geomagnetism and Paleomagnetism in a single volume. Both sciences have applications in navigation, in the search for minerals and hydrocarbons, in dating rock sequences, and in unraveling past geologic movements such as plate motions they have contributed to a better understanding of the Earth. The book describes in fine detail the current state of knowledge and provides an up-to-date synthesis of the most basic concepts. It is an indispensable working tool not only for geophysicists and geophysics students but also for geologists, physicists, atmospheric and environmental scientists, and engineers.

Our world is made of rock. Although much of the Earth's surface is covered by vegetation, concrete or water, if one digs down far enough solid rock will always be found. Those who live in a landscape where rock outcrops are obvious will have wondered about the kind of rocks they are looking at and how they came to be where they are now.Graham Park's introductory book has swiftly established itself as a key resource for those looking for a straightforward explanation of what geology tells us about the world. Many objects of great beauty and which excite our curiosity, such as crystals or fossils, are to be found by examining rocks. In particular fossils, whilst interesting in themselves, tell us from their context in geological time of biological evolution and these clues give an insight into the origins of life on earth.Copiously illustrated this book is intended for those whose interest in geology has been awakened, perhaps by media coverage of earthquakes or of dinosaurs, and want to know more. It has proved an ideal primer for those considering the study of earth sciences more formally. Technical terms are kept to a minimum and are explained in a glossary.

This sourcebook to the prodigious literature on applications of computers and statistics to geology contains over 2000 references. The glossary provides succinct explanations of most statistical and mathematical terms. Computer topics include hardware, software, programming languages, databases, and communications graphics, CAO/CAM, CAI, GIS and expert systems. Statistical topics range from elementary properties of numbers through univariate, bivariate to multivariate methods. The brief notes on each method provide a general guide to what the technique does, and are illustrated with worked examples from a wide range of geological disciplines. Students and researchers will find the book useful in coping with the explosion of information which has taken place in geology, and to make the best possible use of computers in interpreting acquired data.

This illustrated handbook describes a broad spectrum of methods in the fields of remote sensing, geophysics, geology, hydrogeology, geochemistry, and microbiology designed to investigate landfill, mining and industrial sites. The descriptions provide information about the principle of the methods, applications and fundamentals. This handbook also deals with the stepwise procedure for investigating sites and common problems faced in efficient implementation of field operations.

This work provides a geotechnical handbook that could be used as a reference material or textbook on geotechnical related topics dealing with earthquakes. Earthquake analysis is of concern to many different individuals including civil engineers, contractors, and geologists. This work features field and laboratory testing methods and procedures; current seismic codes; site improvement methods; in-depth earthquake engineering analysis as applied to soils; and problems (with solutions) to illustrate the earthquake analyses.