LibGuides: Public Health & Health Administration: Home

Welcome to the Public Health Guide

This is the starting point for help with public health research. The menu to the left will help you find resources to meet your research needs.

All of the resources on this guide are available off-campus. See how to access databases off-campus at this link.

Contact the public health librarian if you would like research assistance.

I need to find...

I need help...

Core Databases for Public Health

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is the largest database of biomedical articles, and will still be accessible to you post-graduation.
Not all search results in PubMed will lead you to the full text of an article (PDF or html) or publication to which we subscribe or have access. After searching, click the red "Find It" button to the right on your search results screen to search for that article against our library's holdings. If you do not see a red "Find It" button, add the following to the end of the URL you are viewing:
/?otool=iusomlib
If that does not work, contact tech support.

Google Scholar
Search for scholarly documents across the web, with Find It @ IUPUI links. See our FAQ for setting up Google Scholar for off-campus use.

ProQuest Public Health This link opens in a new window
Core public health literature including journals, news, trade publications, reports and more.
EMBASE (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
This database covers biomedical research, similar to PubMed. Unlike PubMed, Embase also includes conference abstracts, and more European research. It is especially good for pharmacology research.
Elsevier requires that you have an account in order to export from this database. If you do not have an account, you can create a free Elsevier account by going to https://www.mendeley.com and clicking on “Create Account.” Once you have created this account, it will work for other Elsevier products as well.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a large database that covers many disciplines, including health and social sciences. Scopus is most often used for forward and backward citation chaining.
Elsevier requires that you have an account in order to export from this database. If you do not have an account, you can create a free Elsevier account by going to https://www.mendeley.com and clicking on “Create Account.” Once you have created this account, it will work for other Elsevier products as well.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is large, multidisciplinary database similar to Scopus.
Global Health This link opens in a new window
Public health research and practice containing information from journals, reports, books and conferences from 1973 - present.
PsycINFO 1887-current (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Index of the literature in psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Find articles on a wide variety of topics related to psychology and the workplace, such as training, communication, motivation, retention, and sales.