Evidence Based Medicine
This page provides information on locating and evaluating literature used to support evidence based practice.
Importance of Appraisal
In a best case scenario, you will be able to find a high quality pre-appraised information source to answer your question.
However, those are not available for all topics. Furthermore, you may also find it useful to appraise pre-appraised information. You should always question the quality of the material you find. Remember, a poorly done systematic review is not better than a well done randomized controlled trial. On this page, you will find some resources to help you with appraising the material you find.
Critical Appraisal Resources
- JAMAevidence This link opens in a new windowThis resource includes both the User's Guides to the Medical Literature and the Rational Clinical Exam. There are great explanations for critically appraising different study types along with worksheets and PowerPoints that can be reused for educational purposes.
- Critical Appraisals Skills Programme (CASP) Checklists"This set of eight critical appraisal tools are designed to be used when reading research, these include tools for Systematic Reviews, Randomised Controlled Trials, Cohort Studies, Case Control Studies, Economic Evaluations, Diagnostic Studies, Qualitative studies and Clinical Prediction Rule.
These are free to download and can be used by anyone under the Creative Commons License." - Dr. Shaneyfelt's Critical Appraisal Videos on YouTubeThis playlist contains short videos on critically appraising different types of studies.
- Evidence-Based Medicine ToolboxThis section contains useful tools and downloads for the critical appraisal of different types of medical evidence. Example appraisal sheets are provided together with several helpful examples.
Evidence-Based Physical Diagnosis (5th ed) by ISBN: 9780323754835Publication Date: 2022This book provides sensitivity, specificity, and likelihood ratios for different physical exams.
How to Read a Paper by ISBN: 9781118801130Publication Date: 2014Explains what to look for in different types of papers and how best to evaluate the literature and then implement the findings in an evidence-based, patient-centred way.
Principles of Biostatistics (3rd ed) by ISBN: 9780429340512Publication Date: 2022Principles of Biostatistics, Third Edition is a concepts-based introduction to statistical procedures that prepares public health, medical, and life sciences students to conduct and evaluate research.
The Rational Clinical Examination by ISBN: 9780071590303Publication Date: 2009Clinically relevant approach to the use of evidence in the content of physical examination. Compiles and presents the evidence-based meanings of signs, symptoms, and results from physical examination maneuvers and other diagnostic studies.
Users' Guides to the Medical Literature: a Manual for Evidence-Based Clinical Practice by ISBN: 9780071790710Publication Date: 2015This book provides guidance for critically appraising literature related to therapy, diagnosis, harm, prognosis, and synthesized studies.
Biostatistics Resources
Article:
Books:
Introduction to Health Research Methods (3rd ed) by ISBN: 9781284197563Publication Date: 2020Step-by-step instruction to performing quantitative and qualitative research in medicine, public health, and other clinical and population health fields.
Basic & Clinical Biostatistics (5th ed) by ISBN: 9781260455366Publication Date: 2020Introduction to biostatistics and epidemiology as applied to medicine, clinical practice, and research.
JAMA Guide to Statistics and Methods (4th ed) by ISBN: 9781260455328Publication Date: 2020Explanations and expert discussion of the statistical analytic approaches and methods used in the medical research reported in articles appearing in JAMA and the JAMA Network journals.
Understanding Statistics and Experimental Design: How to Not Lie with Statistics by ISBN: 9783030034986Publication Date: 2019Guide on how to use, interpret, understand, and evaluate statistical data.
High-Yield Biostatistics, Epidemiology, and Public Health by ISBN: 9781451130171Publication Date: 2014Review of the biostatistics concepts that are tested in the USMLE Step 1. Information is presented with High-Yield Points that help students focus on the most important USMLE Step 1 facts. Includes tables, diagrams, photographs, and images to clarify important material, and provides a concentrated, efficient review for both course exams and the USMLE.
Interpretation and Uses of Medical Statistics (5th ed) by ISBN: 9780632047635Publication Date: 2000Introduction to the concepts of statistics and their medical application.
Videos:
- Statistics Corner by Terry Shaneyfelt MD, EBM Teacher, UAB11 videos focusing on various EBM statistics concepts.
Calculators
- Knowledge Translation Program EBM CalculatorsThese calculators were developed by the Knowledge Translation Program in Toronto. They include calculators for statistics and Odds Ratio to NNT Converter.
- MDCalc This is a site for medical professionals to help us do calculations and process algorithms and scores. To make patients better. Faster. You can access the full list through the navigation bars, or, preferably, through the search menu.
JAMA Users' Guides – Original Articles
Background
Primary Studies
Integrative Studies
Additional Users’ Guides Published After the Original Series