Skip to main content

INFO H567: IOT Interface Design for Business Innovation

This guide is intended for students enrolled in Lou Lenzi's H567.

How to use this guide

This research guide gives places to start for industry research.

  • Industry Information and Profiles  - lists databases that provide industry profiles, trends, and analysis.
  • Company Profiles- find databases with detail analysis of companies.
  • Consumer Analysis: links to resources with important market research and analysis.
  • Find Companies by Industry - databases that allow you to build lists of companies that operate in certain industries.
  • Articles - find news coverage as well as has where to find trade publications for particular industries.

 

Textbooks

NOTE: eBooks may be downloaded using the Adobe Digital Editions app (IOS and Android). More information here.

How to Cite in Presentations - Endnotes

Quick Reference for Endnote Citations using Chicago

Source Type

Examples

Book

Page number refers to page referenced. Always provide.
  1. Firstname Lastname, Title of Book (Place of  publication: Publisher, Year of publication), page number.

E-Book*

Indicate the edition you are reading (e.g. Kindle Edition, PDF e-book, etc.). If page numbers are not available you may use another indicator such as chapter, section, etc. Be as specific as you can and still be recognizable.
  1. Rebecca Lemon, Emma Mason, Johnathan Roberts, and Christopher Rowland, ed. The Blackwell Companion to the Bible in English Literature, (West Sussex: Wiley-Blackwell, 2009), 20, PDF e-book.

OR

  1. Rebecca Lemon, Emma Mason, Johnathan Roberts, and Christopher Rowland, ed. The Blackwell Companion to the Bible in English Literature, (West Sussex: Wiley-Blackwell, 2009), Chapter 2, Kindle Edition.
Journal Article
  1. Mark Frydenberg, “Introducing Big Data Concepts in an Introductory Technology Course,” Information Systems Education Journal 13, no. 5 (September 1, 2015): 12.
Journal Article from Database
  1. Regina Henry and Santosh Venkatraman, “Big Data Analytics the Next Big Learning Opportunity,” Journal of Management Information and Decision Sciences 18, no. 2 (2015): 17–29, accessed February 22, 2016, ABI/INFORM Complete, ProQuest.

Newspaper or Popular Magazine Article

(Example shows database)
  1. Tom Coburn, "A Cancer ‘Moonshot’ Needs Big Data." Wall Street Journal - Eastern Edition, January 15, 2016, accessed January 29, 2016, A13, Business Source Complete, EBSCOhost.
Web Resources
  1. Firstname Lastname, “Title of Web Page,” Publishing Organization or Name of Website in Italics, publication date and/or access date if available, URL.
  2. Keith Carter, “Big Data: What’s the Big Deal?”  National University of Singapore Business School: Think Business, June 03, 2013, accessed October 12, 2015. http://thinkbusiness.nus.sg/articles/item/135-big-data-whats-the-big-deal?

Business Databases

Use your judgement. You may have to create your title (example 2) so that your user knows what you were searching. Always look to see if there is an author (analyst).

Provide the database name not the URL.
  1. Andrew Alverez, “Online Grocery Sales in the US. IBISWorld Industry Report OD5085,”July 2016, IBISWorld.
  2. “List of Greek Restaurants in Wake County, NC,” 2015, US Businesses, ReferenceUSA.
  3. Bryant Harland, “Attitudes Toward Gaming – US- June 2016”, June 2016, Mintel Academic.

Bloomberg Database

Follow the same guidelines as business databases. Often titles will be the screen name combined with the equity you are researching.

  1. "Financial Analysis for Microsoft US Equity," 2017, accessed May 22, 2017, Bloomberg Terminal.
Simmons Oneview Database

 Quick Report :

  1. “Demographic Profile: Business Purchasers making decisions over $5000 a year,” 2014, Spring 2014 NHCS Adult Study 12-Month, Simmons Oneview.

Crosstab Report:

  1. “Crosstab Report: Time of Day Energy Drink Users Watch Television,” 2014, Spring 2014 NHCS Adult Stud 12-Month, Simmons Oneview.