The ADA Practical Guide to Patients with Medical Conditions by American Dental Association Staff; Lauren L. Patton (Editor)With new medications, medical therapies, and increasing numbers of older and medically complex patients seeking dental care, all dentists, hygienists, and students need to understand the background of common diseases, medical management, and dental management to coordinate and deliver safe care. Written by more than 25 academicians and clinicians who are experts in the content areas, the evidence-based Practical Guide from the American Dental Association takes a patient-focused approach to help you deliver safe, coordinated oral health care for patients with medical conditions. Systems-based, user-friendly format to save you time! Each chapter of this Practical Guide discusses individual conditions clearly organized under three headings: background, medical management, and dental management Other sections include: disease descriptions, pathogenesis, coordination of care between the dentist and physician, and key questions to ask the patient and physician Key features that make this a must-have book: Coverage of clinical topics including: Cardiovascular Disease, Pulmonary Disease, Endocrine Disorders, Bleeding Disorders, Neurologic Disorders, Neurodevelopmental and Psychiatric Disorders, Geriatric Health and Functional Issues, Neurodevelopmental and Psychiatric Disorders, HIV/AIDS and Related Conditions and much more Identification of risks related to hemostasis, susceptibility to infection, drug actions/interactions, and ability to tolerate dental care, specific to the patient's medical condition More than 200 clinical images ? which you can downloaded from the book's website! Over 75 summary tables to help you digest vital information Quick reference points and guides to key dental care issues in each chapter Companion website with downloadable images and tables and a webliography with click-through links to online sources at www.wiley.com/go/patton Help your patients improve their oral and overall health. Order today! You can purchase a print copy of this book directly from the American Dental Association.
Diagnosis and Treatment Planning in Dentistry by Stephen J. Stefanac; Samuel P. NesbitDevelop your skills in evaluation and dental treatment planning for all types of patients! Diagnosis and Treatment Planning in Dentistry, 3rd Edition provides a full-color guide to creating treatment plans based on a comprehensive patient assessment. Using evidence-based research, this book shows how risk assessment, prognosis, and expected treatment outcomes factor into the planning process. New chapters cover patient diagnosis and team-based treatment planning, and a new Evolve website includes videos, case scenarios, and decision-making algorithms. Written by experienced dentistry educators Stephen Stefanac and Samuel Nesbit, this book is the only dental resource that combines patient examination and oral diagnosis with treatment planning. Clear, logical organization builds your understanding with sections on comprehensive patient evaluation, key treatment planning concepts, a detailed review of the five phases of planning treatment and guidelines for selecting the appropriate plan of care, and care planning for patients with special needs. In Clinical Practice boxes highlight situations that may be faced by the general dentist. What's the Evidence? boxes cite research articles affecting clinical decision-making and treatment planning strategies. Ethics in Dentistry boxes address ethical issues you may encounter in treatment planning. Review exercises in each chapter let you apply concepts to clinical practice. Expert authors and contributors provide a current, authoritative resource for effective treatment planning. Key Terms and a Glossary highlight and define important terminology. Evidence-based coverage demonstrates how to use research and clinical evidence in making treatment planning decisions. NEW Common Diagnoses in Dentistry chapter provides guidelines to making an accurate patient diagnosis prior to beginning treatment. NEW Interprofessional Treatment Planning chapter describes dental care in the context of a team-based collaborative approach, so that the dental treatment plan aligns with the overall treatment goals of the patient. NEW! Full-color photographs illustrate clinical principles and pathologies, and a colorful design highlights key content. UPDATED content reflects advances in dental techniques, materials, and patient treatment options based on research, clinical experience, and current literature. NEW resources on an Evolve website include videos, case-based scenarios, and decision-making algorithms.
