Tests & Related Instruments

Includes test designing, constructing and evaluating scales, and mathematical and statistical techniques.

Provides all the essential research tools for assessing and measuring caring for those in the caring professions. The measurements address quality of care, patient, client, and nurse perceptions of caring, and caring behaviors, abilities, and efficacy.

CAN BE CHECKED OUT FOR 90 DAYS. An insight into the different kinds of measures that are available for determining the influence of psychological factors and lifestyle on health. Includes practical guidelines for choosing the appropriate tools and designs to meet specific research questions.

CAN BE CHECKED OUT FOR 90 DAYS. Provides an overview of clinical assessment, treatment, management, and rehabilitation for all major psychiatric disorders. Uses neuropsychological evidence to understand the diagnostic picture as well as the patients strengths and limitations in everyday functioning.

Describes a wide range of approaches to evaluating growth, sensation, arousal, regulation, learning, and attention in the prenatal period and the first year of life. Examines the available biobehavioral assessment tools for exploring basic questions of infant development and risk.

General introduction to methods and clinical experience of CBT for a wide range of medical conditions, specifically focusing on chronic illness and long term management. Uses clinical examples and vignettes to illustrate assessment and therapy.

LIMITED TO 1 CONCURRENT USER. PLEASE CLOSE WHEN FINISHED TO ALLOW OTHERS TO USE THE BOOK. Provides accessible, detailed, good practice guidelines that also address the political and ethical problems of conducting surveys within the health professions. Includes practical tips that will make the process as straightforward as possible.

Advice and guidance on how to administer, score, and interpret tests for behavioral problems found among children and adolescents, including hyperactivity, impulsivity, and ADHD. Also offers expert assessment of the tests' merits and includes classroom observations.

Advice and guidance on how to administer, score, and interpret the key assessment instruments used by forensic psychologists. Provides information on the validity of each test, compares their relative strengths and weaknesses, and offers valuable advice on clinical applications.

Overview and assessment of the FAST test and its use in various clinical research contexts. Helps to bridge the gap between theory, practice and research, and presents a technique for representing emotional bonds and hierarchical structures in the family or similar social systems.

Responds to the challenges for mental health providers and their patients regarding the selection and application of psychiatric measures, including eligibility determinations, outcomes assessment, pricing, and risk adjustment, as well as activities related to quality assurance and utilization review.

Reference handbook written for sex researchers and their students to learn about, evaluate, and compare instruments that have previously been used in sex research.

Condensed coverage of health assessment organized by body systems. The focus is on assessing, documenting, and reporting the current status and changes in the condition of patients for all age groups.

Guide to using the Kennedy Axis V (K Axis) approach to psychiatric treatment planning. Helps clinicians develop basic clinical measurements and profiles to more thoroughly assess patients' clinical status, resulting in better treatment and outcome.

Reviews disease specific measures of quality of life and popularly used symptom and single dimension scales. In assessing the outcome of disease and treatments, measurement scales must be relevant to their specific effects, necessitating the use of disease specific questionnaires.

Provides in-depth reviews of over 100 of the leading health measurement tools and serves as a guide for choosing among them. Compares the quality of the instruments reviewed, followed by a detailed description of each method, covering its purpose, reliability and validity.

LIMITED TO 1 CONCURRENT USER. PLEASE CLOSE WHEN FINISHED TO ALLOW OTHERS TO USE THE BOOK. Overview of the measurement of quality of life in health care. Covers the importance of the social consequences of disease, and the aim of health care to increase quantity and quality of survival.

Analysis and interpretation of quality-of-life assessments relies on a variety of psychometric and statistical methods which are explained in this book. Emphasizes the use of simple techniques that are illustrated with numerous examples, and the impact of guidelines.

CAN BE CHECKED OUT FOR 90 DAYS. Presents instruments for evaluating therapeutic response, detecting deficits, assessing risks, and making a prognosis in clinical neurology. Instruments are evaluated and sorted by frequency of use and advantages and limitations of each instrument.

Instructional supplement to DSM-5 to help teachers and students of psychiatry, psychology, social work, medical schools, and residency programs understand and apply diagnostic criteria and key clinical concepts through a variety of learning tools.