LibGuides: PBHL-E711 Applied Epidemiology Methods I: Home

Guide Contents

This guide is designed to help you find datasets and scholarly literature for Applied Epidemiology I.

Need help? Contact the health sciences librarian (see email and appointment scheduler on the left side).

Look over the resources on each of these pages:

What to Consider When Searching for Data
List of questions and things to consider when searching for and evaluating datasets
Applied Data Analysis in Epidemiology Textbooks
Links to class textbooks, and an open textbooks with practical tips and exercises on using common US health surveys
Datasets
Includes links to data repositories, national health surveys (with info on how use them), datasets used in previous E711 cohorts, and more.
Scholarly Articles
Includes PubMed tutorial and links to health databases
Find Full-Text
Includes a tool to locate full-text of article, and instructions on how to access full-text in databases and through interlibrary loan
Cite Your Data
How to cite your dataset in APA. Yes, your data set(s) should be cited in your proposal!

What to Consider When Searching for Data

Questions to ask

Am I looking for raw data (with all the details and observations) or aggregated data (which has been analyzed and summarized)?
Do I know who/what organization collects this type of data?
Do I know what the data looks like (i.e., key features of the data)?
Is my data likely to be open (freely available on web) or only be available through controlled access (access is restricted, and may involve contracts or purchases to access)?
What are the desirable characteristics of data for my project? What are some obstacles? What inconsistencies exist in these types of data?
What time period am I interested in (if relevant)?
Where (geographically) does the data need to come from (if relevant)?

Ways to describe data

by research process or source – observational, interview, survey, simulation, experimental, etc.
by content – numeric, text, image, audio, video, instrument specific, models/algorithm, etc.
by file format – csv, plain text, xml, JPG, PDF, AIFF, HTML, DICOM, etc. See more at the file format Wiki page
by phase of processing – raw, cleaned, validated, aggregated, normalized
by how stable or dynamic are the data? Fixed, growing, revisable

Some considerations

Read the research literature on your topic of interest and identify the data used. Start with secondary analyses of data because those datasets are more likely to be accessible.
Not all data are equal – think about common data challenges in your field and ones relevant to your topic or possible data source.
Make your own data evaluation checklist and use it on the datasets you find. The information you collect may be relevant for your analysis and reporting, especially when describing your rationale for analysis and the limitations of the study.

Applied Data Analysis in Epidemiology Textbooks

Big Data for Epidemiology: Applied Data Analysis Using National Health Surveys
This book was developed to train future public health professionals how to conduct secondary data analysis of national health surveys using SAS statistical software. The book includes details on how to analyze public-use data from five common national health surveys, including the National Health Interview Survey (NHIS), Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS), Health Information National Trends Survey (HINTS), Behavior Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) and National Health and Nutrition and Examination Survey (NHANES). All datasets and corresponding syntax files are available from the Open ICPSR Data Repository.

Statistical Methods in Epidemiologic Research by Ray M. Merrill
ISBN: 9781284034448
Publication Date: 2015-01-15
With the many advances in the control of infectious disease over the last 100 years, the role of epidemiology in public health has transformed significantly. Epidemiologic research now includes the study of acute and chronic diseases, as well as the events, behaviors, and conditions associated with health. From seasoned author Ray Merrill, this text explores how epidemiologic methods are conducted and interpreted. In four sections, Statistical Methods in Epidemiologic Research covers basic concepts in epidemiology and statistics, study designs, statistical techniques and applications, as well as special topics. Key Features: * Includes sections on how specific epidemiologic methods have resulted in findings that have influenced health policy and public health * Offers optional sections involving more advanced methods * At the end of each chapter, an applications section gives the student a clear picture of how epidemiologic methods are applied in real-world situations * Special emphasis is given to interpreting results * SAS code is presented in an appendix that corresponds to assessing selected methods.
Basic Statistics and Epidemiology by Antony Stewart
ISBN: 9781498783545
Publication Date: 2018-04-19
Basic Statistics and Epidemiology is a straightforward primer in basic statistics that emphasizes its practical use in epidemiology and public health, providing an understanding of essential topics such as study design, data analysis and statistical methods used in the execution of medical research. Assuming no prior knowledge, the clarity of the text and care of presentation ensure those new to, or challenged by, these topics are given a thorough introduction without being overwhelmed by unnecessary detail. An understanding and appreciation of statistics is central to ensuring that professional practice is based on the best available evidence, in order to treat and help most appropriately the wider community. By reading this book, students, researchers, doctors, nurses and health managers will have the knowledge necessary to understand and apply the tools of statistics and epidemiology to their own practice.