Citation management tools allow you to keep citations, full-text articles, and other research resources organized in one place. These tools can also be used to format your bibliographies and the citations in your papers according to the appropriate style (APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.) To use these tools, you should be familiar with the target citation style in order to input information correctly and notice any errors in your bibliography. Please be aware that using a citation manager is not a substitute for knowledge of the citation style. Contact a subject librarian for further assistance.
EndNote is software that helps manage citations for bibliographies. Includes an add-in for Microsoft Word. For questions about EndNote, please contact Willie Miller, the EndNote specialist librarian, or your subject librarian.
Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research. It includes a Microsoft Word plug-in and web importer. For questions, please contact Bronwen Maxson, the Mendeley specialist librarian, or your subject librarian.
Zotero is a free Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, cite, and share your research sources. It includes an add-in for Microsoft Word. For questions, please contact Ted Polley, the Zotero specialist librarian, or your subject librarian.
The IUPUI University Writing Center (UWC) is a free service available to all IUPUI students, faculty, and staff, at both the graduate and undergraduate level. It is a place where students can go for help with writing assignments and projects. The UWC offers students the opportunity to work one-on-one with experienced readers and writers.
The UWC offers two convenient locations: Cavanaugh Hall (CA 427) and University Library (UL 2125).
To schedule a tutoring session at either the Cavanaugh Hall location or University Library location, you may telephone the CA location at (317) 274-2049, telephone the UL location at (317) 278-8171, or visit either UWC location. You must provide both your name and your University ID number, at the time you schedule the session.
There are many reasons why it is so important to cite the sources you use in your research.
Citing Sources
Many of the library's databases allow you to save or email an MLA citation for an article.
Look for the following buttons or links:
Depending on which database you are in, you can selecting the "Citation Tools" link to save the citation in MLA format or click on the "Cite this article" icon to get citations from several different style guides. Make sure you select the appropriate style for your citations. For W270, that will be MLA style. When you get the citation, it may look like one of the following examples:
Tips for Managing Volunteers With Disabilities. Chronicle of Philanthropy, 18(23) (2006): 17. Academic
Search Premier: Accessed March 25, 2009 from http://find.galegroup.com/itx/start.do?prodId=AONE.
Karl, Katherine A., Joy V. Peluchette, and Leda M. Hall. "Give Them Something To Smile About: A Marketing
Strategy For Recruiting And Retaining Volunteers." Journal Of Nonprofit & Public Sector Marketing,
vol. 20, no. 1, 2008, pp. 71-96. Academic Search Premier, Retrieved 7 Oct. 2014.
Warning: Don't just copy and paste these citations into your paper! Note the formatting and content errors and extraneous information in the above citations in red. The library's databases are good at getting the right pieces of information in the right places for these citations, but they are not perfect. You will need to make some modifications to these to ensure they follow the guidance found in the Modern Language Association Handbook. Pay particular attention to capitalization and punctuation.
According to the Purdue OWL site, a citation in MLA 8th style should have the following elements:
Author. Title. Title of container (self contained if book), Other contributors (translators or editors),
Version (edition), Number (vol. and/or no.), Publisher, Publisher Date, Location (pp.).
2ndcontainer’s title, Other contributors, Version, Number, Publisher, Pub date, Location.
Talk to your instructor or librarian, or schedule a visit with the University Writing Center for more help with MLA style.
There are many different "styles" you may choose from when citing sources. Your professor will probably tell you which "style" is preferred for your class. MLA (Modern Language Association), Chicago, and APA (American Psychological Association) are three of the most commonly used citation styles, but there are hundreds.
Recent editions of style manuals, which include detailed information and examples, are available at the Services & Information Desk at the University Library. If you need help on your research project, please contact a subject specialist librarian.
We have the Chicago Manual of Style available online as well as in print. For quick reference, there are many online sources. One of the best is the Purdue OWL. But be aware that the manual is always the most authoritative source.
