Communities and collections are the structuring mechanisms by which content is arranged. Communities may contain any number of other communities ("sub-communities") and any number of collections, but they don't contain individual items (records, with associated files). Collections may contain any number of individual items, but only items. Other than these restrictions, there is considerable flexibility in the arrangement of communities and collections.
Top-level communities and sub-communities tend to correspond to IUPUI academic or administrative units (e.g., a department, institute, or research center) that produce research and scholarly work. Collections can be organized around a topic, or by type of information (such as working papers or datasets) or by any other sorting method a community finds useful in organizing its digital items. Many types of collections are possible and will be considered on a case-by-case basis. The IUPUI Libraries reserve the right to determine and to change the location of collections and communities. To start a new collection, please fill out the request form.
Each community and collection has its own entry page which can display relevant information, images, and links for that group.
A collection may be administered by a Collection coordinator who acts as a liaison with the IUPUI Libraries. The Libraries reserve the right to perform collection coordinator functions for those collections lacking a designated coordinator.
What are the benefits of having a collection coordinator?
If a coordinator has assumed administrative responsibilities for a collection, then those responsible for that collection have the right to: