General Open Educational Resource Repositories

Applied Math & Science Educational Repository
This repository deals heavily in math and science resources, but also gives users access to content dealing with subjects like history, education, and the fine arts.
BC Open Textbook Collection
BCcampus has curated a collection of open textbooks that align with the top 40 highest enrolled first and second year post-secondary subject areas in British Columbia. Many books have been reviewed by faculty and include ancillary resources.
Digital Public Library of America
Access thousands of primary sources (images, documents, films, etc.). Refine search by type, date, source, and subject.
Education Resources from the Library of Congress
The Library of Congress offers classroom materials and professional development resources to help teachers use primary sources from the Library's vast digital collections.
Global Text Project - Free Tech Books
The Global Text Project (GTP) is a not for profit organization dedicated to the creation, translation, and distribution of free open content textbooks over the Internet. It is an Open educational resources project focusing on reaching university students mainly in developing countries, where textbooks are often expensive and not affordable.
InTech
InTech is the publisher of one of the largest open access collection of books in the fields of Science, Technology and Medicine.
Mason OER Metafinder (MOM)
OER Metafinder launches a real-time, simultaneous search across 22 different sources of open educational materials as you hit the Search button.
MedEdPORTAL
MedEdPORTAL is a free peer-reviewed publishing venue and dissemination portal designed to support educators and learners as they create and use on-line teaching materials, assessment tools and faculty development resources.
MERLOT
A curated collection of Open Educational Resources, includes an ISBN search for material.
MERLOT Advanced Material Search
Search by keyword, discipline, or item attributes such as material type (including open textbook), audience, peer review, mobile platform, license, language, and more.
MERLOT ISBN Search
By using an ISBN, you can find MERLOT Open Educational Resources (OER) that can be used to supplement most textbooks.
NIH Bookshelf
Provides free access to books and documents in life science and healthcare.
Oasis
(Openly Available Sources Integrated Search). Has gathered more than 155,000+ records from 52 different sources that have been carefully selected in collaboration with SUNY OER Services.
OER Commons
A collection of open education resources from the Institute for the Study of Knowledge Management in Education (ISKME).
Open Course Library
Collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments.
The Open Learning Initiative (OLI)
Free online courses and course materials offered by Carnegie Mellon University.
Open Textbook Library
Available resources in a variety of disciplines that have been reviewed by faculty.
The Orange Grove
Florida's OER repository
Pressbook Directory
Provides a directory of Pressbooks titles. Resource has a great filter tool.
Rebus Open Textbook Directory
Developed by Rebus Community, a Canadian organization that supports the creation of open textbooks.
Saylor Academy OpenTexts
Saylor Academy offers over 100 open textbooks under a variety of Creative Commons licenses.
Teaching Commons
Open educational resources from leading universities.
Unglue It
A collection of openly licensed eBooks on a variety of academic and non-academic topics.
WikiEducator
Online community intended for the planning of education projects linked with the development of free content and the development of free content on WikiEducator for free learning

Instructional Resources for Faculty and Librarians

Digital Texts in the Time of COVID by Julia E. Seaman; Jeff Seaman
ISBN: 9780996884877
Publication Date: 2021-03-18
A fascinating look at the 2020 fall semester and what it meant for the adoption of OER and other trends in teaching.
Interactive Open Educational Resources by John D. Shank
ISBN: 9781118421567
Publication Date: 2013-12-13
A Choice Outstanding Academic Title for 2014! Sponsored by the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL), this one-of-a-kind book demonstrates the best tools, resources, and techniques for discovering, selecting, and integrating interactive open educational resources (OERs) into the teaching and learning process. The author examines many of the best repositories and digital library websites for finding high quality materials, explaining in depth the best practices for effectively searching these repositories and the various methods for evaluating, selecting, and integrating the resources into the instructor's curriculum and course assignments, as well as the institution's learning management system.
OER: A Field Guide for Academic Librarians by Andrew Wesolek (Editor); Anne Langley (Editor); Jonathan Lashley (Editor)
ISBN: 9781945398797
Publication Date: 2018
We intend this book to act as a guide writ large for would-be champions of OER, that anyone--called to action by the example set by our chapter authors--might serve as guides themselves. The following chapters tap into the deep experience of practitioners who represent a meaningful cross section of higher education institutions in North America. It is our hope that the examples and discussions presented by our authors will facilitate connections among practitioners, foster the development of best practices for OER adoption and creation, and more importantly, lay a foundation for novel, educational excellence.

Self Publishing Options at IUPUI

Pressbooks
Easy to use software that allows you to create print or ebooks.

Publish eTexts for IU classes (a limited pilot in collaboration with IU Press)
Create open educational resources (OER)
Format instructor-created content for online distribution to students

About Pressbooks

Pressbooks is a cloud-based text creation and publishing tool being piloted by Indiana University through the Unizin consortium. Pressbooks enables authors to create and publish text in multiple formats suited for eReader devices, such as a PDF file (for print or online), a website, or an ePUB file. Faculty can use Pressbooks to:

Publish eTexts for IU classes (a limited pilot in collaboration with IU Press)
Create open educational resources (OER)
Format instructor-created content for online distribution to students

Pressbooks gives you the ability to work with collaborators such as editors, co-authors, and publishers. To learn more about collaborator roles, see the Pressbooks Userguide.

Get help

To learn more about using Pressbooks in your course, send email to the Unizin team.

For more about Pressbooks, see:

If you have trouble accessing your Pressbooks eText via Canvas, contact your campus Support Center.

This is a document in the Knowledge Base.

Open Education Resources (IUPUI)

General Open Educational Resource Repositories

Instructional Resources for Faculty and Librarians

Self Publishing Options at IUPUI

About Pressbooks

Get help