Handbook of Local Anesthesia by Stanley F. MalamedA practical, "how-to" guide to safe anesthesia practices in dentistry, Handbook of Local Anesthesia, 6th Edition covers all the latest advances in science, instrumentation, and pain control techniques. From basic concepts to specific injection techniques, from dosage charts to the proper care and handling of equipment, this book provides in-depth, full-color coverage of key anesthesia topics, including specific hazards and errors in technique that may result in complications. Written by Dr. Stanley Malamed, dentistry's leading expert on this subject, Handbook of Local Anesthesia is a valuable reference that will help you prevent, recognize, and manage complications of local anesthesia administration. Videos on an available companion DVD (sold separately) are narrated by Dr. Stanley Malamed, covering topics such as local anesthetic agents, anesthetic injection techniques, potential complications, and risk management. Full-color photographs and line drawings are included throughout the book. In-depth discussions cover the anesthetic agents used in dentistry, along with their clinical actions. Routes of administration are described for all anesthetics. The proper care and handling of equipment is addressed, along with the problems that may be encountered. Requirements for pain control and local anesthesia within various dental specialties are included. Comprehensive information on Articaine is included, a local anesthetic that is gaining widespread use in the United States. Numerous boxes and tables provide a quick reference and comparison of techniques, drugs, and dosages. Dosage charts, injection techniques, information on duration of action, and contraindications for local anesthetics are included at the end of the book for quick reference. Updated discussions of the armamentarium needed to succeed in local anesthesia delivery reflect the latest available drugs and devices. Updated discussions of the techniques needed to provide successful pain control. Updated step-by-step procedures cover the techniques for administering intraoral anesthesia. The latest advances in science, technology, and pain control techniques are covered.
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine by Dennis Kasper; Anthony Fauci; Stephen Hauser; Dan Longo; J. Jameson; Joseph LoscalzoThe landmark guide to internal medicine-- updated and streamlined for today''s students and clinicians A Doody''s Core Title for 2015. All eChapters in the Nineteenth Edition are accessible online as well as on the DVD packaged within the print volumes, so you have the flexibility of using the method of access most convenient to you. Through six decades, no resource has matched the authority, esteemed scholarship, and scientific rigor of Harrison''s Principles of Internal Medicine. Capturing the countless advances and developments across the full span of medicine, the new 19th edition of Harrison''s provides a complete update of essential content related to disease pathogenesis, clinical trials, current diagnostic methods and imaging approaches, evidence-based practice guidelines, and established and newly approved treatment methods. Here are just a few of the outstanding features of the new Nineteenth Edition: Presented in two volumes: Volume 1 is devoted to foundational principles, cardinal manifestations of disease and approach to differential diagnosis; Volume 2 covers disease pathogenesis and treatment NEW chapters on important topics such as Men''s Health, The Impact of Global Warming on Infectious Diseases, Fatigue, and many more Critical updates in management and therapeutics in Hepatitis, Coronary Artery Disease, Ebola Virus Disease, Multiple Sclerosis, Diabetes, Hypertension, Deep Vein Thrombosis and Pulmonary Embolism, Acute and Chronic Kidney Disease, Inflammatory Bowel Disease, Lipoprotein Disorders, HIV and AIDS, and more. Increased number of the popular Harrison''s clinical algorithms; clinically relevant radiographic examples spanning hundreds of diseases; clinical-pathological images in full col∨ crystal clear, full color drawings and illustrations and helpful tables and summary lists that make clinical application of the content faster than ever Access to outstanding multi-media resources including practical videos demonstrating essential bedside procedures, physical examination techniques, endoscopic findings, cardiovascular findings, and more Supporting the renowned coverage are supplemental resources that reflect and assist modern medical practice: more than 1,000 full-color photographs to aid visual recognition skills, hundreds of state-of-the-art radiographs, from plain film to 3D CT to PET Scans; beautiful illustrations that bring applied anatomy and processes to life; the renowned Harrison''s patient-care algorithms, essential summary tables, and practical demonstrative videos. In addition, the book''s several digital atlases highlight noninvasive imaging, percutaneous revascularization, gastrointestinal endoscopy, diagnosis and management of vasculitis, and numerous other issues commonly encountered in clinical practice. Acclaim for Harrison''s: "Covering nearly every possible topic in the field of medicine, the book begins with a phenomenal overview of clinical medicine, discussing important topics such as global medicine, decision-making in clinical practice, the concepts of disease screening and prevention, as well as the importance of medical disorders in specific groups (e.g. women, surgical patients, end of life). The extensive chapters that follow focus on a symptom-based presentation of disease and then illness organized by organ system. Numerous tables, graphs, and figures add further clarity to the text. The accompanying DVD includes extensive video and image collections of pathology, histology, procedures, additional lectures, and radiology... ...Written by experts in the field, this book is updated with the latest advances in pathophysiology and treatment. It is organized in a way that makes reading from beginning to end a logical journey, yet each chapter can stand alone as a quick reference on a particular topic. "
Publication Date: 2015-04-08
