LibGuides: Physician Assistant Program: Clinical Tools & Apps

Clinical Tools & Evidence Based Medicine Resources

Clinical Databases

Includes evidence summaries, guidelines, articles and books, calculators, appraisal tools and more

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine (ACM) is an online medical resource that provides students and practitioners with tools for basic and advanced studies, clerkships, test prep and decision-making at the point-of-care. ACM provides medical students, residents, nurse practitioners, physician assistants and practicing physicians with interactive content, self-assessment, and leading medical texts including Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine and CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment.
ACP Journal Club This link opens in a new window
ACP Journal Club is a monthly feature of Annals of Internal Medicine. Research staff and clinical editors rigorously review and assess the quality and clinical relevance of published medical literature.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
An online search tool that provides physicians with smarter, faster clinical answers. Need to export searches? Click "more..."
Elsevier requires that you have an account in order to export from this database. If you do not have an account, you can create a free Elsevier account by going to https://www.mendeley.com and clicking on “Create Account.” Once you have created this account, it will work for other Elsevier product as well.
JAMAevidence This link opens in a new window
Integrates available evidence with clinical experience.

Diagnostic Manuals and Tools

Visual DX This link opens in a new window
VisualDx is a clinical decision support system that helps clinicians recognize and diagnose visually presenting conditions.

International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems (ICD-11)
International Classification of Diseases, 11th revision. Put into effect by World Health Organization January 1, 2022

DSM-V (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th Edition) This link opens in a new window
Used by health professionals, social workers, and forensic and legal specialists to diagnose and classify mental disorders.

DSM 5: Fact Sheet
Outlines changes from DSM IV TR to DSM 5

Clinical Skills Videos

Clinical Skills from JoVE
Includes physical examination technique videos, and a collection of emergency medicine and clinical care procedures.

Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) This link opens in a new window
Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a peer-reviewed journal of videos, including ones on clinical skills used during physical exams and critical care.

Clinical Apps

Tip: Recommend being on a secure wireless connection, such as Eduroam at Indiana University or a VPN. Some apps will download large amounts of information.

Access App (replaces AccessMedicine App as of August 2023)
First, go to the AccessMedicine link (above) Click on the "Sign In" button on the top right corner, and click on the "Sign In or Create a Free Access Profile" link. Select the "Create a Free Access Profile" button to register your account. Then download the app on your device, and use your Access Profile account login in to open the app. Help is available at: Access App: Getting Started
Available: Google Play Store OR iTunes
The Library subscribes to: AccessAnesthesiology, AccessMedicine, AccessObGyn, AccessSurgery. Not included in the App are: Case Files Collection and JAMAevidence. You will need to log into your personal account through the Medical Library's website every 90 days to continue using the App.
APSA Pediatric Surgery Library (NaT) App
First create a username and password using the link above. Click Sign In, then Register, and select Pediatric Surgery Library. Once your username and password have been created, download the mobile app, use your newly created account information to unlock the app. Includes Pediatric Surgery NaT (Not a Textbook).
Note: The app can can only be installed on one device at any given time. ExPERT CME is NOT part of the library subscription.
Available: Google Play Store OR iTunes
Board Vitals
You MUST be onsite at Indiana University for your first login. Sign up using your institutional email address and you will be logged in and registered for BoardVitals. Once you have logged in the first time, your account has been authenticated and you can visit https://ulib.iupui.edu/cgi-bin/proxy.pl?url=https://www.boardvitals.com/users/sign_in at any location at any time to continue using BoardVitals. Provides thousands of questions that cover all categories presented on the USMLE Steps 1, 2, &3 and NBME Shelf Exams.
Available: Google Play Store or iTunes
Browzine
Download the BrowZine app from your app store and open. Under Library, choose: Indiana University School of Medicine. NOTE: You may need to enter your IU username, passphrase and DUO to access full text of articles. Access the Browzine Help Sheet .
Available: Google Play Store OR iTunes
EndNote App for iOS
Not a Library subscription app. Manage your reference citations easier with EndNote. Note: Endnote does not support Android.
Available: iTunes
Micromedex Mobile Apps
5 apps: Drug Information, Drug Interaction, IV Compatibility, NeoFax, and Pediatrics. Each app is added separately. Click on the Micromedex link and select "Mobile Application Access" (upper right) for directions on how to install. Must update annually for continued access.
Available: Google Play Store OR iTunes
New York Times
Courtesy of IUPUI University Library, you can stay connected to the NYTimes!
uCentral Mobile App
Click on the link above, and click on the "sign in" button and register for a free account. Use your newly created account information to unlock the app. Apps include: John Hopkins ABX and HIV Guides, and Calculators.
Available: Google Play Store OR iTunes
UpToDate Mobile Apps
UpToDate is a point-of-care, physician authored clinical resource. Click on the link above and register (upper right hand corner) for a free account. Then download the app and unlock it with your free account.
Note: Sign in to your account every 90 days through IU to be able to access the app.
Available: Google Store OR iTunes
VisualDX Mobile
Build a custom differential diagnosis. Click on the above link, and then click on "Get the Mobile App" button located below the Quick Start Differential Builder (blue bar). Use your newly created account credentials to unlock the app.
Available: Google Store OR iTunes