LibGuides: Psychology: Tests/Measures

Important Note About Tests & Measures

Psychological measures (test, scales, inventories, etc.) can be difficult to obtain without paying a fee.

Most often, you need to purchase the test from a commercial publisher or the test's author.

Occasionally, a test will be included with a journal article or printed in part or in full in books.

If you wish to acquire a test for educational purposes, you may be able to obtain a copy free of charge; however, this still entails contacting the publisher or author and stating your purpose for the test.

FAQ/Finding Information About Psychological Tests (APA)

Test Databases

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) series provides critical evaluations for over 2,000 commercial tests.

Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) series, produced since 1938 by the Buros Institute, provides users with critical evaluations for over 2,000 commercial tests within a wide variety of areas that include education, psychology, business, aptitude, achievement, and intelligence. Written by leading experts in the field, this series supports the informed selection and use of commercial testing products.

Typical MMY entries include descriptive information about the test, professional reviews, and reviewer references. To be included in this series, a test must be commercially available, be published in the English language, and be new or substantively revised since it last appeared in the series. Full text of test reviews is included in the database, and up to three independent reviews are included for each test.
PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), PsycTESTS serves as a repository for a growing selection of psychological tests and measures, including thousands of ACTUAL TEST INSTRUMENTS AND TEST ITEMS. International in scope, PsycTESTS® also provides access to an increasing number of tests that are available in languages other than English. PsycTESTS® is an authoritative source of structured information about tests of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. While focused on contemporary instances of test use, coverage spans more than a century.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to evaluation and measurement tools (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.

Websites

BUROS Center for Testing
Meantal Measurements Yearbook Test Reviews Online
The free electronic version of MMY, however, it does not contain the reviews of the library's online subscription linked to above.