Communication Studies

Substantially revised and updated, the sixth edition of the Watson & Hill Dictionary is a key resource for students of all aspects of communication.

This authoritative and up-to-date A-Z covers all aspects of interpersonal, mass, and networked communication, including digital and mobile media, advertising, journalism, and nonverbal communication. This new edition is particularly focused on expanding coverage of social media terms, toreflect its increasing prominence to media and communication studies as a whole.More than 2,000 entries have been revised, and over 500 new terms have been added to reflect current theoretical terminology, including concepts such as artificial intelligence, cisgender, fake news, hive mind, use theory, and wikiality. The dictionary also bridges the gap between theory andpractice, and contains many technical terms that are relevant to the communication industry, including dialogue editing, news aggregator, and primary colour correction.The text is complemented by biographical notes and extensively cross-referenced, while web links supplement the entries. It is an indispensable guide for undergraduate students of media and communication studies, and also for those taking related subjects such as television studies, videoproduction, communication design, visual communication, marketing communications, semiotics, and cultural studies.

Researchers seeking descriptions, contact information and advertising rates on print/online and broadcast media worldwide will find all the data they need in this invaluable resource. Each edition contains approximately 55,000 listings for radio and television stations, cable companies and print/online media companies as well as more than 14,300 international entries. Includes phone and fax numbers; e-mail addresses and Web site URLs; listing of key personnel; and much more.

The "Encyclopedia of Communication and Information provides a comprehensive overview of universal modes of communication, the media, theories of communication and their implications, careers in communications and information, and biographies of notable figures in the field.

With more than 300 entries, these two volumes provide a one-stop source for a comprehensive overview of communication theory, offering current descriptions of theories as well as the background issues and concepts that comprise these theories. This is the first resource to summarize, in one place, the diversity of theory in the communication field.Key ThemesApplications and ContextsCritical OrientationsCultural OrientationsCybernetic and Systems OrientationsFeminist OrientationsGroup and Organizational ConceptsInformation, Media, and Communication TechnologyInternational and Global ConceptsInterpersonal ConceptsNon-Western OrientationsParadigms, Traditions, and SchoolsPhilosophical OrientationsPsycho-Cognitive OrientationsRhetorical OrientationsSemiotic, Linguistic, and Discursive OrientationsSocial/Interactional OrientationsTheory, Metatheory, Methodology, and Inquiry

Communication research is evolving and changing in a world of online journals, open-access, and new ways of obtaining data and conducting experiments via the Internet. The SAGE Encyclopedia of Communication Research Methods contains entries that cover every step of the research process, accompanied by engaging examples from the literature of communication studies. Key features include: 652 signed entries spanning four volumes, available in choice of electronic or print formats A Reader's Guide groups entries thematically to help students interested in a specific aspect of communication research to more easily locate directly related entries Back matter includes a Chronology of the development of the field of communication research; a Resource Guide to classic books, journals, and associations; a Glossary introducing the terminology of the field; and a detailed Index Entries conclude with References/Further Readings and Cross-References to related entries to guide students further in their research journeys The Index, Reader's Guide themes, and Cross-References combine to provide robust search-and-browse in the electronic version

From the dynamics of interpersonal communication between health professionals and clients to global command-and-control during public health emergencies that cross international borders, the field of health communication bridges many disciplines and involves efforts from the micro to the macro. It involves navigating personal, cultural, and political complexities and an ability to distill complex technical science into quickly and easily understood terms for ready distribution by the mass media--or to an individual patient or to the parent of an ailing child.  Despite an abundance of textbooks, specialized monographs, and academic handbooks, this is the first encyclopedic reference work in this area, covering the breadth of theory and research on health communication, as well as their practical application. Features: Nearly 600 original articles are organized A-to-Z within a three-volume set to provide comprehensive coverage of this exciting field, including such topics as theories and research traditions; evaluation and assessment; cultural complexities; high risk and special populations; message design and campaigns; provider/patient interaction issues; media issues; and more. All articles were specifically commissioned for this work, signed and authored by key figures in the field, and conclude with cross reference links and suggestions for further reading. Appendices include a Resource Guide with annotated lists of classic books and articles, journals, associations, and web sites; a Glossary of specialized terms; and a Chronology offering an overview and history of the field. A thematic Reader's Guide groups related articles by broad topic areas as one handy search feature on the e-Reference platform, which also includes a comprehensive index of search terms. This A-to-Z three-volume reference is available in both print and online formats and is a must-have for libraries and researchers who seek comprehensive coverage of the theory, research, and applications of health communication. Key Themes: Community Health Issues End-of-Life Issues Evaluation of Health Intervention, Health Education, Health Communication Everyday and Family Health Communication Issues Health Campaigns Health Communication, International and Diversity Issues Health Information History of Health Communication Media Content Organizational Issues and Health Policy Provider-Patient Interaction Public Health Communication Specific Health Issues/Providers Technology Theories, Ethics, Philosophy, and Overriding Methodological Issues