LibGuides: Marketing: Consumer Analysis

Tip - Searching MSA or DMA

Some databases allow you to search for information on consumers based on MSA or DMA.

MSA: Metropolitan Statistical Area. The US government divides the country into MSAs which usually include a metropolitan city and the suburban areas surrounding.

DMA: Designated Market Area. This is a geographic region set up by the Nielsen Company (ratings). Each DMA is made up of the counties that make up a city's television viewing area. Note: Indianapolis's DMA ranking for 2019 is 28.

Demographics

United States Census Bureau This link opens in a new window
Search, browse, retrieve, view, map, print, and download Census data (formerly American FactFinder).
DemographicsNow (Gale) This link opens in a new window
U.S. Demographic data and reports from the national to local level. Useful for market analysis and segmentation. Create interactive maps, and radius based maps and reports. Current year estimates and five-year projections of key demographics. Includes access to Mosaic Segmentation.

Stats Indiana
Statistical data on Indiana, including census and population data, economic and labor reports, and county profiles
Consumer Expenditure Survey
From the Bureau of Labor Statistics.

Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA) This link opens in a new window
Use the US Consumers and Lifestyle database to find consumer preferences and demographic information about households. Use the US businesses database to compile a list of businesses in a specific geographical region.

Lifestyle & Psychographics (Values, Attitudes)

Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides data on a variety of disciplines. Data points presented in multiple formats including reports, graphs, infographics, and PowerPoint slides.
Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
Consumer U.S. market research including market sizes and trends, market segmentation, consumer attitudes and purchasing habits, and assessing the future of the market.
MarketResearch.com Academic This link opens in a new window
Market trends and qualitative insights in consumer and business markets. Features market research publishers Kalorama Information (Healthcare / Life Sciences), Mind Commerce (Technology), Freedonia Focus Reports (industry research, and Packaged Facts (Consumer).
MRI SImmons This link opens in a new window
Survey data on U.S. consumers including adults, kids, and teens providing demographics, attitudes, behavior, media use, use of digital and mobile technologies, and buying habits. Includes consumer segmentation analysis. Limit to 10 concurrent users. Tutorial videos are available at their Youtube channel.

How to create a demographic profile

(Example shows how to make one for someone who makes business purchase decisions at work but can be used for also consumer and brand related queries)

How to use cross-tabs in MRI Simmons. (Video)

How to understand Index in MRI Simmons. (Video)

DemographicsNow (Gale) This link opens in a new window
This database offers Mosaic Reports. Experian Mosaic USA Consumer Lifestyle Segmentation is a household based marketing segmentation methodology that segments households by behavior, attitude, and preferences.
Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA) This link opens in a new window
Use the US Consumers and Lifestyle database to find consumer preferences and demographic information about households. Use the US businesses database to compile a list of businesses in a specific geographical region.

Social Surveys, Polls, & Trendspotting

Gallup
Polling and market research firm that provides analytics attitudes and behaviors of employees, customers, students and citizens
General Social Survey
Social survey gathering data since 1972 on changing demographics and social attitudes conducted by NORC at the University of Chicago.
Harris Interactive Polls
Frequent polls tap into a representative sample of Americans of all ages, genders, income and ethnic backgrounds. From sports to health, politics to the economy, the Harris Poll reflects Americans’ opinions on a wide range of topics and are regularly published by national, local, consumer, business and trade media outlets.
Nielsen Insights
News, analysis, and market research reports on current trends covering consumer, global, innovation, media and entertainment, mobile, and online topics.
Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.

Note: These are all web resources.