Scholarly Concentrations
This guide contains resources and services that the Ruth Lilly Medical Library provides to support the Scholarly Concentrations at the Indiana University School of Medicine.
Librarian contact
Mirian Ramirez
https://orcid.org/0000-0002-6233-7480
Contact:
Ruth Lilly Medical Library
975 W. Walnut Street, IB 325
Indianapolis, IN 46202
975 W. Walnut Street, IB 325
Indianapolis, IN 46202
(317) 274-2281
Website
About this Page
This page contains resources that may be helpful with the Scholarly Concentration project and product.
Please refer to the Scholarly Concentration Canvas site for the most up to date list of required readings and materials for other courses.
If you have any questions or suggestions for improving this guide, please contact Mirian Ramirez at mirirami@iu.edu
Articles
Below are resources that include articles related to health promotion and disease prevention.
- MEDLINE (PubMed) This link opens in a new windowPubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).
- SPORTDiscus w/ Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowArticles, books, reference materials, and theses and dissertations in sport, fitness and related disciplines.
- CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowCINAHL Plus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 750 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index. Includes selected pamphlets and audiovisual materials.
- National Vital Statistics System This link opens in a new windowFederal web site providing access to statistical information related to vital events: births, deaths, marriages, divorces and related public health materials.
Journals
- American Journal of Lifestyle MedicineAmerican Journal of Lifestyle Medicine (AJLM) is a peer-reviewed bi-monthly resource for practitioners seeking to incorporate lifestyle practices into clinical medicine.
- American Journal of Preventive MedicineThe American Journal of Preventive Medicine is the official journal of the American College of Preventive Medicine and the Association for Prevention Teaching and Research.
- American Journal of Health BehaviorThe American Journal of Health Behavior seeks to improve the quality of life through multidisciplinary health efforts in fostering a better understanding of the multidimensional nature of both individuals and social systems as they relate to health behaviors.
Books
Integrative Medicine (5th ed) by ISBN: 9780323777278Publication Date: 2022Covers therapies such as botanicals, supplements, mind-body, lifestyle choices, nutrition, exercise, and spirituality. Uses the SORT method (Strength of Recommendation Taxonomy) to provide evidence-based ratings, grading both the evidence and the relative potential harm.
Communities in Action: Pathways to Health Equity by ISBN: 9780309452960Publication Date: 2017Focuses on what communities can do to promote health equity, what actions are needed by the many and varied stakeholders that are part of communities or support them, as well as the root causes and structural barriers that need to be overcome.
Introduction to Health Promotion and Behavioral Science in Public Health by ISBN: 9781133693673Publication Date: 2016This comprehensive book details the methods and theories used to address many of the top behaviors that contribute to early morbidity and mortality.
Scholarly Projects, Research, and Publishing Resources
- Presentation Skills Toolkit for Medical StudentsThe Undergraduate Medical Education Section of the Group on Educational Affairs developed this toolkit as a resource for medical students and health professions trainees as you learn to create and give effective presentations in the classroom, in the clinical setting, and at academic meetings and conferences.
- Scholarly Publishing GuideThis guide is intended to assist scholars early in their publishing career.
- IUSM Research Compliance Research GuideThis guide contains information about the NIH mandate, open access, and data management policies.
- Scholarly Impact Research GuideThis guide contains information on where to publish as well as ways to determine the impact of scholarly products.
- Research Data ServicesThis guide provide resources and services for managing data during each step of the research process.
- ORCIDProvides a persistent digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher.
Organizations and Other Resources
- American College of Preventive MedicineThe American College of Preventive Medicine (ACPM) is a professional medical society of more than 2,700 preventive medicine and public health physicians who manage, research, and influence population health.
- American College of Lifestyle MedicineACLM is the medical professional society providing quality education and certification to those dedicated to clinical and worksite practice of Lifestyle Medicine as the foundation of a transformed and sustainable health care system.
Partnering Organizations
- Healthy Lifestyle CenterThe Healthy Lifestyle Center is operated by the Ball State University College of Health in collaboration with the IU School of Medicine-Muncie and in partnership with Meridian Health Services. This project was supported by a Ball Brothers Foundation grant.
- Clinical Exercise Physiology ProgramThis is a 21 month program offered via Ball State that focuses on innovative approaches to exercise and rehabilitation.
Grants and Other Funding Opportunities
- Community of Science (CoS) Pivot This link opens in a new windowProvided through IUPUI Office of the Vice Chancellor of Research. Comprehensive world-wide database of funding opportunities, field experts, and collaborators. Save your search and receive alerts.
First-time users need to Access Pivot-RP using Institution's Credentials (Shibboleth) - search for "Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis" in the drop-down menu. You will then be prompted to create a Pivot-RP account using your university email address
- Federal Grants (grants.gov)Search: Quality Innovation
Limit to: Grant, Public and State controlled institutions of higher education - Funding & Proposals: Finding and Requesting FundingInformation from Indiana University's Office of the Vice President for Research.
- Indiana University Internal Funding OpportunitiesYou can use this page to search for internal funding by campus and/or category.
- Indiana University External Funding OpportunitiesYou can apply for internal funding or external funding. Be aware that some external agencies set a limit on the number of proposals or pre-proposals an institution may submit. In those cases, you must follow IU’s limited submission process before applying.
- Indiana University Limited SubmissionsSome funding agencies restrict the number of proposals an institution may submit to a particular funding program. These opportunities are referred to as limited submissions. Some programs are limited by institution (i.e., X proposals allowed for the entire university), some by campus, some by school.
Grant Writing Handbook for Nurses and Health Professionals by ISBN: 9780826141446Publication Date: 2018For new grant writers and seasoned health researchers, educators, and clinicians alike, this text illuminates the process of writing a persuasive request for funding from start to finish. Includes key information about grant mechanisms and a fresh focus for foundation and corporate grants.
