QUICK Library Research Help. The University Library provides assistance in many ways during library hours, especially during academic sessions:
FOR MORE HELP, contact resource/research specialist Randall Halverson. I'm happy to support your classwork or research via email or Canvas message suggestions or by appointment. Email is an effective medium to send questions: rahalver@iupui.edu or rahalver@iu.edu. For the best results, please include your course in the subject line, and background details, especially,
details about your project topic, such as your personal or professional interest in the topic,
whether you want to focus your topic and explore possible research directions, or search for "big picture" overview sources or in-depth specialized sources, etc.,
search resources and strategies that you've already tried.
To request a RESERVATION to meet by Zoom or MS Teams, please use the library's "Consultation" appointment page, selecting my name from the list. If my time options shown on the calendar don't work for you, you are welcome to send 2 or 3 days/times you could meet by email. I'll respond. :~)
See resource details via a mouse-over note. For keyword search tips see a library DIY page.
Try focus on searching two or three core article databases resources listed in this box, trying several search strategies. Quick input on additional search strategies, such as exploring subject terms for more efficient searching, is available from library desk staff: 317-274-0469.
For a current overview of a topic, to get ideas of research paths to explore, find trade journal and magazine articles via resources such as ABI Inform and ProQuest Central. Find readable, credible professional society "magazine" articles giving overviews of computing and IT applied to many STEM topics by searching IEEE and ACM, limiting to magazine articles.
As your topic becomes clearer, try specialized, in-depth information sources further down the list to find peer-reviewed journal articles, and conference articles for the most recent technical or other research content.
Additional specialized databases to consider perspectives from management and leadership, business or a particular industry, and research patents for details that may not be available from other sources, are linked in content boxes below this one.
Early-on: explore directions for research
Professional Society digital library resources
Search multiple article sources
"Open Access"
Browse options for FREE ACCESS to STANDARDS
SEARCH and BROWSE for STANDARDS via University Library SUBSCRIPTION ACCESS
Note: IUPUI does NOT collect any patents. However, the Indianapolis-Marion County Public Library has a collection of U.S. Patents from the early 1970's to the present. For more information, call 317-275-4100.
Search hint: Using classification searching is preferable to keyword searching a patent database.
Espacenet - "With its worldwide coverage and search features, Espacenet offers free access to information about inventions and technical developments from 1782 to today...updated daily. It contains data on more than 130 million patent documents from around the world. Supporting information can help you understand whether a patent has been granted and if it is still in force. Many patents are full-text with diagrams.
Global Patent Index (GPI) - European Patent Office (EPO) "... tool that enables you to perform detailed searches in the EPO's worldwide bibliographic, legal event and full-text data sets. GPI is updated weekly. More than 500 000 patent documents are added every month."
Free Patents Online - "...world-wide leading free patent search..." with terabytes of patent diagrams.
Google Patents - "Search and read the full text of patents from around the world. "
Nexis Uni - Search international news announcements regarding company patents, as well as legal cases, statues and legislation regarding intellectual property for selected countries.
Patent Buddy - Social networking site for those researching U.S. Patent attorneys, agents and organizations.
United States Patent and Trademark Office - The government's free, searchable database of United States patents, patent applications, and trademarks. It provides coverage of patent materials from 1790 to the present.
World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) - Provided by a specialized agency of the United Nations. See the Resources tab to access resources such as PATENTSCOPE with access "...to international Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) applications in full text format on the day of publication, as well as to patent documents of participating national and regional patent offices."
"HOW TO" resources:
You can access almost all of the library's electronic resources (databases) from home or other location so long as you are an IUPUI student, or staff or faculty member. Library resources are "IP-filtered". Access typically requires using the campus computer network, such as the campus wireless system, connecting via IUanyWare, by using a library site link to the resource (from off-campus, brings up an IU login popup window to authenticate) or via an IUPUI VPN as described at "Off-Campus Access to Resources (EZ Proxy)".
With Covid-related network changes, VPN does not always work for certain resources. In that case, use a library site resource link or install our new EZProxy Bookmarklet.
Note that for Skillsoft IT- and Business-related ebooks, using a library site link is required on or off the campus network.
Please complete the library session evaluation linked below (requires IUPUI login).
Your participation is greatly appreciated and will help us improve our instruction!
End-of-Class Evaluation QR Code
