Skip to main content

In-person Library services have been altered to limit COVID-19 spread. Read our Opening Guide for more information.

Company Research

Resources and strategies to assist in researching company information

Research Tip!

Don't forget to use article databases to search for news articles related to your private company. Articles may reveal financial, marketing, and strategy information.

Private Company Information

Private company information can be difficult to find. These databases have infomation on private companies. Sometimes more information is found in news and trade publications. Combine a search of these databases with article databases listed below.

Research Private Local Companies

If your project's company is a smaller, local company it may not be in some of the larger business databases. Here are strategies you can use to find information:

Strategy #1: Search for a company website.

Strategy #2: Search databases that contain some private company information. Suggested databases:

  • ReferenceUSA: OneSource and US Businesses databases.
  • Marketline Advantage
  • Hoover's Company Profiles
  • Business Insights: Essentials (Gale)

Strategy #3: Consider using a similar public company as a proxy.

By researching a company that is similar to your own you may be able find analysis that explain key issues that could be affecting your project's company including opportunities and threats, consumer trends, and issues affecting the supply chain.

Strategy #4: Look for news articles in local newspapers and periodicals. Three databases that may help you find articles mentioning your company are: