Citing Sources
This guide will assist you with citing sources in your papers.
What is EndNote Basic?
EndNote Basic is a web-based bibliographic management tool for collecting, organizing, sharing and formatting citations.
All University of IUSM students, faculty and staff are eligible for a free EndNote Basic account.
EndNote Desktop vs. EndNote Basic
| EndNote Desktop | EndNote Basic | |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Free for faculty, staff, and graduate students - $113.95 for undergraduate students | Free |
| Reference Storage | Unlimited | 50,000 |
| Attachment Storage | Unlimited | 2 GB |
| Bibliographic Formatting Styles | All styles (5,000+) | All styles (5,000+) |
| Reference Sharing | Yes | Yes |
| Send references directly from online databases | 500+ | 500+ |
| Search online resources from within EndNote | 6,000+ | 1,800+ |
| Formatting in Microsoft Word | Yes | Yes |
| One-click 'Find Full Text' | Yes | No |
| Automatic reference updating | Yes | No |
| Advanced reference organization | Yes | No |
- More Detailed ComparisonVisit this site for a more detailed comparison of the two versions. Make sure to select "I HAVE WEB OF KNOWLEDGE" for the most accurate information.
Training and Support
- Contact the Ruth Lilly Medical LibraryLibrarians are happy to assist you with EndNote Basic, or you can refer to one of the help sheets or tutorials below.
- EndNote Basic Video Tutorial, Part 1 Developed by Hardin Library. A 10 minute video that explains and demonstrates how to use this tool for organizing references and creating bibliographies through the Hardin Library for the Health Sciences. Video details how to create an account, import citations, and remove duplicates. Video created by Hardin Library staff; health sciences database examples are provided.
- EndNote Basic Video Tutorial, Part 2 A 7 minute video that explains and demonstrates how to use several features of this tool, including organizing references into groups, accessing full text, attaching PDF files, and producing bibliographies.Video created by Hardin Library staff; health sciences database examples are provided.
- EndNote Basic Video Tutorial, Part 3 A 6 minute video that explains and demonstrates use of the cite while you write tool to insert in text citations and reference lists within Word documents, and apply formatting based on selected style. Video created by Hardin Library staff.
