LibGuides: Tourism, Event, and Sport Management: Background Information

Reference Materials: Electronic

Dictionary of Leisure, Travel and Tourism by P. H. Collins; Jane Russell Dictionary of Leisure, Travel and Tourism Topics covered include travel, tourism, ticketing, hotels and staff, restaurants, kitchens, table settings, service and cooking, along with general business, accounting and personnel terms. Handy supplements include quick-reference lists of airline and airport codes, currencies, international dialling codes, time zones, balance sheets and international public holidays. Ideal for students, employers, or employees who work in any part of the hotel or tourism industry or who need to use specialist English vocabulary for their work or studies.
ISBN: 9780713685459
Publication Date: 2007-01-16
Encyclopedia of Tourism by Jafar Jafari Published to great acclaim, this is the definitive one-volume reference source to the tourism industry. Comprising over one thousand entries written by an international team of contributors, it explores definitions, concepts and perspectives.
ISBN: 9780203195673
Publication Date: 2000-12-21
International Encyclopedia of Hospitality Management by Abraham Pizam
ISBN: 9781136394157
Publication Date: 2010

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research, including these helpful for TCEM research: Business (of special interest: Business Plans Handbook), Environment, Law, Multicultural Studies, Nation & World, and Social Science.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to subject reference works published by Oxford University Press, including these references that can be useful for TCEM research: Earth & Environmental Sciences, Economics & Business, Food & Drink, and Names & Places.

Dictionary for the Tourism Industry Reference G155 .A1 C517 2008 (2nd floor)

Dictionary of Travel and Tourism Terminology Reference G155 .A1 B38 2002 (2nd floor)

Dictionary of Travel, Tourism & Hospitality Reference G155 .A1 M397 2003 (2nd floor)

International Handbook on the Economics of Tourism Reference G155 .A1 I5132 2006 (2nd floor)

Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides data on a variety of disciplines. Data points presented in multiple formats including reports, graphs, infographics, and PowerPoint slides.

World Tourism Organization Global Report on City Tourism (2012) [pdf]

Demographic and Statistical Information

Hoosiers by the Numbers is a fairly user-friendly statistics database administered by the Indiana Department of Workforce Development and features information for employers, job seekers, and economic developers. It offers many options for focusing on specific areas, cities, and industries.

SAVI Interactive is a one-stop source for data and information for Central Indiana communities and organizations. It provides local data about the social, economic, and physical conditions of neighborhoods, townships, and counties, and other geographic areas such as school districts. SAVI summarizes these data into community profiles and allows users to view and analyze detailed data in interactive maps, charts, and tables.

STATS Indiana is the information utility for the State of Indiana and receives major support from the State through the Indiana Department of Workforce Development and from the Lilly Endowment, Inc. It is a service of the Indiana Business Research Center at Indiana University's Kelley School of Business.

Census Business Builder: Small Business Edition allows small business owners a way to easily navigate to and use key demographic and economic data to help guide their research into opening a new or expanding their existing business. These key data includes the most recent and/or relevant data that Census provides that are useful to small business owners.

Human Resource Management Online (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Books, cases, training videos, etc. mapped to human resource management.
Kanopy Video Streaming Service This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to thousands of videos from major educational film producers and distributors in a wide variety of subject areas, including: business, education, communication, film studies, engineering, foreign languages, humanities, gender studies, sociology, psychology, health sciences, the arts and more. Also included are PBS films from American Experience, Frontline, and NOVA.