LibGuides: Electrical & Computer Engineering/Electrical & Computer Engineering Technology: Welcome

Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

rahalver@iupui.edu; UL 3120A

I am happy to reply to questions and suggestions by email or Canvas messages to support your classwork or research. Or, use the "Consultations" link in the "Help Options" box to see available times and request a Zoom or MS Teams appointment. Sending details about your topic is very helpful.

If my listed times don't work for you, you are welcome to send 2 or 3 days/times you could meet by email. I'll respond. :~)

Subjects: Computer Science, Engineering & Technology, Science

Contact Us

	Find Us: https://iupui.libguides.com/librarians
	Call Us: 317-274-0469
	Text Us: 317-279-6630
	Email Us: Service & Information Desk
	Follow Us: @IUPUILibrary
	Like Us: IUPUI Library
	Follow Us: IUPUILibrary
	IM Us: Ask a Librarian

Need help?

Use one of the tabs above or left to find specific information in the field of Electrical & Computer Engineering & Electrical & Computer Engineering Technology (ECE & ECET).

QUICK Library Research Help. The University Library provides assistance in many ways during library hours, especially during academic sessions:

By phone : 317-274-0469 or 317-274-0472
By chat Monday - Friday 9 - 5 at left side of page: Research Help
By e-mail: refdesk@iupui.edu
By text: (66746)
In-person at the 2nd level lobby Information/Reference desk

FOR MORE HELP, contact resource/research specialist Randall Halverson. I'm happy to support your classwork or research via email or Canvas message suggestions or by appointment. Email is an effective medium to send questions: rahalver@iupui.edu or rahalver@iu.edu. For the best results, please include your course in the subject line, and background details, especially,

details about your project topic, such as your personal or professional interest in the topic,
whether you want to focus your topic and explore possible research directions, or search for "big picture" overview sources or in-depth specialized sources, etc.,
search resources and strategies that you've already tried.

To request a RESERVATION to meet by Zoom or MS Teams, please use the library's "Consultation" appointment page, selecting my name from the list. If my time options shown on the calendar don't work for you, you are welcome to send 2 or 3 days/times you could meet by email. I'll respond. :~)

To browse resources for a different E&T field, access the Engineering & Technology link at the subject research guides browse page to see 7 more E&T subject options.

How Do I?/FAQs

How-To Guides: To help you become a better researcher
Browse guides and tutorials to plan a literature review, evaluate sources, narrow your topic, improve your search terms and get more relevant results, use software to organize references and writing projects, etc.
On Demand Services: Request that the library purchase a book, ebook, etc.

Resource Highlights

IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE and IET full-text digital library providing extensive articles, conference papers and standards in engineering and applications of information technology for numerous fields. Includes 1000s of articles on topics related to product design and development; production engineering and management; control engineering; energy management systems, etc.
ASME Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
Search and browse full-text ASME conference papers (the proceedings) in addition to articles from over 30 ASME journals addressing energy, nanotechnology, biomechanics, dynamic systems, mechanics, and more.
SAE MOBILUS This link opens in a new window
Access SAE Technical Papers, written and peer-reviewed by experts in the automotive, aerospace, and commercial vehicle industries. The library’s subscription gives access to more than 92,000 technical papers....
American Society of Civil Engineers Library This link opens in a new window
Access journal articles on topics including energy engineering, infrastructure, engineering practice, management, and much more. Request a free copy of a conference (proceedings) paper using the library's ILLiad (interlibrary loan) system.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Large, Interdisciplinary, multi-publisher research database. May be the strongest (relatively comprehensive) search competition to Google Scholar, potentially having better linking to obtain full-text copies of articles. Useful for forward citation searching.
Database is also a good resource to find a Research Review article addressing the state of knowledge on a topic. Hint: Limit results to Document type: Review
And/or (the two approaches may pick up some different articles), add to your search expression: and (scoping review or systematic review)
Need to export searches? Click "more..."
Elsevier requires that you have an account in order to export from this database. If you do not have an account, you can create a free Elsevier account by going to https://www.mendeley.com and clicking on “Create Account.” Once you have created this account, it will work for other Elsevier products as well.
NYTimes.com This link opens in a new window
Access full site, excellent articles in sections. At Business, also see subsections Tech or Econ. At Econ, see Entrepreneurship, or Energy for detailed overviews of topics related to "Energy and Environment", including infrastructure, sustainability and resilience. Access nytimes.com via a web browser and smart phone and tablet apps. You must register for access, and access must be renewed every 12 months.

Numerous library "How to..." resources

Anytime from anywhere access

You can access almost all of the library's electronic resources (databases) from home or other location as an IUPUI student, or staff or faculty member. Library resources are "IP-filtered". Access typically requires

using the campus computer network, such as the campus wireless system, or
by using a library site link to the resource (from off-campus, brings up an IU login popup window to authenticate), or
by running an IUPUI VPN connection as described at "Off-Campus Access to Resources (EZ Proxy)", or
connecting via IUanyWare.

With Covid-related network changes, VPN does not always work for certain resources. In that case, use a library site resource link or install our new EZProxy Bookmarklet.

Note that for Skillsoft IT- and Business-related ebooks, using a library site link is required on or off the campus network.

Obtain full-text article or other item

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly documents across the web, incorporating "Find It @ IUPUI" links to campus full-text if available. For best results, use a link to Google Scholar from a library site. Note: if you are not seeing any "Find It at IUPUI" links in your Google Scholar search results, see our FAQ for setting up Google Scholar for off-campus use.

Summary and Graphic: LINK to FT or EASILY REQUEST a FREE copy of article from library database search
May be the easiest option to obtain a FULL-TEXT copy of an article. Link to or request an article from the library (quick & free) via a library database. Click the article's "FindIt" link or icon, and if shown, use an "Article" or "Journal" link near the top of FindIt options popup window. Otherwise, scroll down to heading Interlibrary Loan. Click link University Library to send the article details directly to a request form.
You'll need to log in to the ILLiad login popup window. Give your contact details the first time you use ILLiad; after that, requesting an article is fast & easy.
Use IUPUI's "Find e-journals" interface to access campus full-text options for a specific journal or magazine
Add title (the name) of the journal or magazine, not the article title, to search box. Any content sources will show the dates of full-text coverage which they provide. Follow the link to the source to browse or search for an article.
Open ILL and ILLiad: Request (FREE) many items not available to IUPUI
If you need an article, try our new Open ILL form which determines if the article is available in our collection or through open access. If not, or if we have it in print only, employ any data populated by Open ILL to continue. If Open ILL doesn't work, or you need another kind of resource such as a book, scroll down to "Log into Interlibrary Loan" (the full ILLiad resource).

End-of-Class Evaluation

Please complete the library session evaluation linked below (requires IUPUI login).

Your participation is greatly appreciated and will help us improve our instruction!

End of Class Evaluation

End-of-Class Evaluation QR Code