- Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis
- LibGuides
- IUPUC
- Nursing
- Find Articles and Statistics
Nursing
Nursing Research Databases
- CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowCINAHL Plus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 750 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index. Includes selected pamphlets and audiovisual materials.
- Cochrane library This link opens in a new windowHigh-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more. Log in via CAS popup window to start each session.
- EMBASE (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowEmbase is a biomedical research and literature database with over 32 million records for biomedical and pharmacological articles and conference proceedings from 1947 to the present. It covers over 8,500 journals from over 95 countries, including over 2,900 indexed journals unique to Embase. Need to export searches? Click "more..."
- Ovid Databases This link opens in a new windowOvid is a medical research platform that includes single-search access to the following databases: Books@Ovid, Ovid Healthstar, Journals@Ovid, Elsevier Geography, Ovid MEDLINE(R), and Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database.
- Joanna Briggs EBP This link opens in a new windowSummarized and appraised evidence. Publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports. For login help, see also THIS LINK
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowScholarly full text journals on many medical disciplines including strong coverage of nursing and allied health. (Access provided by INSPIRE: Indiana’s Virtual Library)
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowIndex to articles covering all aspects of medicine. Developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). Having trouble accessing the full text of an article? Read below.
General Health Science Research Databases
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary index primarily for the sciences and social sciences. Useful for forward citation searching. Need to export searches? Click "more..." below
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary index that provides citations for high impact journals. Useful for forward citation searching. (Does not support Internet Explorer as a browser)
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowScholarly, popular, and trade articles from 1975-present in all fields. (Partially paid for by INSPIRE: Indiana's Virtual Library.)
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowInformation about behavioral measurement instruments (e.g., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, and organizational behavior.
- Health Business FullTEXT (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowArticles covering the business of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management. (Access provided by INSPIRE: Indiana’s Virtual Library)
- Alt HealthWatch (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowInformation and materials for the evolving practice of holistic medicine and therapies. (Access provided by INSPIRE: Indiana’s Virtual Library)
- HealthSTAR (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowIndex of literature on both the clinical and non-clinical aspects of health services, technology, administration, and research.
- MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowInternational index of articles on biomedicine, including the allied health fields, biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Includes info from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing. 1946-present.
- MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowArticles in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, etc. Access provided by INSPIRE: Indiana’s Virtual Library.
Clinical Practice
Point-of-Care tools
- DynaMedex This link opens in a new windowDynaMedex combines the clinical evidence and guidance from accredited experts in DynaMed with drug information from Micromedex. It is designed to facilitate clinical decision-making at the point of care.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new windowPoint of care tools allow clinicians to quickly access evidence-based information while with the patient. Provides information for diagnosis, treatment, etc. Includes drug calculators, images and more
- R2 Digital Library (Rittenhouse) This link opens in a new windowHealth science ebooks featuring medical, nursing, and allied health sources.
- Ovid Databases This link opens in a new windowUse to search MEDLINE, Embase, JBI EBP, and books using Ovid aggregator
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new windowExperience the world's first Clinical Insight Engine. ClinicalKey is the next generation, online search tool that provides physicians with smarter, faster clinical answers
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new windowCollection of over 60 medical and human biology texts, including Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Hurst's the Heart, the Current Diagnosis & Treatment in Series, and tools like Diagnosaurus, a differential diagnosis tool, and a case study for students.
- ACP Journal Club This link opens in a new windowThe American College of Physicians editorial staff’s review of articles from internal medicine journals. Starting May 2008, published as a monthly feature of Annals of Internal Medicine.
To access ACP Journal Club archive January 1991 – April 2008, Click here
Guidelines and critically appraised resources
- USPSTF: US Preventive Services Task ForceHigh quality preventive services guidelines. Includes evidences grades
- AHRQ EPC Evidence Based ReportsEvidence based research for clinical practice
- Pediatric Care Online This link opens in a new windowFrom the American Academy of Pediatrics, combines clinical information with point-of-care resources. Features include Red Book Online..
- American College of Physicians (ACP)Clinical recommendations based on best evidence
- TRIP This link opens in a new windowClinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Also contains other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.
- National Guideline ClearinghouseThe National Guideline Clearinghouse is a free, public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. Not updated after July 2018
- ECRI TrustProvides guidance for evidence-based decision making
Diagnostic manuals and tools
- Visual DX This link opens in a new windowVisualDx is a clinical decision support system that helps clinicians recognize and diagnose visually presenting conditions.
- DSM-V (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th Edition) This link opens in a new windowUsed by health professionals, social workers, and forensic and legal specialists to diagnose and classify mental disorders.
- ICD-11International Classification of Diseases, 11th revision. In effect by World Health Organization January 1, 2022
Clinical skills videos
- Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) This link opens in a new windowJournal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a peer-reviewed journal of STEM protocols in video format.
- Clinical Skills from JoVEIncludes physical examination technique videos, and a collection of emergency medicine and clinical care procedures.
- Counseling and Therapy in Video: Volume I-V This link opens in a new windowCounseling and Therapy in Video provides faculty and students with a first-hand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice. These collections provide a thorough grounding in dozens of therapeutic methods and diagnoses, insight into the human condition, and training in skills such as reflection and empathy while working with specific populations such as veterans and teens.