Skip to main content

Bridge - Introduction to Library Reseach

Find Library Resources

1. Finding a variety of sources (books, articles, news, etc.) on your topic

  • OneSearch, available from the library home page, allows you to search almost all our databases and IUCAT. Here you can find books, articles, news, dissertations, etc.
  • Start here if you're not sure what kinds-of resources might be available on your topic. 
  • If you only want to find books, skip to #2. If you only want articles, skip to #3. 

2. Books

  • You'll find most books by searching IUCAT, the online catalog for all the Indiana University libraries. For help searching IUCAT, Ask A Librarian.
  • Finding Books and other items in the stacks (library shelves):
    • 3rd floor shelves if the call number starts with the letters A-N.
    • 4th floor shelves if the call number starts with the letters P-Z.
    • Tip: Browse the shelves around a call number for more items on the same topic.
  • Use your Crimson Card to check out books at the Circulation Desk on the 2nd floor.

3. Articles (scholarly, magazine, newspaper, etc)

  • You can find articles by searching library databases. We have a lot of databases. A good place to start is Academic Search Premier. This is a general database that contains articles from many different subjects.
  • Off-campus? Most article databases are available by logging in with your IUPUI username and passphrase.
  • Getting Articles and Using the Find It button:
    • If the full text of the article is available through the database, you'll see links to view the article in HTML and/or PDF format.
    • If the full text of the article is not available through the database, you'll see the red “Find It” button. Click the link to be taken to full-text options.