Infection Control and Management of Hazardous Materials for the Dental Team by Chris H. MillerEmphasizing patient safety and disease prevention in the dental office, Infection Control and Management of Hazardous Materials for the Dental Team, 6th Edition, is a go-to text for all members of the dental team. With discussions ranging from microbiology concepts to protocols for clinical asepsis, this comprehensive, highly practical text features the most up-to-date regulatory recommendations, as well as new chapters on patient safety preparation and infection control breaches. Step-by-step instructions make it easy for you to perform safety procedures and use the supplies and equipment needed to prevent the spread of infectious disease, and new case scenarios present opportunities for critical thinking and application. F Comprehensive coverage?looks at infection control and prevention from the perspective of all dental team members. Easy-to-follow, step-by-step procedures?are provided for skills that dental team members must master, each presented with a goal, materials, chronological steps, and rationales for the performance of each step. Review questions?ensure your comprehension of the material and provide practice for classroom and board examinations, with 10 to 20 multiple-choice questions at the end of each chapter. Key terms?begin each chapter and are highlighted within text discussions and defined in a back-of-book glossary. Chapter quizzes on the Evolve companion website provide instant-feedback self-assessment. A highly approachable writing style makes this text a trusted educational tool, as well as a refresher on infection control. Trusted author and oral biology and infection control expert, Chris Miller, delivers the most up-to-date content needed to ensure patient safety and clinical competence within the dental office. Logically organized into three parts with brief chapters that move from foundational biology through specific areas of infection control and application to a dental office. Eight practical appendices?offer easy access to the most significant regulatory agency rules and recommendations for infection control. Chapter objectives help you set goals for what you will accomplish, and serve as checkpoints for comprehension and study tools in preparation for examinations. Summary tables and boxes?make study easier by highlighting key concepts and procedures and serve as useful review tools. NEW! Updated content based on the CDC's Summary of Infection Prevention Practices in Dental Settings, which includes additional topics and information to augment the 2003 Guidelines for Infection Control in Dental Health-Care Settings. NEW! Two new chapters cover preparing for patient safety (focusing on training for dental personnel) and infection control breaches within dental offices. NEW!?Case scenarios?added to specific chapters examine an infection control incident, along with its potential consequences, possible preventive measures, and related recommendations and regulations. NEW and EXPANDED!?Additional full-color images?focus on disease states, disease transfer, and safety culture, helping improve teaching and learning.
Little and Falace's Dental Management of the Medically Compromised Patient by James W. Little; Craig Miller; Nelson L. RhodusLearn how to provide dental care to any patient, regardless of existing medical conditions. Little and Falace's Dental Management of the Medically Compromised Patient, 9th Edition, has been thoroughly revised to give you the information you need to assess common problems, and make safe and healthy dental management decisions. The new addition includes expanded coverage of women's health issues and introduces a process for developing a medical-risk source. Also, each chapter features vivid illustrations and well-organized tables to give you in-depth details and overall summaries to help you get to the root of your future patients' needs. Logical organization of conditions makes it easy for you to understand and follow the material as you prepare to treat patients. Standardized assessment process helps you to ascertain the severity and stability of common medical disorders. Dental management summary table summarizes important factors for consideration in the dental management of medically compromised patients. Over 400 color images provide a visual guide and highlight key information. Dental management box in each chapter allows you to locate key information for evaluating a medically compromised patient. NEW! Thoroughly revised content provides you with the most current, evidence-based information you need to make dental management decisions. NEW! Evidence-based process for creating a medical-risk score enables you to determine whether the benefit of treatment outweighs the risk of a complication. NEW! Expanded coverage of women's health issues addresses issues specific to women that can impact dental management.
Medical Dictionary for the Dental Professions by Stedman's Medical Dictionary StaffBe it dentistry, dental assisting, or dental hygiene,Stedman's Medical Dictionary for the Dental Professions, Second Edition is the go-to resource for all students and professionals in the dental field. This dictionary contains definitions for nearly 16,000 terms relevant to all dental professions, including dentistry, and includes more than 500 illustrations--most in full color--and a glossy full-color oral conditions and disorders insert. Appendices include tooth numbering systems; dental imaging errors; guidelines for infection control in dental health care settings; weights and measures; medical prefixes, suffixes, and combining forms; medical and dental Abbreviations; Abbreviations used in medication orders; laboratory reference range values; and professional organizations. Also included with the purchase is a free three-month subscription to Stedman's Online: Stedman's Medical Dicationary for the Dental Professions , which includes all the content from the print dictionary, as well as access to 5,600 images, more than 8,500 audio pronunciations, 42 live action videos, and a customizable section, My Stedman's, which allows users to add terms, add notes, add definitions, save searches and illustrations, and include outside links.
