LibGuides: Organizational Leadership: Find, access, & cite articles

Librarian

Contact:

I am happy to reply by email or Canvas messages to support your classwork or research.

Or, please use the "Make an Appointment" link toward the bottom of this guide's Welcome page "Help Options". Select my name from the list of subject librarians to see available times and request a Zoom or MS Teams appointment. Sending details about your topic is very helpful.

If my listed times don't work for you, you are welcome to send 2 or 3 days/times you could meet by email. I'll respond. :~)

Subjects: Computer Science, Engineering & Technology

Initial databases to find articles

For keyword search tips see a library DIY page.

Try searching two or three core article databases resources listed in this box, testing several search strategies. Input on search strategies, such as how to browse subject terms, is available any time the library is open from 2nd level library desk staff or at 317-274-0469.

Once your topic becomes clear, more specialized, in-depth databases can help you find peer-reviewed journal articles and conference papers (proceedings). Additional databases to research an industry, or consider perspectives from human relations-, business-, government-, or education-related sources, are given in the next content box down.

ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Includes short, practical "trade" journal articles for diverse topics and industries.Test simple search statements using AND between concepts; for example: leadership and electronics industry.
NYTimes.com This link opens in a new window
Unlimited access to the NYTimes website, including excellent topic overview articles at Business and Tech. See instructions to obtain a personal password using this link. At Business, also see subsections Tech or Econ. At Econ, see Entrepreneurship, or Energy for detailed overviews of topics related to "Energy and Environment", including infrastructure, sustainability and resilience. See activation and access details. Personal access credentials expire after 12 months and can be renewed at the library's activation page.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Large multidisciplinary collection of scholarly, popular, and trade journal articles. Does not provide comprehensive disciplinary search results; for more advanced projects and topics, it needs to be used in conjunction with other resources. For best results, test simple keyword combinations attempting to get no more than about 100 article hits.
ProQuest Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Large multidisciplinary collection of articles.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a quick, convenient was to access scholarly articles on a topic, but like other resources, is not comprehensive. It's useful in combination with other resources such as Engineering Village, IEEE, etc. If "Find it at IUPUI" links are not showing, you can set up linking to campus full-text articles. See our FAQ for setting up Google Scholar for off-campus use. Database is also a good resource to find a review article addressing the state of knowledge on a topic. Hint: add to your search expression: and (scoping review or systematic review)
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Useful for topics such as business management, logistics, applications of software for business purposes. To save time in the long run, get more relevant results by selecting option "suggest search terms" or browse the Thesaurus to find terms to match your topic. Add or combine subject terms at Advanced Search.
To search for Research Review articles, addressing the state of the art of knowledge on a topic, try adding to your search statement: and scoping review
PsycINFO 1887-current (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Find articles on a wide variety of topics related to workplace psychology, such as motivation, communication, training, and sales.
To look for Research Review articles addressing the state of knowledge on a topic, add to your search expression: and (scoping review or systematic review)
Education Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Search for education- and training related articles. Check the article abstract by using the article hot-link. If full-text is not given, use the FindIt option for the article. See the FindIt graphic at the bottom of this page.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Directly access full-text Research Review articles, addressing the state of knowledge on a topic, but only for subject collections Business & Management, Political Science, Philosophy, and Religion. After a search, to see hits only for articles that we have in full-text, use Narrow your Choices: By Availability: Unlocked and Free. The library may be able to obtain copies of other articles for you via Interlibrary Loan; https://ulib.iupui.edu/ill

CORE: Search hundreds of Open Access Repositories
"The world’s largest collection of open access research papers." Search for freely available journal articles and other resources at open access repositories, including IUPUI ScholarWorks.
OSF Preprints
Search entire resource or subject collections using expressions such as mentor*, facilitat* resilien*, etc. Searches engrXiv, arXiv, and numerous other preprint resources. See option at upper right to Sort results by Modified Date (newest to oldest).

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
News, business, and legal sources —including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Regional, national, and international newspapers and newswires. Can be a good starting point to explore a topic. Test simple search statements using AND between keyword concepts to get between approximately 10 and 100 article hits.
NewsBank Databases This link opens in a new window
Local, regional, and national newspapers, both current and historical. Links to various Newsbank databases, search engines, special reports, and current events ("hot topics")

Locate harder-to-find articles

Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Open Access: search across the diverse peer-reviewed journals and access full-text.
PsycARTICLES (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Includes articles on a wide variety of topics related to workplace psychology, such as motivation, communication, and training.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary index primarily for the sciences and social sciences.
Database is also a good resource to find a research review article addressing the state of knowledge on a topic. Hint: Limit results to Document type: Review
Or, add to your search expression: and (scoping review or systematic review)
Need to export searches? Click "more..."
Elsevier requires that you have an account in order to export from this database. If you do not have an account, you can create a free Elsevier account by going to https://www.mendeley.com and clicking on “Create Account.” Once you have created this account, it will work for other Elsevier products as well.
CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
Reports, summaries, and pro/con views on a range of current issues.
Legislative Insight (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides "...compilations of digital full-text publications created by Congress during the process leading up to the enactment of U.S. Public Laws." Also see Regulatory Insight and Supreme Court Insight, linked alphabetically at library site Databases A-Z.

Library databases: Business Management
Browse additional library databases to find magazine and journal articles on management topics.
Library resource guide: Research an industry, company, or a market
Browse additional library databases. See links on upper left to navigate from the industry sources page to resource pages to research companies or markets.
For topics with tech/eng dimensions: Browse additional resources at "TCM" subject page for articles
For broad, in-depth coverage of articles on technical topics, see Applied Science & Technology, Engineering Village, and IEEE Explore databases.
Library Databases: Labor Studies
Browse additional library databases to find magazine and journal articles related to Labor Studies.

Write, cite & present

Details are available via mouse-over note. Citation resources apply to various types of resources and media, such as personal contacts, images, professional webpages, books, ebooks, technical papers, etc.

Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory This link opens in a new window

Obtain articles for free

See resource details via mouse-over note.

FindIt Graphic; easily obtain article Full-Text

Finding the Full-Text of an Article Visual

Detailed description of, "Finding Full Text" diagram