Allied Dental - PubMed/Medline do not include most allied health journals
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowCINAHL Plus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 750 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index. Includes selected pamphlets and audiovisual materials.
Health Science - Including different versions of Medline, same content, different ways to search
Cochrane libraryThis link opens in a new windowHigh-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more. Log in via CAS popup window to start each session.
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowArticles in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, etc. Access provided by INSPIRE: Indiana’s Virtual Library.
MEDLINE (Ovid)This link opens in a new windowInternational index of articles on biomedicine, including the allied health fields, biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Includes info from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing. 1946-present.
PubMedThis link opens in a new windowIndex to articles covering all aspects of medicine. Developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). Having trouble accessing the full text of an article? Read below.
Not all search results in PubMed will lead you to the full text of an article (PDF or html) or publication to which we subscribe or have access. After searching, click the red "Find It" button to the right on your search results screen to search for that article against our library's holdings. If you do not see a red "Find It" button, add the following to the end of the URL you are viewing:
/?otool=iusomlib
If that does not work, contact tech support.
General - These large databases go beyond dentistry and health science; Most include Pubmed/Medline
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowScholarly, popular, and trade articles from 1975-present in all fields. (Partially paid for by INSPIRE: Indiana's Virtual Library.)
Google ScholarThis link opens in a new windowSearch for scholarly documents across the web, with Find It @ IUPUI links. See our FAQ for setting up Google Scholar for off-campus use.
ScopusThis link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary index primarily for the sciences and social sciences. Useful for forward citation searching. Need to export searches? Click "more..." below
Elsevier requires that you have an account in order to export from this database. If you do not have an account, you can create a free Elsevier account by going to https://www.mendeley.com and clicking on “Create Account.” Once you have created this account, it will work for other Elsevier products as well.
Web of ScienceThis link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary index that provides citations for high impact journals. Useful for forward citation searching. (Does not support Internet Explorer as a browser)
Evidence Based Practice - Focused on high-level evidence
Cochrane Database of Systematic ReviewsThis link opens in a new windowCDSR is the leading resource for systematic reviews in health care. Includes Cochrane Reviews (the systematic reviews) and protocols for Cochrane Reviews as well as editorials. The CDSR also has occasional supplements.
Part of Wiley's Evidence Based Medicine Reviews collection, a joint production of the National Library of Medicine (NLM) who produce MEDLINE and Reed Elsevier who produce EMBASE. Contributors follow quality control standards to ensure only reports of definite randomized controlled trials or controlled clinical trials are included.
A daily blog provides "brief summaries highlighting evidence-based publications relevant to dental practice in the UK and around the world."
EMBASE (Elsevier)This link opens in a new windowEmbase is a biomedical research and literature database with over 32 million records for biomedical and pharmacological articles and conference proceedings from 1947 to the present. It covers over 8,500 journals from over 95 countries, including over 2,900 indexed journals unique to Embase. Need to export searches? Click "more..."
Elsevier requires that you have an account in order to export from this database. If you do not have an account, you can create a free Elsevier account by going to https://www.mendeley.com and clicking on “Create Account.” Once you have created this account, it will work for other Elsevier products as well.
"Epistemonikos is a collaborative, multilingual database of health evidence. It is the largest source of systematic reviews relevant for health-decision making, and a large source of other types of scientific evidence."
UK group whose website includes an "Evidence search" with results from numerous groups and agencies.
TRIPThis link opens in a new windowClinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Also contains other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.
IUPUI