Publication Date: 2011-01-29
Medical Emergencies in the Dental Office by Stanley F. Malamed"..very easy to read and provides a very comprehensive reference for a variety of medical emergencies." Reviewed by S.McKernon on behalf of British Dental Journal, July 2015 "It successfully fulfils its aim of stimulating all members of the dental team to improve and maintain their skills in the effective prevention, recognition and management of medical emergencies." Reviewed by L. Khamashta Ledezma on behalf of European Journal of Orthodontics, February 2015 A logical format reflects the way emergencies are encountered in a dental practice, with chapters organized by commonly seen clinical signs and symptoms, such as unconsciousness or altered consciousness, respiratory distress, seizures, drug-related emergencies, chest pain, and cardiac arrest. Step-by-step procedures include detailed, numbered instructions for stabilizing and treating victims (PCABD) in common medical emergencies. Full-color illustrations demonstrate emergency techniques in realistic clarity. Summary tables and boxes make it easy to find essential concepts and information. Quick-reference algorithms in the appendix include step-by-step diagrams showing the decision-making process in common emergency situations. A differential diagnosis chapter ends each of the book's parts on common emergencies. UPDATED content includes the most current guidelines for drug-related emergencies, unconsciousness, altered consciousness, and cardiac arrest as well as protocols for obstructed airway management. UPDATED PCABD boxes reflect the American Heart Association's new sequence of steps for stabilizing and treating victims with an easy-to-remember acronym: Positioning, Circulation, Airway, Breathing, and Definitive Management. UPDATED! Emergency drug and equipment kit instructions help you assemble emergency kits and ensure that your dental office has safe, current materials on hand.
The Medical Interview: Mastering Skills for Clinical Practice by John L. Coulehan; Marian R. Block; John Coulehan; Marian BlockMaster the art of conducting a medical interview and in the process hone your communication skills. The authors have also created a downloadable interview organizer that can be used as a management tool for their first interviews.
Oxford American Handbook of Clinical Dentistry by Paul Brunton (As told to); John D. Da Silva; David A. Mitchell; Laura MitchellWritten by leading American practitioners, the Oxford American Handbooks in Medicine each offer a pocket-sized overview of an entire specialty, featuring instant access to guidance on the conditions that are most likely to be encountered. Precise and prescriptive, the handbooks offer up-to-date advice on examination, investigations, common procedures, and in-patient care. These books will be invaluable resources for residents and students, as well as a useful reference for practitioners. The Oxford Handbook of Clinical Dentistry is a dependable manual geared for ultra-quick reference at any time. Part of the worldwide best-selling series, this book provides much more information than a standard handbook in the field. Thin and light, it uses concise, bulleted text, quick reference tabs, four color presentation, and bookmark ribbons to help provide fast answers on the ward. It is ideal for students, residents and anyone wanting a succinct, comprehensive, and affordable volume in the proven format of the Oxford Handbook Series.
Publication Date: 2007-12-14
Sedation: A Guide to Patient Management by Stanley F. MalamedCombining essential theory with "how-to" technical instruction, this concise guide is the leading reference for basic techniques in sedation and anxiety control in the dental office. The latest guidelines from the ADA and the American Society of Anesthesiologists keep you up-to-date with the latest medical standards. Content on patient management for pediatric, geriatric, physically compromised, and medically compromised patients helps you successfully treat any patient population. In-depth discussions of the pharmacology of commonly used sedative agents allow you to fully understand properties and characteristics of drugs used. Combines all aspects of sedation with essential theory and instruction Boxes and tables highlight key information and make it easy to find important content. Chapter 40-Legal Considerations includes the current liability standards for patient treatment to help you protect yourself and your patients. Chapter 41-The Controversial Development of Anesthesiology in Dentistry focuses on the growing controversies, legal and otherwise, from both without and within the profession. Updated patient management procedures provide the most current guidelines on everything from AHA CPR standards to the safest sedative procedures. Full-color art program shows anatomy and other important concepts in vibrant detail. Photos of the newest sedation and emergency equipment ensure you have the latest information on developments in the field.