Scholarly Concentrations
This guide contains resources and services that the Ruth Lilly Medical Library provides to support the Scholarly Concentrations at the Indiana University School of Medicine.
Librarian
Rick Ralston
Contact:
Ruth Lilly Medical Library
975 W. Walnut Street, IB 310F
Indianapolis, IN 46202
975 W. Walnut Street, IB 310F
Indianapolis, IN 46202
(317) 274-1409
About this page
This page contains resources that may be helpful with the Health Integration and Healthy Aging Scholarly Concentration project and product.
Please refer to the Scholarly Concentration Canvas site for the most up to date list of required readings and materials for other courses.
If you have any questions or suggestions for improving this page, please contact Rick Ralston at rralston@iu.edu.
Articles
Below are resources that include articles related to health system science.
- Engineering Village This link opens in a new windowThis is a good resource for articles and conference proceedings on health information technology and systems engineering approaches to healthcare management.
- Health Business FullTEXT (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowArticles covering the business of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management. (Access provided by INSPIRE: Indiana’s Virtual Library)
- HealthSTAR (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowIndex of literature on both the clinical and non-clinical aspects of health services, technology, administration, and research.
- PAIS Index (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowArticles, grey literature, and government reports in public affairs including health policy.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowIndex to articles covering all aspects of medicine. Developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). Having trouble accessing the full text of an article? Read below.
Journals
- Health AffairsA multidisciplinary, peer-reviewed journal dedicated to the serious exploration of major domestic and international health policy issues with the unique goal of incorporating in one publication the diverse viewpoints and perspectives of the health sphere–industry, labor, government, and academe.
- Health Care Management ReviewFeatures multidisciplinary content that includes new developments, practical solutions, and insightful analyses in finance, marketing, labor relations, cost containment, quality assurance, planning, computers and technology, staff recruitment, pay and benefits, and much more.
- Health EconomicsPublishes articles on all aspects of health economics including the determinants of health and its definition and valuation, as well as the demand for and supply of health care; planning and market mechanisms; micro-economic evaluation of individual procedures and treatments; and evaluation of the performance of health care systems.
- Health Services ResearchA peer-reviewed scholarly journal that provides researchers and public and private policymakers with the latest research findings, methods, and concepts related to the financing, organization, delivery, evaluation, and outcomes of health services.
- Milbank QuarterlyPublishes scholarly papers that illuminate and add new insights to our understanding of important policy issues involving health and health care. The intended audience includes the academic community, researchers working in all types of settings, and decision makers in both the public and private sectors.
Books
Delivering Health Care in America by ISBN: 9781284124491Publication Date: 2017LIMITED TO 1 CONCURRENT USER. PLEASE CLOSE WHEN FINISHED TO ALLOW OTHERS TO USE THE BOOK. Clarifies the complexities of health care organization and finance while presenting a solid overview of how the various components fit together.
Health Systems Thinking by ISBN: 9781284167146Publication Date: 2020LIMITED TO 1 CONCURRENT USER. PLEASE CLOSE WHEN FINISHED TO ALLOW OTHERS TO USE THE BOOK. This book is a primer focusing on systems thinking as it spans the domains of health administration, public health, and clinical practice.
Performance Improvement in Hospitals and Health Systems by ISBN: 9781138296404Publication Date: 2018-02-20Guide to performance improvement in healthcare, using the management engineering principles focused on designing optimal management and information systems and processes. Case studies and examples are integrated throughout all chapters.
A Systems Engineering Approach to Better, Less Expensive Health Care by ISBN: 9781633219649Publication Date: 2014-01-01LIMITED TO 1 CONCURRENT USER. PLEASE CLOSE WHEN FINISHED TO ALLOW OTHERS TO USE THE BOOK. Strategy for reforming payment systems; building a health-data infrastructure; providing technical assistance; increasing community collaboration; sharing best practices; and training health professionals in systems engineering approaches.
Systems Science and Population Health (Print) by ISBN: 9780190492397Publication Date: 2017Employs principles from across a range of sciences to refine the way we understand population health. By augmenting traditional analytic approaches with new tools like machine learning, microsimulation, and social network analysis, population health can be studied as a dynamic and complex system.
Scholarly Projects, Research, and Publishing Resources
- Presentation Skills Toolkit for Medical StudentsThe Undergraduate Medical Education Section of the Group on Educational Affairs developed this toolkit as a resource for medical students and health professions trainees as you learn to create and give effective presentations in the classroom, in the clinical setting, and at academic meetings and conferences.
- Scholarly Publishing GuideThis guide is intended to assist scholars early in their publishing career.
- IUSM Research Compliance Research GuideThis guide contains information about the NIH mandate, open access, and data management policies.
- Scholarly Impact Research GuideThis guide contains information on where to publish as well as ways to determine the impact of scholarly products.
- Research Data ServicesThis guide provide resources and services for managing data during each step of the research process.
- ORCIDProvides a persistent digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher.
Organizations and Other Resources
- AMA Health Systems Science Learning SeriesA series of free, online education modules developed by the American Medical Association to help students develop competencies in Health Systems Science. The first six modules in the new Health Systems Science Learning Series are available for free through the AMA Ed Hub™. The six modules cover the following topics: Health Care Delivery Systems, Patient Safety, Population Health, Quality Improvement, Social Determinants of Health, and Systems Thinking.
- Beyond Flexner AllianceBeyond Flexner Alliance (BFA) is a national movement, focused on health equity and training health professionals as agents of more equitable health care. This movement takes us beyond centuries-old conventions in health professions education to train providers prepared to build a system that is not only better, but fairer.
- Health Research & Education Trust (HRET)Founded in 1944, the Health Research & Educational Trust (HRET) is the not-for-profit research and education affiliate of the American Hospital Association (AHA). HRET’s mission is to transform health care through research and education. HRET’s applied research seeks to create new knowledge, tools and assistance in improving the delivery of health care by providers and practitioners within the communities they serve.