Embase is a biomedical research and literature database with over 32 million records for biomedical and pharmacological articles and conference proceedings from 1947 to the present. It covers over 8,500 journals from over 95 countries, including over 2,900 indexed journals unique to Embase.
Interdisciplinary, full-text scholarly articles, books, and primary sources. Coverage back to the first issue of journals; embargo on some current content. Library subscribes to the following archival databases: All Arts & Sciences (I-IV); Ecology and Botany I; Health & General Sciences; and Life Sciences.
For four decades, The Journal of Medicine and Philosophy has been the flagship scholarly journal in bioethics and the philosophy of medicine. Its contributors and focus are international, addressing bioethical concerns across the world. Significant attention has been given to bioethics and foundational issues in health care policy in North and South America, Europe, and Asia. The journal’s concerns range from clinical bioethics to studies in the philosophy of medicine such as explorations of the nature of concepts of health and disease, as well as the character of medical explanation.
Medical Humanities presents the international conversation around medicine and its engagement with the humanities and arts, social sciences, health policy, medical education, patient experience and the public at large. Medical Humanities is an official journal of the Institute of Medical Ethics.
Medicine, Health Care and Philosophy: A European Journal is the official journal of the European Society for Philosophy of Medicine and Health Care. It provides a forum for international exchange of research data, theories, reports and opinions in bioethics and philosophy of medicine. The journal promotes interdisciplinary studies, and stimulates philosophical analysis centered on a common object of reflection: health care, the human effort to deal with disease, illness, death as well as health, well-being and life.
Philosophy, Ethics, and Humanities in Medicine is an open access, peer-reviewed online journal that encompasses all aspects of the philosophy of medicine and biology, and the ethical aspects of clinical practice and research. It also considers papers at the intersection of medicine and humanities, including the history of medicine, that are relevant to contemporary philosophy of medicine and bioethics. The journal is the official publication of the Pellegrino Center for Clinical Bioethics at Georgetown University Medical Center.
Theoretical Medicine and Bioethics examines clinical judgment and reasoning, medical concepts such as health and disease, the philosophical basis of medical science, and the philosophical ethics of health care and biomedical research. Theoretical Medicine and Bioethics is an official partner journal of the American Society for Bioethics + Humanities.
Introduces the ways in which interdisciplinary thinking across the humanities and social sciences might contribute to, critique, and develop medical understanding of the human individually and collectively. Covers the intersections between medicine, as broadly defined, and critical thinking.
A survey of the body of work that has already emerged from the field of health humanities. This essay collection reflects the diversity of the field, including disability studies, history, literature, nursing, religion, narrative medicine, philosophy, bioethics, medicine, and the social sciences.
LIMITED TO 3 CONCURRENT USERS. TO MAXIMIZE USE, PLEASE DOWNLOAD THE PDF OF THE CHAPTER NEEDED AND READ IT OFFLINE. Surveys the diverse and unique research methods used by scholars in the growing, transdisciplinary field of health humanities.
Scholarly Projects, Research, and Publishing Resources